We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but needs finishing touches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Froggy's French Cafe

Froggy's French Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Froggy's French Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Highwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good, but needs finishing touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I liked the menu at Froggy's and I was especially pleased that they offer sweetbreads. Overall, our dining experience was good, but the service and other elements lack finesse. Actually, the service was downright rough at times. We waited in the front for quite some time before being seated, even though there were very few diners and wait staff saw us. Finally, it was the chef who came out and seated us.

The waitstaff was generally brusque, though helpful when we asked questions about particular dishes or wines. Their delivery of plates, glasses and cutlery was careless to the point of being amusing.

For appetizers, we ordered the Dariole of Butternut Squash and Salmon
with Asparagus, Oak Leaves and Beet Vinaigrette and the Escargot Casserole Broiled Snails and Braised in a Creamy Garlic Sauce, both $9.50. I would have liked to order the Foie Gras, but my dining companion doesn't like it and we wanted to be able to share. The Butternut Squash and Salmon appetizer was definitely the more exciting and interesting of the two, but they were both well executed.

For entrees we ordered the Sautéed Sweetbreads with Bordelaise Sauce($27) and the Chicken à la Niçoise ($29). The sweetbreads were well prepared and nicely presented. The chicken was somewhat dry, but came in a very flavorful sauce. Both entrees came with a very delicious and refreshing salad of fresh greens.

I like Froggy's and I would like to go back. I would love to see two improvements:
1. a more gracious and well trained waitstaff
2. an update of the decor, especially the artwork and the cheap-looking 1980s era plates that do nothing for the presentation of the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Portlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a nice treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We come to Froggy's from time to time for a reliably solid French food. Although the prices have recently increased (and portions lessened), Froggy's still remains a very cozy place with good affordable French fare. We usually choose one prix-fix per couple plus a couple of appetizers. They have decent affordable wines as well. Overall, very satisfying in many respects French restaurant - a real thing, unlike modern disposable French bistros which pop up in the city by dozens.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kastorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great French Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We loved our dinner at Froggy's. Very friendly and helpful staff. Victor is an excellent waiter. He knows how each item is cooked and the ingredients in each sauce!! The dinners were terrific. My wife said the oysters on the half-shell were the best she ever had anywhere! For the entree, I had the sea scallops with mustard-orange sauce. Terrific combination and neither overwhelmed the scallops. My wife had the duck breast with a reduction sauce. She said it was so tender she could cut it with a fork. And our chocolate desserts were rich and creamy and chocolate!! Other appetizers, entries and desserts sounded to good to pass up. But one can eat only so much in one visit. Got to go back in the spring/summer/fall for al fresco dinning.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurice0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
215 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best restaurant and best value anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband & I eat at Froggys every year when we are up in IL. I only wish Froggys was closer to where we live so we could go more often. We've never had bad food or bad service. We always get the menu items where we pick cold appetizer, hot appetizer, sorbet, entree and dessert for a fixed price (approx. $50 each) which for all the food is a terrific deal. You pick an item in each category. We've had the pate plate appetizer, specials on appetizers and entrees - everything from fish, duck, pleasant, beef etc. over the years all presented beautifully on the plate. This time our entree we both had the fish trio platter which was a special --- we both loved it. It's a 5 star restaurant in food but doesn't charge a 5 star price. If you have children that are picky (or only like chicken) --- they will cook an item the way your child would like it. Don't forget to check out the Froggy bakery a couple doors down -- can purchase gift items, cakes, pates, bakery items.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cookieladyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best deals on Chicago's North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

The food is great French fare -- not arrogant, in small portions; but wonderful sauces on excellent entrees. The ambiance couldn't be nicer -- not too loud and it even has a real fireplace. The service is very friendly and relaxed. But the food is outstanding at close to half the price you might pay at other French restaurants. Entrees start at about $18 and go to $30. Salad is included in entree price. The wine list is good and reasonable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Froggy's French Cafe also viewed

Highwood, Lake County
Highwood, Lake County
 
Highwood, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 

Been to Froggy's French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing