We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid performance”

La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 108 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A solid performance”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very good food. Nice atmosphere. Two notables: the salsa and the coffee. Fried ice cream quite good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoePilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Trip to Fort Sheridan”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I discovered this place on a recent trip to Fort Sheridan. We were both really happy with our choices and were pleased to see more than one vegetarian dish on the menu. We know that when we are in the area we will be coming back to La Casa de Isaac.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robertmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“At last I hae found great Mexican food in Chicaoland!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I grew up going to great Mexican restaurants in Colorado (The Grill in Leadville), New Mexico (Rancho de Chimayo in Chimayo), Texas, and countless other Mexican/New Mexican/Tex Mex restaurants in the South and West. I have lived about 14 years cumulative in Chicagoland and just recently found La Casa de Isaac--it is just as good as the restaurants I grew going to. The traditional food, tacos and enchiladas, where fantastic. Plus there is a very creative menu including salmon, DUCK, fish, steaks, etc. Fantastic and worth the trip. And of course very nice service. Margarita looked good but I had to drive:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I love Mexican food. We stumbled upon this place and discovered some of the best Mexican food we've ever had! Margaritas were great! Fish tacos were wonderful! Guacamole is the best!! Don't miss this place. It's a wonderful surprise. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casa de Isaac for Home Cooked Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you're looking for great Mexican food in the northern suburbs, Casa de Isaac can't be beat. This brightly painted, tile floored restaurant on the border between Highwood and Highland Park has the best chimichangas, enchiladas especiales and margaritas around. What it lacks in size, climate control and soundproofing, it definitely makes up for in really outstanding homemade food and good pours. You'll likely be sitting elbow to elbow at the small wooden tables, and it could be freezing if it's winter or hot at outside tables in the summer on the narrow sidewalk next to parallel parked cars lining the street. It doesn't matter if it's noisy, that you're close to the next guy -- you're there for the food. And that's why you're sitting elbow to elbow. Relax. Enjoy your meal and the chatter. If the owners, Isaac or Moishe, are at the restaurant, don't be surprised if they come to your table to say hello. And don't miss Margarita Monday or their booth at Highwood's Wednesday night Gourmet Market during the summer, but expect to wait in line because there always is one. If you can't wait or need a bigger venue for a special event, try their sister restaurant, La Casa de Isaac & Moishe Restaurant, 2014 First St, Highland Park, IL 60035, but remember they're both closed Friday nights 'til sundown on Saturday.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirleyfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Highwood, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing