We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekly visit with kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Once Upon a Bagel

Once Upon a Bagel
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Highland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
chicgao
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekly visit with kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Every Sunday when we are in town, I visit Ouab with my two kids. They are the friendliest and my kids look forward to our weekly visit. The food is always the best, and it is always under 20.00 for the three of us. Grew up with the place and still love going there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dogsammybammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good self-serve deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very complete deli and fast food menu, ordered at a counter and delivered to your table. They make their own bagels and pastry goods in their own bakery and sell to many grocery stores in the area. The quality of the food is very good and the deli items are above average. Fast service in a very friendly atmosphere, makes Once Upon A Bagel a delightful place to visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank easyflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great for brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

this deli has seating but you have to stand in line to order then they bring very good food to your table
they also have a very busy carry out business
sandwiches piled high with lots of meat and chesses and on very fresh bread or great BAGLES
THE HAVEE A LARGE ASSORTMENT OF BAGLES AND BIALIES
WE GO ALL The TIME

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs
Level Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beat Bagels.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a bagel shop but there is a small restaurant in the back. It is a "go to the counter and order" place, but it is very good. The bagels are baked daily and the food is great. I am not comparing this to a top restaurant, but for breakfast, sandwiches and things like that, there is none better!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK deli”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Town is lacking a really good deli--food begins to taste a bit institutional after a number of visits--service is good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cgreene739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Once Upon a Bagel also viewed

 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Once Upon a Bagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing