We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious once again!”

Phoenicia Mediterranean
Ranked #18 of 108 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious once again!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is always fantastic and fresh! A must have is the combo carrot/lentil soup. Everyone loves it! This time everyone in our party of four had a different entree and none were dissatisfied. Great service as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachesAreForMe1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dinner”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Wonderful food, a great atmosphere and friendly service. Who could ask for more? We've been coming here for years and it satisfies my Middle Eastern craving every time.

I highly recommend the vegetable combo appetizer (falafel, baba ganoush, hummus, pita). It was so good we should have had two. For entrees, my family and I ordered lamb shank, kabobs and salmon curry, all of which were memorable. And the owner gave us a complementary dessert.

We'll be back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danimal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, experience and value”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I went here along with two friends for an early dinner, 6:30 pm, on a Saturday. Good thing we had reservations as there was a number of people waiting. We got seated right away, given menus and water immediately. The restaurant has a warm atmosphere although a bit eclectic. The staff was very professional and attentive from bus boy to waiters. The gregarious owner was very customer focused and checked more than once to make sure everything was all right.

The dinner comes with a relish tray, something you don't see much any more. It had unusual but great pickles along with raw horseradish slices, radishes and peppers. I had the lamb shank with a sauce on the side. The portion was very generous and served with sliced roasted potatoes, cabbage and green beans. The meat virtually fell off the bone. They also gave me a side dish of rich. My wife had the broiled whole red snapper and asked that it be filleted. The fish was moist and the spices were perfect. She would certainly order this again. The other guests had chicken kebabs and the red snapper. They were very happy with their choices as well. After dinner they served a complimentary sweet which obviated the need for dessert at that point.

What made meal special was that the prices were very reasonable for a terrific dinner. We saw families as well as young and older couples. I suggest you skip appetizers unless you are really hungry or willing to take food home. Do make reservations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelloggTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Ia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive, authentic, and innovative”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very impressed with the several meals we've had here - my Turkish husband can vouch for the authenticity of the food to the region (the owner kindly made him a special yogurt drink off the menu, at his request). Their various types of fish are done perfectly (we had them whole for authenticity, but they can be served filleted for convenience), and the side dishes are excellent, particularly the cole slaw and rice. They often offer either lentil soup or carrot soup, but also offer them mixed together, which is a great combination. We found the service very nice and personal without being intrusive. The lamb dishes are excellent, as are the specials. Looking forward to coming back as often as we can!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmesIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rude owner”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Took forever to be seated, owner was rude to us, once seated we couldn't get any service, got up to walk out and owner tried to stop us. Will not go back--he is rude to his staff as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cgreene739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Mediterranean also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highwood, Lake County
 

Been to Phoenicia Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing