We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude owner”

Phoenicia Mediterranean
Ranked #14 of 106 Restaurants in Highland Park
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rude owner”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Took forever to be seated, owner was rude to us, once seated we couldn't get any service, got up to walk out and owner tried to stop us. Will not go back--he is rude to his staff as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cgreene739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Friends and I met for dinner at Phoenicia last weekend. We were handed the menu when we sat down and immediately began looking it over. After discussing amongst ourselves what we intended to order, Chef Joseph came over to our table. He explains, in great detail, his specials of the night. After hearing Chef Joseph's spiel we decided to order meals that were tonight's specials. After attempting to eat the entire portion we began to discussed how glad we were that we followed the Chef's advice. The lamb shank was huge and delicious! The curry salmon couscous was equally as good. I don't know why we haven't dined there more in the past, but we are now considering it our favorite restaurant in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d_pdly_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Inconsistant”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited here more than once and the meals have ranged from average to excellent. I guess timing is everything!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
187 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean cuisine”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great local white table clothe restaurant. It was our anniversary so we wanted something a bit more special. The owner-chef is kind of entertaining as he explains his specialties a
Of the evening. He has a flair for words and deliverance as he talks. His specials are always delicious and plentiful. Leftovers are tasty the next day.
Prices are reasonable & waitstaff are pleasant & accommodating.
I would recommend making a reservation. They are open for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“This was an amazing place to go for dinner!!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were in the area and found this fabulous place to eat! We highly recomend the lamb! The appitizers were out of this world and the owner was very friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Mediterranean also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highwood, Lake County
 

Been to Phoenicia Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing