We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”
Review of Happi Sushi

Happi Sushi
Ranked #60 of 109 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family has been eating at this place since 1995. The fish is always fresh and the other menu items are delicious too. We go there also because the staff are wonderful people. James and his crew are like family. If you are in the neighborhood stop in for a roll! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, welcoming staff”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We live close by with lots of choices but come back time and time again since we moved to this neighborhood in 2004. The sushi is quite good and consistently so. During the summer we often carryout and picnic at Ravinia with their goodies. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and welcoming. The dining room itself is quite shop-worn and somewhat "tired" but the food and atmosphere is fresh and very neighborhood friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edk427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not great, but not bad”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Used a little too much rice in everything. If I wanted a rice roll, I would have ordered one. It worked for what we were looking for, close by and type of food. For the money, I think I would go somewhere else but hey they have been around forever and what do I know.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great little Japanese spot”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We have been going here since 2002 and are always happy with our experience. The food is good, and the staff is very friendly. Our kids have both grown up eating at this place, and the staff recognizes them and remembers their favorite order every time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danimal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sushi in a small storefront (which...”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great sushi in a small storefront (which could stand some updating). Reasonable prices and staff that knows everyone by name make this a great neighborhood gathering spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serenabythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happi Sushi also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Happi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing