We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large portions”

Real Urban Barbecue
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Highland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It seems expensive at first glance but once you get your plate you will realize that it is more than one meal! Very good quality and service. Local favorite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    45
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in HP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was recommended to try Real Urban BBQ by friends who know I know my BBQ. The restaurant is located in the center of Highland Park and seems very popular - for good reason. I've tried all the meats now and most of the sides and none have been off target even a little. Only item I wish they had included is fried Okra (but there is hope!). Laid back place with very helpful staff and large portions. Will be one of my regular places now (I live in the same block now - no crossing streets to get to BBQ - yes!). Enjoy

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

RUB is honestly some of the best bbq ever!! I do a lot of take out from here and the food is just as good at home as it is at the restaurant! They have great smoked meats and a wide arrangement of delicious sides. It is good for large or small groups, and you never have to wait too long to get a table. Inside the restaurant they have really cute decorations which is a nice touch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgal12698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good burnt ends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Meat was a bit fatty but good taste. And got to try the cranberry bread pudding. Very good. Fun, chill restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana_Pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Real Urban BBQ - Pretty Real BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a local place. We've been going there since it opened which is slightly over a year. I did not give this five stars even though our last meal could have been a five star meal. And that's the only problem so far with RU BBQ. It's not always consistent. We had ribs, (dry rub, but again, this dry rub didn't taste like the last dry rubs. Did they forget?) a burnt ends sandwich and the three meat combo which was brisket, turkey and sausage. For me, the burnt ends are the best. They don't always have them so we've been going in early on Saturday evening, like 5:00 or earlier. Our last meal was on a Tuesday night and I think the food overall was a bit better. Maybe it's better when they aren't as busy. (?) The meat in the combo was very good. The brisket was tender and mostly fat free. The turkey is always good and the sausage is spicy but good. The sides are on the very small side. The mac and cheese is, meh. They have creamed spinach which is ok, mashed potatoes and gravy, ok and a sweet potato fluff kind of thing. I'd like to see the sides a little larger since three spoonfuls and it's gone. The staff is friendly. They do take orders over the phone for pick up which is a good option during the weekend when it's busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Urban Barbecue also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Real Urban Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing