We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat in Ravinia, by far!!”

Abigail's American Bistro
Ranked #3 of 106 Restaurants in Highland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Philosophy/Mission: We strive to be an unpretentious neighborhood restaurant with profes-sional services, a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere, offering an affordable regional menu with honest and simple preparations. The decor evokes the character of its neighborhood. The soothing earth tones with splashes of color and creative organic finishes, wooden bistro chairs, long banquettes, and joint tables; all lend themselves to a vibrant social atmosphere. Informed and professional yet warm and relaxed...there is a sincere effort at Abigail's to educate our staff on all aspects of food and beverage culture. The staff at Abigail's goes to great lengths to make everyone feel at home, and well taken care of. Our philosophy was born from the love of pure flavor. Using ingredients at their best, capturing the essence of the season will be Abigail's mantra. Abigail's goes to great lengths to procure the best products and prepare them with respect, creating menu items with simple appeal and elevated technique.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Ravinia, by far!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Abigail's is such a good restaurant! The food is amazing and the service is even better, the food comes out very fast. The vibe is also great! You feel like you are in a lively city. The best way to eat here is to order a bunch of their small plates and share with you friends or family. You should eat at Abigail's but be prepared to wait, because it is a very popular place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgal12698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails B, General Manager at Abigail's American Bistro, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hey thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    28
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would go back...”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We ate here for a nice dinner out that wasn't going to be extremely costly but still a nice dinner out. The restaurant is always busy! So expect a little wait. The food pretty good. Our table had a burger, two steaks, and the fish special. The fish was average nothing to go back for. The burger was also average but I would go back to get it. The steaks were cooked perfectly. They serve little cheese biscuits when you get there, those were delicious as was the flour-less chocolate cake (We tried this on an earlier visit-the desserts change) and mini cookies for dessert!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

a place to know if you can. We found it because we were with friends that live near that restaurant, but anyone should go there if possible. Exellent food drink and service in a beutifull atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crissafadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“"You need screen doors!!"”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We've eaten there a few times especially on birthdays and loved it EXCEPT for the fly issue!! It's a beautiful day and the door is left open so we spend the meal swatting flys away, so gross!! All it would take is a screen door! Someone in our party remembered this happening the last time we ate there!! So unappetizing and an easy fix, GET A SCREEN DOOR!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welikefood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails B, General Manager at Abigail's American Bistro, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Yes those flies can be soo pesky sorry and at that time of the year they eagerly charge through the back door as well with all the deliveries. Thank you for the thoughts, we will keep them in mind for next years season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My friends and I found ourselves in Highland Park at the Ravinia stop after a concert we had planned to attend in Ravinia Park was cancelled. Abigail's was the only restaurant in sight, so we took a chance. From the South African wine recommended by the server to the sides of polenta fries and brussels sprouts, the food was fabulous. Nothing was ordinary, yet everything was tasty and satisfying. We savored every bite as if we hadn't eaten for days. I would make the train ride from downtown Chicago just to go to this restaurant the next time I am in town. Abigail's is amazing and worth the trip to get there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddmt121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abigail's American Bistro also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highwood, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Abigail's American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing