We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,540)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveler rating
1,343
140
39
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,343
140
39
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chilli kids club our honeymoon beach studio games room fish water villa ice cream private pool special thanks sea plane fine dining the general manager outdoor bathroom dining experience water restaurant beach bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
831 - 836 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2015

Stayed at Niyama for our wedding and honeymoon in a Beach Studio with a pool for 5 nights and a 1 Bedroom Beach Pavilion for 2 nights. When we arrived at the island after a magnificent 45 min sea plane ride from Male, we were greeted by many staff at the arrivals jetty. We were immediately introduced to our Thakuru (Maldivian for butler), his name was Shifaz. Shifaz was the kindest person and would go out of his way to do anything for his guests. When we had to call him with any questions or to organise something he would always make sure he has done as much as he can to help us and on every occasion our needs were met VERY efficiently. All of the staff are very helpful, friendly and happy - you can see that they are genuinely HAPPY! Every time you walk/ride past a staff member they always greet you and ask how you are going.

Every restaurant that we ate at (and we ate at them all, of course) offered amazing food. Arriving at Epicure each morning for breakfast we were greeted by lovely staff who offer a shot of juice and take you to you table. They even remember how you like your coffee! Chili, the restaurant manager at Epicure was always so friendly and up for a chat. Everyone makes you feel so welcome. Not to mention the Executive Chef, Geoff. What an amazing job he does looking after ALL of the restaurants at Niyama. I could not fault one meal we had on the island in the whole week we were there. A stand out for me was at the African Grill when they had a buffet night and of course Edge restaurant both times we ate there.

The rooms were magnificent, it blew me away. Our beach studio was very private with lush gardens all around but sparing the view of the ocean on your door step. No detail has been spared with the design and features of the rooms. Housekeeping are awesome too - making up our room twice per day. I could not fault anything that housekeeping could have done better (and I am a clean freak!) Every night you receive a ‘treat’ in a jar beside your bed, be it dried fruit or small sweet treats.

I can’t speak highly enough of Niyama itself and all of the staff. We had THE BEST time at Niyama and would definitely love the opportunity to return one day. Thank you to everyone at Niyama who made our stay an unforgettable one xxxx

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank TiffanyStingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2015

Dear TiffanyStingel,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon at NIYAMA.

We truly appreciate your wonderful review and even a greater pleasure to see that the warmth hospitality of the staff specially Shifaz, Chili and Geoff made your stay even more memorable.

It was our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcome you again at Nature's Playground.

Please keep in touch through our Facebook and webpage for more exciting offers.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2015

We have traveled a lot , Niyama it's the best island , excellent service , excellent food ,4 restaurants and building a new tree restaurant . beautiful rooms , we highly recommend this peace of paradise ! If you like a night life , there are underwater night club , it's was amazing party night , Niyama have everything ! Thanks ! We will back !

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank AlyonaandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Dear AlyonaandDave,

It is wonderful to receive such excellent feedback specially from a traveller like you. Thank you for recommending NIYAMA and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

As part of our quest to providing a home away from home, we make sure that amenities and facilites are laid top notch for our valued guest to enjoy. It was our delight that we have created a memorable holiday for you from your arrival, villa, dining, diversions and service.

It was a pleasure to have you in our care and we look forward to welcome you back to Nature's Playground.

Please keep in touch through our Facebook and webpage for more exciting offers.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2015

i've stayed in this hotel everything about it was perfect from arrival till departure, at arrival u get picked up from the airport to the waiting lounge they everything there fast wifi verry nice waiting lounge to start ur holiday with and the resort it self was beautifull, the staff were extremely friendly, hotel was so clean breakfast lunch dinner was sooo lovely all fresh and everynight they had a food theme one night was arabia other night asia different types of multicultural food buffet everynight . and we had lunch at underwater restaurant/club it was also nice experciance. at night it turns into a night club with dj. the rooms were huge and the bathroom was half outdoor shower.we had beach room with pool, it was great experiance great stay at niyama u had beach activities, and even at night live music and other nights u could watch movie at the beach, it was wonderfull stay i recommend this hotel i would definitely return back

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Shayma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Dear Shayma S,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences at NIYAMA on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and better yet exceeded your exception. I have the pleasure of sharing your review to the entire team and we look forward to welcome you again to rekindle these great memories.

Please keep in touch through our Facebook and webpage for more exciting offers.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2015

We returned to Niyama for a 2nd time in 18 months in March this year. This time the weather was perfect (last time it rained, but that was November). The resort has grown, with another 50 odd bungalows on the 2nd island (called Play, the main island is called Chill!) but it has retained the very high service standards that we remembered. On this trip we were looked after wonderfully by Shaaz, who gave us the same room - the lovely over water bungalow No.49, that along with four others sits on the east end of the island, away from the main hubbub. Shaaz also organised for special steps to be built for my wife (who uses crutches) to get on and off the seaplane. Much appreciated.
Our thakuru, Shifaz was wonderfully helpful, and quickly learnt just when to give Debs help walking and when to stay back. He would quite often anticipate our needs, and on several occasions I would phone him asking for him to come and collect us from the room, and he would say he was already outside!
Breakfasts were fabulous... Quite simply. Juney and Issey greeted us warmly every morning, and after the first day they too were anticipating our every desire - coconut water was on the table by the time we got to it (Debs does walk quite slowly!) and a mango and pineapple juice would arrive moments later. On the first day Issey asked if there was anything in particular we liked for breakfast. Debs asked if it was possible to get some almond milk, and the next day not only was there almond milk on our table, but also in the fridge in our room! Debs also mentioned she like massala dhosas. Issey was very apologetic that there there were no dhosas available that first morning, but then the next day he served them up, and every day afterwards! I can't praise Juney and Issey highly enough for the care they took of us every morning!
Snorkelling hasn't changed much since my last review. Quite a nice coral garden in the lagoon off villa 27, but the best snorkelling by far involves a 10 min swim from the shore over to Edge, and from there you can snorkel along the drop off and see lots of healthy coral and abundant fish. If you can get on a boat (which Debs couldn;t this trip, sadly) then there is great snorkelling off and island 20 mins north (though it's quite pricey to get there).
Our room was, once again, absolutely beautiful. Wonderful outdoor loo and shower, very comfy bed, great sound system (but take your own iphone/ipod to slot into their dock, and the selection of music they have is limited) wonderful pool and jacuzzi. Nespresso and popcorn machine in the room, and fresh sorbet appears in the freezer every day as if by magic :-)
Some stunning towel art by our room attendant - elephants, dogs, crocs! Rooms were always immaculate when we returned. If I'm being really picky, I would note that things were not put back (like the iron I used, and the teapot was left unemptied and unwashed) but that really is being picky.
As I mentioned breakfast was wonderful. Other meals in the main restaurant were nice if unspectacular. Dinner in Tribal however was excellent, really lovely and unusual food, and a great atmosphere (and again hugely helpful and friendly staff).

Room tip: Best over water bungalows are 49 and 53, out on their own with three villas. 53 is the one to go for if you want to be woken by the sun rising as it faces directly east.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BrianW435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Dear Brian W,

It is a privilege having guest returned to our resort and an honour to have them take home loads of great memories to keep. I am glad that we managed to provide service that exceeds your expectation.

Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed review about your stay with us. It is wonderful to see connection between team members and your good self. Along with Shaaz, Shifaz, Juney and Issey, it was our pleasure serving you.

We are finally opening the doors of our tree house restaurant, NEST serving Asian cuisine including teppanyaki and we look forward to sharing this great addition with you on your next visit.

As for now, your home at NIYAMA awaits for your return.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

From the airport all the way to the island and back to the airport it was smooth transection,,, the resort is very very quite,, the food was good in all restaurants accept the one under the water,, the size of the room is excellent the pool was big too,, over all the resort deserve 8.5/10

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank A_Abdulla_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Dear A_Abdulla_A,

It was our pleasure serving you. Thank you for sharing your review of Nature's Playground on TripAdvisor.

We bring to heart your feedback on Subsix menu which has been addressed. However, I am delighted that it did not hinder you from enjoying your stay with us. As NIYAMA opens all dining options, I am excited to share with you on your next visit NEST restaurant which I am sure you will love.

For further information of this amazing addition, please keep in touch through our Facebook and webpage.

Along with team NIYAMA, we look forward to welcome you again for another great holiday at our patch of paradise.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews