We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$794
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Hotels.com
$794
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Booking.com
$672
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/21
travelup.com
Orbitz.com$794
ZenHotels.com$945
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,413)
Filter reviews
4,413 results
Traveler rating
3,937
373
67
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,937
373
67
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thundi bar jacuzzi water villa our honeymoon sunset dolphin cruise fish all inclusive package games room mini bar sea plane every meal paradise on earth curries water sports reef sharks out of this world recommend this resort a la carte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 4,413 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

Returned last week from our first visit and was the most amazing place I've been too. Staff are so friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxed. The food is amazing and fresh and plenty of choice for everyone. We stayed in a Jacuzzi Water Villa (104) it gets cleaned twice a day and mini bar gets stocked up once a day. We wore no shoes for the whole 10 days and it was so relaxed. We also had the private BBQ on the evening of our anniversary and that was totally amazing. We then returned to our villa and the bed had been decorated and we had a bottle of prosecco, treats and a cake delivered, it was a lovely suprise. Snorkelling is fab, water is crystal clear and even got to swim with a sea turtle . The only small thing was on the return home the sea plane was 15 minutes late to pick us up and when we got to the airport it was such a rush with massive queues we had to speak to staff to get to the front or we would of missed our flight. I would highly recommended Veligandu and already looking at booking to go again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank stacey_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fathuhullai, General Manager at Veligandu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2020

Dear Stacey_phil,

Greetings & Blessings from Veligandu Island Resort & Spa!

Warm Gratitude for selecting our little paradise on your first visit to the Republic of Maldives and for the sweet alluring review complimenting and appreciating our staff, services, food, and ambiance of the resort. We are glorified to reveal that you had relished the BBQ, decoration, and treats on your wedding anniversary night. Concurrently we are glad you roistered snorkeling around our house reef gawking at the rich marine life from tame to the wild. We are so glad that you were able to sense all the unique experiences at our little paradise. Gracious for the high recommendation.

We are all more than happy to provide exceptional top-notch personalized services that have exceeded all your expectations in making your stay remarkable and thrilled to perceive that you had a perfect anecdote at our little paradise with enticing moments of bliss to treasure for a lifetime. We are honored and thrilled to be behind the scene of your first wedding anniversary celebration at the tropics.

We are extremely sorry about the return seaplane delay which is out of our control. We have highlighted the concern to Transairways Maldives and working together to improve the mishaps in the future intending to provide a better end to the vacation on your impending visits.

We are ardently waiting to welcome you once again for your next indelible mysterious tale at your forevermore secluded heaven, when you are ready and when the time is right.

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Fathuhulla Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Such a peaceful, romantic location .. the staff are an absolute credit to the venue so friendly and helpful could not do enough for us .. the food was outstanding there was so much choice .. will definitely go back

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fathuhullai, General Manager at Veligandu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2020

Dear Linda S,

Greetings & Blessings from Veligandu Island Resort & Spa!

Warm Gratitude for selecting our little paradise on your honeymoon visit to the Republic of Maldives and for the short and sweet alluring review complimenting and appreciating our staff, services, and food. We are glorified to have been able to tantalize your taste-buds with our luscious cuisines throughout and are so glad that you were able to sense all the unique experiences at our little paradise.

We are all more than happy to provide exceptional top-notch services that have exceeded all your expectations in making your stay remarkable and thrilled to perceive that you had a perfect anecdote at our little paradise with enticing moments of bliss to treasure for a lifetime. We are honored and thrilled to be behind the scene of your paradisiacal experience at the tropics.

We are ardently waiting to welcome you once again for your next indelible mysterious tale at your forevermore secluded heaven, when you are ready and when the time is right.

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Fathuhulla Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Veligandu. This is my fifth island I stayed in Maldives in the last 10 years and perhaps it deserves me the best feeling at all.
In general I can say it has the right dimension and the perfect atmosphere at a not fool price.
It lies on the Rasdhoo atoll, north of Ari atoll at around 30 minutes of hydrofoil flight from Male.
The island is small, with a beautiful sand tongue, a shining powder beach, a nice vegetation and the usual Maldives wonderful sea. There are mainly water villas with and without jacuzzi and a certain number of beach villas, for a total of around 90 rooms. I was very happy to try the water villas with jacuzzi, the wider and more nice solutions, considering also that are not too much more expensive than the standard villas. I have chosen the water villas on the sunset side, that is also the side with the sea rougher, but the atmosphere in the afternoon is absolutely fantastic.
In general Veligandu is an almost perfect dream thank to a good management that means a great care of customers and details. Everything seems to be managed in a very relaxed way, without insistence on exclusive and luxury oriented approach, trying to give the best to all kind of international guests, just asking to live a quiet holiday well linked to what they paid.
The rooms, as I said, are wide, nice, functional, elegant and in the same time simple. Nothing luxurious, eventually some of them could need to be refreshed a bit, but absolutely ok.
The main restaurant offers a buffet for all the meals. The quality and the variety are at a good level, with fresh ingredients and almost every kind of international food, going from the Italian taste to the Asian food, not forgetting Maldivian and other countries recipes.
The added value of the restaurant is the service level, above the average considering we are speaking of a buffet. More table than the number of guests and the huge space make the main restaurant not a crowded and unpleasant place where to eat but an atmospheric environment also for intimate dinner. What is fantastic is the personalized approach of Mr. Neeam, the supervisor of the place, 26 years of seniority at Veligandu, a real reference for everybody. It makes really the difference pushing all the waiters to keep the same personalized care to any guest.
There is also a small a la carte restaurant we never tried also because it is not included in the full board or all inclusive formula, but it offers the opportunity for more intimate and furtherly more personalized dinner at a certain cost.
The sea around is very appealing, we are at Maldives, also if this island offers a bit less opportunities for an outstanding snorkeling activity, but In any case swimming just a bit over the not so far reef the fish fauna is superb and the experience is equally impressive. There is a diving center and different sea activities are organized every day,.
A very nice bar lies at the end of the island, close to the beautiful sand tongue, with a moderate level of evening initiatives and the opportunity to take a dring all day along.
There is also a very beautiful endless view swimming pool, just on the sea and close to the bar, and it offers a complementary pleasure on stay on the beach.
Not to forget, Wifi works enough well all around and strangely better close to the water villas than the common areas. It is something should be a bit improved.
In conclusion I have to say, that according to my expectation, Veligandu is a perfect dream for the landscape, the beach, the relaxed atmosphere, the warm service and at last but not least for the very good ratio quality - price

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lionitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariyam Fasana, Marketing at Veligandu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2021

Dear Guest,

Greetings & Blessings from Veligandu Island Resort & Spa!

Warm Gratitude for the alluring review and for staying with us during your visit to the tropics this time. We are glorified to perceive that your very own anecdote at our little paradise was superb with enticing moments of bliss to treasure for a lifetime. We are honored and thrilled to be behind the scene of your unforgettable experience in the tropics. Thank you for recommending our little paradise.

We hope to welcome you for your next indelible mysterious tale at your forevermore secluded haven.

Thank you
Warm Regards,
Fathuhulla Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

We stayed at Veligandu for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and we honestly had the most incredible experience. The island is like paradise, there are so many facilities, with lots to do. The food and drink was absolutely amazing and the staff really were a credit to the resort. They were friendly and polite and could not do enough for us. Thank you for the most amazing stay and for making our honeymoon so special, we cannot wait to come back one day.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fathuhullai, General Manager at Veligandu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2020

Dear Lucy B,

Greetings & Blessings from Veligandu Island Resort & Spa!

Warm Gratitude for selecting our little paradise on your honeymoon visit to the Republic of Maldives and for the short and sweet alluring review complimenting and appreciating our staff, services, villa, facilities, food, drinks, and the beauty of our resort. We are so glad that you were able to sense all the unique experiences at our little paradise.

We are all more than happy to provide exceptional top-notch services that have exceeded all your expectations in making your stay remarkable and thrilled to perceive that you had a perfect anecdote at our little paradise with enticing moments of bliss to treasure for a lifetime. We are honored and thrilled to be behind the scene of your most amazing experience at the tropics.

We are ardently waiting to welcome you once again for your next indelible mysterious tale at your forevermore secluded heaven, when you are ready and when the time is right.

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Fathuhulla Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

We had an amazing time , very special place , great staff, great food and great atmosphere
It was everything we dreamt off and more. We will definitely come back
The only thing that let it down for us was you pretty much have to buy bits if you want but don't have the chance to pay with cash or card you have to wait till the end of the holiday which the is an extra 10% added for the facility. Also being a high star hotel when going full board we thought there would be no added costs for things like food in the bar also though the drinks would all be named brands. Apart from that the holiday was amazing and like I said we will 110% be back

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Road332521
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fathuhullai, General Manager at Veligandu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2020

Dear Road332521,

Greetings & Blessings from Veligandu Island Resort & Spa!

Warm Gratitude for selecting our little paradise on your visit to the Republic of Maldives and for the short and sweet alluring review complimenting and appreciating our staff, services, villa, food, ambiance, and sceneries of the resort. We are so glad that you were able to sense all the unique experiences at our little paradise.

We are thrilled to perceive that you had an amazing anecdote at our little paradise with enticing moments of bliss to treasure for a lifetime. We are honored and thrilled to be behind the scene of your 25th wedding anniversary celebration at the tropics.

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience that you felt during your stay in regard to paying off the extras exclusive of your full-board package. For the convenience of our guests, we charge all the extras to the respective room enabling guests to clear all bills at once on the last night of stay or upon checkout out prior to departure. However, if the guests wish to settle the bills instantly, it is as well possible, we are very flexible. We set all our policies intending to provide a hassle-free enjoyable stay for all our guests.

We are ardently waiting to welcome you once again for your next indelible mysterious tale at your forevermore secluded heaven, when you are ready and when the time is right.

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Fathuhulla Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews