We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Aloha Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Velidhu Island Resort(Velidhoo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bathala Island Resort(Bathala Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
VOI Maayafushi Resort(Maayafushi Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Gangehi Island Resort(Gangehi Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Nika Island Resort & Spa(Kudafolhudhoo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,876)
Filter reviews
2,876 results
Traveler rating
2,514
277
52
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,514
277
52
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi water villaall inclusive packageour honeymoonsunset dolphin cruisefishgames roomwest sidemini barsea planea la carte restaurantevery mealno shoesout of this worldhouse tourbeach dinnerwindsurfing lessoncurries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,686 - 1,691 of 2,876 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A beautiful island resort with only around 70 rooms, so despite the fact that it's a small island, there's never more than a few people at any one place except at meal times. The facilities are top drawer - couldn't fault anything at all, but the one thing that sold it for us was the staff. Everyone, from the ground staff to the general manager was smiley, polite, quietly efficient whilst engaging with the guests, and all with a great sense of humour and fun. You never felt that there was a supervisor on the case if a waiter stopped to talk to you. Great efforts have been taken in recruitment and training and it really shows. The resort also has a conscience, with it's own sewage treatment plant, it's own water treatment facility and bottling plant for potable water, and a hydroponic farm. It's pollution levels are virtually non-existent! Fantastic place, fantastic people, and the best beach holiday we've ever had. We'll be saving up to go again!

Room Tip: Only choose a water villa if you are a sound sleeper. Sometimes the water sloshing around the stilts can wake a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carroll b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I write very few reviews, but feel that our holiday experience warrants it for Veligandu.
I'll keep it concise and to the point, being that my wife and I honestly can not fault the place. Fantastic setting and location, incredible food and the most courteous and friendly staff we've ever encountered.
Such a peaceful and tranquil island, perfect for a honeymoon.
We stayed in Jacuzzi water villa 152, which has to be one of the best on the island, being right at the end of the jetty with unobstructed views of the ocean and sunset. It simply blew us away!
I could write pages and pages but even then I couldn't do Veligandu justice. Suffice to say that if you get the chance to visit then I think you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere better. Pure bliss.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our stay at the Veligandu resort was the best holiday we have ever been on.

We booked with Simply Maldives, after they recommended this island to me and I cannot thank them enough for their help and advice.

The resort really does cater for your needs and listens to the requests of its customers.
Veligandu offers everything one would need; We were on an all inclusive plus package and stayed in a jacuzzi water villa.

The rooms were spacious, clean and had all the amenities one would require including a large screen flat TV, iPod dock, DVD player and a large superking bed!.
The best part of the room however was the view to an unbroken view of clear blue water for miles to see.

If coming to this resort then a jacuzzi water villa is very much recommended.

The food at the Veligandu was much better than I had expected with a large selection of starters, mains and desserts.

They also had two "hot" stations where food is prepared straight of the gas/grill for you.
The service from the staff was off the highest quality and all waiters and chefs would always greet you with a smile.

The resort has two restaurants; one is included in the all inclusive plus package and the other you had to book and pay for.

We only ever went to the buffet restaurant included in our package as we were happy with the selection and quality of the food.

Veligandu has a large bar and relaxing area and has all the major drinks anyone could want.
Our package included free drinks but this was limited to certain brands and one specific cocktail which would change on a daily basis.
The drinks were unlimited but after eating so much food we would find it hard to make the most use of this.

Every evening some form of entertainment would be provided in the bar but as it was a smaller island this was usually only for an hour.
The entertainment was not bad and we particularly enjoyed the nights where we had a slideshow of the local marine life and the music from the local maldivian people.

The facilities of the resort included a spa, pool, badminton courts, games room and a gym.
Much of this we didn't use as we spent most of our time on a sunbed in our villa but we did make use of the spa.

Again the staff were great in the spa and the massages both my wife and I received were as good as ones we had received in other countries.
The pool looked amazing and regularly had people in and around it but as we were looking to spend some relaxing quiet time with each other we never ventured in.
The pool was however at the end of the island and right next to the bar, due to the shape of the island the pool and bar allowed you to experience sand and sea views from all around it.

Our package also included a snorkelling lesson, windsurfing lesson, sunset dolphin cruise and a trip to one of the other islands.

Due to the lack of wind we couldn't do the wind surfing lesson but my wife found the snorkelling lesson useful.

The dolphin cruise was amazing and we had never seen so many dolphins together; they were diving out of the water and swimming right next to the boat. From the two or three dolphin cruises I have been on this was the best - it could however have been pure luck.
With our free trip to another island we spent half a day on the Kurumathi island; although this island was nice and had great marine life we felt this island was too large and made us appreciate the Veligandu that much more.

All in all I would recommend the Veligandu resort.
It is a smaller island so is very tranquil and peaceful than others but not too small that you feel totally alone.

All staff and amenities are first class and the food is excellent.

All of this does however come at a cost and in relation to other islands we looked at when booking the cost is reasonable.

If I can afford it again then I would love to go back and spend another week or so in pure paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank samH288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Arrived at resort by sea plane, fantastic location, has its own reef with large range of beautiful fish. Need to take swim shoes as sand/ shingle can be a little harsh on feet when swimming. I was a beginner at snorkelling but reef good for the amateur or the experienced snorkeller/deep sea diver.
Restaurant was truely amazing, fantastitic choice and presentation, just been voted in the top 15 best restaurants in the world and it was evident.could eat inside or out over looking sea, service was great.
Everywhere spotless, staff courteous and helpful.
Water villa spacious all needs catered for with lovely views over the sea, all villas
Spa wide range of quality treatments at reasonable prices
Quiet resort, but really couldn't fault any aspect.

Brilliant

Room Tip: West side has sun in the afternoon , good sunsets East side sun in the mornings We were in room 142 jacuzzi water villa which was south, and had sun on our veranda till 3 then till 6 in jacuzzi area, nil sunsets, but we preferred sunrise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corrine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

5 stars all the way! Lovely, good-sized island with kind staff, good food and pampering relaxed atmosphere. Sun-set tour was a sheer bliss! If Veligandu is on your list, stop hesitating, you won't regret a single moment.

Room Tip: JWW was a pure delight! I would go for Beach Villa next time, it's cheaper and there is less noise at night when the waters get a little rough.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CuliTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews