We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Manoir de Malagorse
Ranked #1 of 5 Cuzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have lost count of the number of times we have stayed with Anna and Abel! We are always delighted with the whole experience, despite some unseasonable weather in France this Spring.

Annas warmth, style and beauty are reflected in everything about the Manoir and its rooms, and suites, and the stunning setting.
Abel always comes up with exciting and tremendously varied gastronomic treats and retains his great humour and French panache through it all!
He also shares great wines and his collection of fine Armagnacs, and he cuts the grass!!

OUTSTANDING!

GandH South Devon

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malagorse, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de Malagorse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

It's always a real pleasure to have you as guests, thank you for your kind words.
Hopefully next time we will get the weather right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 118 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I wish that we had stayed more than one night. We opted for La Chambre Violette and were not disappointed. Abel cooked us a delicious dinner and breakfast was lovely as well. I would like to go back and experience the cozy bar in winter/fall and the pool in summer!

Room Tip: We loved La Chambre Violette in the main house on the front just up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_and_Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just came back from a long weekend at the Manoir. It was, despite the awful weather, wonderful! We had the family duplex suite in the barn, which was everything the pictures led us to believe, and more: comfortable, spacious, warm and cosy, and perfectly located, overlooking the lawn and the pool. This is ideal for visiting with children, since they had their own room with gorgeous bunk-beds and their own bathroom.

The whole set-up is ideal for a family holiday, but also works perfectly for an adults-only break (perhaps something to try out next time!). Our children were delighted to play with Anna and Abel's lovely twins. The food, by Abel, was delicious, and the kids' meals, served before ours, were equally hearty and went down a treat.

I can't really find any fault with the place... Anna and Aabel are great hosts and manage to strike the perfect balance between familiarity and excellent service. I was even tempted not to write a review at all, as I can't wait to go back and hope there is still space for us when we do!

Next time I will find time for a massage, since Anna is a physiotherapist.

One watchout: cold water only at the sinks, so hard to shave (husband's comment).

Room Tip: If travelling with children, opt for the duplex suite with two separate bedrooms, in the barn. If t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malagorse, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de Malagorse, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you to have taken the time to write a review, we very much enjoyed having you as guests.
We are really sorry not to have mentioned but to have hot water at the sinks you need to keep turning the taps clockwise, we will remember to tell future guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was a treasured experience to be permitted to share for a while the idyllic setting which Anna and Abel Congaratel have created and into which they pour their hearts and souls. There is nothing which we would change. The range of lodgings available on their spacious grounds in the countryside offer something for anyone, and are well depicted on their web site. We chose to stay in the main house, with quiet, spacious, airy, well decorated rooms and baths. It was fun for the early risers to pad down the well worn steps for a coffee in the kitchen while the rest of the world was asleep.

Breakfast is extensive and delicious. Cocktail hour is not to be missed, and Dinner is a banquet. Do plan on taking all your meals there. Abel is a high energy creative cook, who strives to surprise you and himself, and succeeds. Anna anticipates your every need and gives generously of her time. We had an unexpected need for medical attention, and within hours were being seen by her personal physician. She spent much time with our trip planning, and steered us toward memorable sights we had not considered.

Their twins are delightful children whom you would like to put in your suitcase and take home; helping in the kitchen and serving at table like pros instead of ten year olds.

When considering the Dordogne Valley, the tendency is to look west of the autoroute for lodging, but we found this quiet setting to be ideal and within easy driving distance of Domme, La Roque Gageac, Sarlat, Rocamadour, Lascaux II, and many other beautiful venues. Or - just stay at the Manoir and take quiet walks and enjoy all it has to offer. You will be pleased.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JTWNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malagorse, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de Malagorse, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Malagorse, it was a pleasure to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I highly recommend Le Manor de Malagorse. Anna and Abel are outstanding hosts. We had two absolutely delicious dinners there; one in the dinning room and one in the kitchen! Beautifully decorated, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi48168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malagorse, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de Malagorse, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found Malagorse after researching the area for a two-night break for us to explore nearby Cahors, Figeac & Rocamadour.

Anna was very prompt in follow up to our initial email enquiry (which is always a good sign of a well run establishment) and on arrival made us immediately feel at home and relaxed in the wonderful surroundings.

Malagorse is a gem. Nestled away in a private countryside location, yet easy to access; the rooms have been beautifully appointed in this 19th century restored manoir. Being late October and a change of seasons, the snug bar with its roaring wood-burner was an ideal place for aperitifs before dinner, yet the afternoon sunshine still warm enough to sit on the south facing terrace.

Abel is a wonderful chef and our dinners were exquisite in both presentation and taste; perfectly accompanied by selected wines from the cellar.

Malagorse is a very special place, undoubtedly one of the finest chambres d'hotes we have stayed at, & we have stayed in many. We will be back again and highly recommend too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petercheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed iheer last year, alas for only one night - the house is not haunted (I think not ??) but the exceptional experience afforded by Abnna & Abel hve left us with a lingering after- taste and desire to return (over 20000km for us - perhaps we han bring back some more delightful stories about the wild animals of africa to enthrall the twins)
For us , this was a 6* experience and the highlight of 5 weeks in France/Corsica - wished we had stayed longer - the entire package was more than perfect and we shall return someday (even hoopoes on the window cill - a traditionally african bird - so a good omen to return.)
Abel managed to pair an excellent (and reasonably priced ) Chenin with his fabulous meal making this the best we had in France!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Manoir de Malagorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Malagorse

Address: Lieu Dit Malegorse, 46600 Cuzance, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cuzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cuzance
Price Range: $196 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Manoir de Malagorse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing