We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clennell Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children on 31st Dec 2012. We travelled from Newcastle and found the hotel without problem. Upon arrival we found the hall, grounds and surrounding scenery absolutely breath taking, what a hidden gem! The main reception was even better and the wood burning fireplace was most welcoming. Book in was swift and we were provided with a tour of the premises. We had room 1 which was more than adequate for a family room, lots of space, huge bathroom, tv with freeview, tea and coffee, hairdryer, hangers etc.... No WiFi but I think that is purely down to location.
Staff very friendly and happy to engage with children. Bar was cosey and comfortable which the locals also used...friendly and helpful. The food was very good and again, above expectation. The Green thai curry is highly recommended!! New year celebrations were great and won't be forgotten! Thank you.
Brilliant sleep. Breakfast in the refurbished restaurant was lovely, a good selection of cereals, apple and orange juice, tea/coffee with your choice of hot food and not forgetting a round of toast. Despite the fact that the restaurant was full staff were friendly, attentive and efficient with service. Thank you very much. See you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35YardDangerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Clennell Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 306 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here as a betwixmas break with my young family and my parents. The setting is beautiful, the hall is majestic and steeped in history and the staff are very friendly and can't do enough to make you feel at home. The food was lovely home cooked bar food such as steak pie and home made chicken kievs and on Friday there was fresh fish and chips, all in front of the log burning stove with real ales.
Our rooms were spacious and had lovely stone window frames and as the hotel is remote, there was no noise at all and you get a brilliant night's sleep.
All in all it is a brilliant family friendly, relaxing hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flingdizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in December to celebrate wedding anniversary ! This place is amazing ! The staff here are the friendliest we have ever encountered , even more friendlier than in Dubai ! The food menu was substantial and made fresh to order. You HAVE to try the bailys cheesecake , I swear I have never tasted better ( its home made by Ros) .

If you are staying in at night to eat here be prepared to put on weight, the portions are huge and totally delicious..

Open log fires in bar, amazing friendly and attentive staff, large immaculate room ... You can't go wrong here ..... Returning in may 2013 for a mini cycling break ...

If your thinking about booking ... Don't think a minute longer ... Book it ...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this hotel as a special treat for my mum and family and was pleasantly surprised to say the least.
Clennell Hall is in a lovely situation, we drove from Morpeth through well kept stone villages and unspoilt scenery to the long drive leading to a secluded valley and the impressive setting of the hotel.
We were greeted by the owner who kindly showed us round and explained some historical features of the building as well as the location of the bar with a pool table, darts and roaring fire.
Our suite had a separate room for our young son which was ideal, the room was well decorated and appointed with a nice modern bathroom and shower.
We had food in the restaurant on both nights which was very good, tasty English cuisine although my older teenage son opted for curry even though not on the menu. Breakfast was full English, lovely and filling, the hotel was well staffed despite being quiet.
We had a good run out to nearby Cragside - an outstanding country house then on to Seahouses for my annual fish and chip dinner, Holy Island and Berwick to see the Christmas lights.
The night time entertainment in the hotel was such a good laugh, locals gave us their time in such a friendly way, my teenage son has beed adopted to the darts team. I would particularly like to thank everyone present who were so kind to my Mum and made her day
The Hotel is to be highly recommended, Rocky and Roz are great hosts,nothing is too much trouble and they handle guests so well. Graham the decorator is a hoot, the staff were all lovely and the locals, salt of the earth. A partridge and red squirrel were released on the last day to tempt us back, it was honestly a perfect weekend. Posh yet down to earth- we will return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenSeascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The proprietors took us in from the storm (we were the only guests) after our car got stuck in snow near Alwinton. We were plied with hot tea in front of a warm fire and were only charged what we were expecting to pay elsewhere. You can't ask for better service than that! Part of the hotel is an early medieval tower house, so there is plenty of history to explore here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowyvinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

went for my friends 50th surprise birthday do. we had the medieval night and all went in fancy dress. The staff were excellent, very friendly. Food was medieval banquet so we had broth, pheasant, duck, partridge, chicken, veal casserole and the most deliciouse ginger pudd with fresh cream mmmm. Breakfast was full english and lovely. The manager is so friendly and down to earth, nothing was too much trouble. In fact his greeting to us was "make yourselves at home and ask for anything you want".
Bar is very nice with open fires and very good prices. Furnished to a very high standard. The bedrooms are beautiful and exceptionaly clean. This is an excellent hotel for anybody but particularly if you are a group of 20 like we were because we had the whole place to ourselves.We had 3 small children with us and they were welcomed and catered for.
If i have to have a negative point it is that though the bathroom is superb the shower is very disapointing.
All in all a very very good hotel.

Room Tip: our party had every bedroom and non of us had any complaints anyone of them would be good
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jac j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This has to be the quietest place I have ever stayed at. Not too far from accesible places and shops, but with zero light pollution of the sky.
You can see the milky way!
Old and full of character, the building looks as though it is from a film set.
Inside warm, welcoming and quite stylish with a really good bar and drinks selection, even "real ale".
Breakfast substantial and served with a smile. We were there mid week and it was very peaceful. The chef was off and so Ros cooked.
Menu was standard, but when we asked, they produced some local trout from the kitchen. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Our only problem was waking up in the mornings!
There is an issue with the web site as the previous owners seemed to have left some chaos, to check it out try www.clennellhall2012.co.uk
We will return as we normally stay near by in a larger more impersonal hotel this was just the opposite.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but some have walls 4 feet thick if you really want tranquility.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank govancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbottle
19.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
21.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
23.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,535 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clennell Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clennell Hall Hotel

Address: Clennell Hall, Harbottle NE65 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Harbottle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbottle
Price Range: $105 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clennell Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clennell Hall in Alwinton is a large historic Country House (Visit Britain 4-star rated) situated on the edge of the Northumberland National Park within an area known as the Coquetdale. Beyond the picturesque surrounds of the Hotel and the village of Alwinton you can enjoy the beautiful countryside for hiking, cycling, fishing, horse-riding, golfing, hunting and walking holidays. The area is an excellent base for exploring the Cheviot Hills, the spectacular Northumbrian Coast, castles and gardens and is located upon the Pennine Cycleway (Route 68). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clennell Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing