We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give 6 stars, I would!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clennell Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If I could give 6 stars, I would!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Clennell Hall was a favourite stop on our trip. Originally planning to spend a night there while we looked at the castles of Northumberland, we soon decided to stay two (ideally, I'd have stayed more!) and we never dreamed there would be so much to see and do in the district. Rocky, Ros, Graham, Bobby and the crew welcomed us with open arms, and the Hall is truly spectacular! Food was delicious and the company was even better. Hope to be back soon!!
Emma, Jeanette and Marilyn. X

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmablahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We really appreciate it and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    66
    26
    10
    18
See reviews for
56
134
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Called here for morning coffee at the start of a walk last week and returned for afternoon tea a few days later. The building is very grand and old. Originally a Peel tower with incredibly thick walls. The present owners have refurbished the rooms very attractively and gave us a guided tour of the hotel. The setting is very attractive and there are lots of bike rides and walks in the local area. The teas and coffees were great and came with an assortment of biscuits. Very reasonably priced. You can get meals there in the evenings too. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddlesbroughJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a nice review. We appreciate it. Call again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from a four day break at Clennell Hall. Rocky, Bobby and the rest of the team were brilliant.It was my wife's birthday while we were there and they treated us really well and made her feel special.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The bedrooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable. The otherwise perfect and welcoming lobby suffers from an annoying 'low level' beeping noise, possibly from the fire alarm board but Im sure that will be solved soon.
Apart from that tiny little niggle our stay was wonderful.
Hoping that they have great success and look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for making the effort to give us a nice review, we really do appreciate it. We have sorted the annoying noise from the fire alarm so it will be total silence when you return! Once again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for the night on Sept 7th for a birthday treat, had a great time, staff are all very welcoming, room was very cosy, clean and comfortable, the grounds and buildings are very picturesque and it's literally in the middle of nowhere, no mobile signal, just great.
Look forward to seeing what Rocky and his staff can produce in the future as they build the business.
We will be back :-)

Nick & Helen

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick3Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks Nick and Helen. We value your comments and appreciate the time you have taken to give us a nice review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great hotel hidden in superb countryside. We stayed for two nights at an unbelievable price and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was light and spacious, the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, a little disorganised at times but I think this added to the charm. Great base for kielder and the surrounding area. No phone signal or internet but if your looking to get away from it all this is ideal. The bar was great with it's roaring fire.

We will definetly be going back. soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Many thanks for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Recently taken over by new family, the passion for the place was evident. Room was spacious and the dated fittings were fine and had obviously been vigorously cleaned. Lovely lobby area. (Please don't change it into a bar, it's the nicest part of the hotel.) Friendly, lovely people, but clearly no experience. But we all so want them to do well, but a renovation isn't needed, just a few things put right. Tried to email them, but there is no way to email from their website.
Our constructive feedback - linen quality was awful, I didn't expect new, or high thread count, but pilled sheets should be thrown out. A top sheet is essential between guest and duvet. Bath towels were so new they hadn't been washed yet, and soaked up nothing, but left cotton dust everywhere. Flat sad pillows. No coat hangers. Furniture was fine. I dont think they've slept in their own rooms - they should, then they would know what to change. They're working on the food. Administration hiccups- no record of payment, despite being booked and paid through their own website. All fine and easily sorted though with a pleasant demeanour. There was lots of talk about plans to upgrade the place, but we all thought it unwarranted. Except the breakfast room - a bit sad and should be moved upstairs to that function room with the beautiful windows. Put an honesty bar/ lounge where it was. Lovely.
Don't be a boutique hotel- be yourselves - be a really good guesthouse in a great, if remote area with really warm and lovely hosts. Hospitality is about warmth, and you've got it in spades. Just fix the details.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeweltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, we value it! Just to address your points, all fair comment - the restaurant is now fully refurbished and we have a new chef, specialising in Italian cooking. The linen has all been changed and pillows replaced. Not sure why you couldn't email from the website- there is a working email link there as well as a contact form. http://www.clennellhallcountryhouse.com/#!contact-us

But we enjoyed having you here and many thanks for taking the time to do a review. WE apprecaite it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just back from 4 days break here, lovely charming place. Great location for walks, rides, runs and pretty much anything other than work.

Staff really friendly, nothing too much trouble.

Will be booking again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miev71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your nice review. The staff and owners really appreciate your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbottle
17.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
19.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
21.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
19.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
23.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clennell Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clennell Hall Hotel

Property: Clennell Hall Hotel
Address: Clennell Hall, Harbottle NE65 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Harbottle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clennell Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clennell Hall in Alwinton is a large historic Country House (Visit Britain 4-star rated) situated on the edge of the Northumberland National Park within an area known as the Coquetdale. Beyond the picturesque surrounds of the Hotel and the village of Alwinton you can enjoy the beautiful countryside for hiking, cycling, fishing, horse-riding, golfing, hunting and walking holidays. The area is an excellent base for exploring the Cheviot Hills, the spectacular Northumbrian Coast, castles and gardens and is located upon the Pennine Cycleway (Route 68). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Clennell Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing