We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clennell Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$118
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
197
71
29
12
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
71
29
12
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame piebar priceshot showerfolk festivalfish and chipsearly hourshome madecheviot hillsfantastic weekendwell worth a visitbeautiful buildingcountry housereal alecooked breakfastroaring firefull englishlarge room
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 329 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from a four day break at Clennell Hall. Rocky, Bobby and the rest of the team were brilliant.It was my wife's birthday while we were there and they treated us really well and made her feel special.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The bedrooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable. The otherwise perfect and welcoming lobby suffers from an annoying 'low level' beeping noise, possibly from the fire alarm board but Im sure that will be solved soon.
Apart from that tiny little niggle our stay was wonderful.
Hoping that they have great success and look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for making the effort to give us a nice review, we really do appreciate it. We have sorted the annoying noise from the fire alarm so it will be total silence when you return! Once again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for the night on Sept 7th for a birthday treat, had a great time, staff are all very welcoming, room was very cosy, clean and comfortable, the grounds and buildings are very picturesque and it's literally in the middle of nowhere, no mobile signal, just great.
Look forward to seeing what Rocky and his staff can produce in the future as they build the business.
We will be back :-)

Nick & Helen

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick3Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Many thanks Nick and Helen. We value your comments and appreciate the time you have taken to give us a nice review. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great hotel hidden in superb countryside. We stayed for two nights at an unbelievable price and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was light and spacious, the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, a little disorganised at times but I think this added to the charm. Great base for kielder and the surrounding area. No phone signal or internet but if your looking to get away from it all this is ideal. The bar was great with it's roaring fire.

We will definetly be going back. soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Many thanks for your kind comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Recently taken over by new family, the passion for the place was evident. Room was spacious and the dated fittings were fine and had obviously been vigorously cleaned. Lovely lobby area. (Please don't change it into a bar, it's the nicest part of the hotel.) Friendly, lovely people, but clearly no experience. But we all so want them to do well, but a renovation isn't needed, just a few things put right. Tried to email them, but there is no way to email from their website.
Our constructive feedback - linen quality was awful, I didn't expect new, or high thread count, but pilled sheets should be thrown out. A top sheet is essential between guest and duvet. Bath towels were so new they hadn't been washed yet, and soaked up nothing, but left cotton dust everywhere. Flat sad pillows. No coat hangers. Furniture was fine. I dont think they've slept in their own rooms - they should, then they would know what to change. They're working on the food. Administration hiccups- no record of payment, despite being booked and paid through their own website. All fine and easily sorted though with a pleasant demeanour. There was lots of talk about plans to upgrade the place, but we all thought it unwarranted. Except the breakfast room - a bit sad and should be moved upstairs to that function room with the beautiful windows. Put an honesty bar/ lounge where it was. Lovely.
Don't be a boutique hotel- be yourselves - be a really good guesthouse in a great, if remote area with really warm and lovely hosts. Hospitality is about warmth, and you've got it in spades. Just fix the details.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeweltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, we value it! Just to address your points, all fair comment - the restaurant is now fully refurbished and we have a new chef, specialising in Italian cooking. The linen has all been changed and pillows replaced. Not sure why you couldn't email from the website- there is a working email link there as well as a contact form. http://www.clennellhallcountryhouse.com/#!contact-us

But we enjoyed having you here and many thanks for taking the time to do a review. WE apprecaite it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just back from 4 days break here, lovely charming place. Great location for walks, rides, runs and pretty much anything other than work.

Staff really friendly, nothing too much trouble.

Will be booking again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miev71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your nice review. The staff and owners really appreciate your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews