We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Journey Begins..."” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewis & Clark State Historic Site & Interpretive Center

Lewis & Clark State Historic Site & Interpretive Center
new york
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“"The Journey Begins..."”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Looking for the scenic byway in Alton and somehow ends up at this Center in Hartford. The outside does not look much but decide to go in and ask for direction.
Surprise: this is the Illinois starting point of the expedition. The exhibits are easy to follow and kind of fun. The displays are life size models in a story time sequences. Lots of interactive questions & answers for the kids (great for adults too). The exhibit room is sunny and bright which makes you feel you are going to the journey.
Free Admission.
There is lovely staff from the tourism who will give you directions, maps and friendly advice which direct us to the scenic route.
The gift shop has an extensive books on the expedition.
Schedule this in your travel journey.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CDEMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
508 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great displays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

New and well laid out. Hardly a soul the day we visited. Off the beaten path. Good place to cool down.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I like to visit this center although it is more like a museum +. It is one of the best sites I have ever visited in Illinois. I highly recommend it for a family visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LARRYH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethalto, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Exhibits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is good stop. Give yourself a couple of hours to look at all the exhibits. Some great history for the kids.

Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
291 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This campsite isnt much, but I get a great feeling standing on the same ground as great people. You know your on the camp site because this is where YOU would set up your tent. Wow! It's not much for families and that, but history-wise, I always wanted to stand on that ground. 20 years and I finally got there and I'm glad I did. Didnt go to the State Historic Site so I cant judge that. But I'm happy about what saw. Historically, it was while at this camp that Lewis winessed the transfer of the Louisiana Purchase from Spain to France to the U.S. They visited the same spot after eturning from their journey west. It's an historical spot not to be missed. What's cool is there isnt nothing built up around there so you can get a good feel, and actually see the Missouri River across the way.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripperAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis & Clark State Historic Site & Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Lewis & Clark State Historic Site & Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing