We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend there Easter Buffet”

Wildlife Prairie State Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not recommend there Easter Buffet”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had reservations for 1:30 pm for the Easter Buffet . We had heard they had good food . Arrived at 1:00 pm and they were backed up . Went to report in that we were there . Hostice said she would call us when they were ready to seat us . After 45 " went by we checked again . She said they were runing 1 hr behind . No clean dishes and no bus boys to clean tables . It would be at least 1 hour + . We told her to cancel our reservation we didn't want to wait a hour or more . I figured they would run out of food by then . This was very poor planing on there part . I don't think I will ever come back . Glad we hadn't got a membership . Sorry we had supported them by buying wild life Prarie park Licience plates . We went to Galesburg il went Sirloin Stockade and had a good meal . We were seated quickly had excellent service and good meal . They had prepared called in extra help in kitchen and waitress . Don't waste your time going to wildlife Prarie Park .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chief85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    44
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't recommend”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We visited during the last weekend of March, outside of the normal travel season, so that may be part of the reason we didn't enjoy our trip as much as others. While we did save a dollar a person, it seemed as if half of the park was closed down. Several exhibits were empty, and the buildings were closed. The buffalo were 600 yards away. Several of the enclosures were in need of repair. We felt as if they should have warned us that half the park was closed, and we probably should have asked for a refund on the way out, as it was not cheap.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank z28colt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to visit and spend the night”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

What a beautiful place to visit!! It's all in it's natural settings. The kids LOVED it and so did I! Great dining area as well. You get to look out the "all glass" (on one side) while dining. We saw adult and baby elk as well as adult and baby buffalo while enjoying our lunch. It was awesome!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre, Missouri
2 reviews
“Stayed the weekend for business”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Everything was great and the management very flexible. I stayed in a fishing hut of sorts or Cottage #11. The weather was bad but the Cottage was warm. The main attractions were not available to me because I was gone during open hours and of course the lakes are still frozen but I will definitely be back. Have a lot of options for overnight and day trips and of course the wildlife.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Bluff, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!! Great for Kids!!! and Adults!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place is great, the animals have plenty of room to roam--unlike zoo's. They have learning experiences for kids and adults alike. They have a train ride through the park. We have actually stayed in their cottage on the lake...and had a blast...they are converted silo's and a very unique experience!! If you are traveling to Central Illinois this is a great place to stay, Wake up every morning and walk through and see the animals. We enjoyed our time there immensely!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Prairie State Park also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Prairie State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing