We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for families would highly recommend”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with the wife & 2 kids (aged 3 & 4) for a week, we had a room with 2 queen size beds (same as a UK king size bed) as I feel my kids are too young to be on there own.
We paid just under £50 a night for the whole family & no extra charge was added for the kids.
Compared to any British or European hotel, the hotel is out of this world.

All of the staff where extremely friendly, polite & couldn't be more helpful - they made us feel very welcome.
The hotel was quite busy but this didn't seem to affect the staff who still found time for everyone, & remembered who we where.
Check in/out was very speedy & efficient, the lady on reception answered all questions we had about the local area.
Couldn't fault this hotel on cleanliness, I've seen some of the other reviews but I disagree, we never found a single part which wasn't clean.
The room itself was very large & plenty of space for my whole family.
As well as everything you'd expect in a room, it also had a sofa, a plasma TV with lots channels, free wifi (high speed as well), radio alarm clock, tea/coffee facilities, microwave, fridge, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, phone, air conditioning, etc...
Breakfast is included & is a good quality with plenty of choice, great for us to fill up on before going into the park.

A worry for me when staying in the US is crime, however the area around this hotel feel very safe & my family where comfortable walking around.
The hotel is situated with other hotels just outside 6 flags, literally across the road.
Near the hotels are plenty of smaller shops for everything you could need, clothes shops, banks, restaurants, fast food, etc...
We we're in town mainly to visit 6 flags, which is just a few minute walk away, this hotel couldn't be better placed.
There is also a HUGE shopping centre only about a mile away.

The only negative comments I could make are regarding the indoor swimming pool. For adults using the gym it would be great to swim & exercise in. However my kids love diving in, splashing & water slides so it wasn't really suitable for them. However I did know this before my visit so wasn't a problem.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with a family visiting the area & will definitely use again when I return.

Room Tip: We had a standard room with 2 queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words!
I hope the kids enjoyed Six Flags!

Kindest Regards,
TJ Geurtsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    186
    97
    58
    35
See reviews for
371
76
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here one night and will certainly stay here again!
The entire staff was nice and accommodating. I had booked the motel on a web site, and was not aware that it had placed us in king rooms. As I was checking in, my family was unloading the car. After I received our room keys, and the family was now entering the lobby, the woman at the desk called me back over and and voluntarily changed us to two queen rooms, which we so appreciated.
The rooms are updated, comfortable, and super clean. The beds were very nice and had adequate blankets on them. We had recently stayed at a Fairfield Inn close by, and the Fairfield beds have only a sheet and a very thin blanket on them. Also, the heating system in the room was very quiet...not those old, noisy units that wake you up every time they click on an off.
We will most definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are glad to hear that you preferred our beds and the heaters more than some of the others. We hope you enjoyed your visit in Gurnee and stay at our hotel and suites.

Hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The rooms are very big and it is very price efficient. The hotel is close to a HUGE mall (1mile+ worth of walking). It is close to the naval base so it's a great place if you have family or friends graduating from bootcamp. It is also very close to the six flag attraction park (which btw does not open in the winter.) It's in a great location with lots of nearby activities such as an ice skating rink, mall, restaurants and movie theater. It was a very clean hotel with lots of amenities.

BTW if you you are going to use the fridge make sure you lower the temperature. It is standardly on freezing mode so just move the knob to the middle :)
Also if you're going to get a manicure in the area there is a nice "Q Nail" salon on the near plaza. The service quality there is much better than at the mall.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd and 1st floor they are both nice and quiet but it is nicer on the second floor as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

We truly appreciate your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the walk to the mall and the salon in the nearby plaza. I am guessing by your review you were here for the Navy Graduation and we would like to congratulate your family for the same.

Please do visit us in the future and help us make your stay memorable.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for the day after Christmas thru Sunday the 30th. I'm from Waukegan originally and was coming home for a visit and was really glad when I called the hotel directly and they matched the Priceline quote I had found online (I wanted to make sure I would get a 2 bed room vs one king). The hotel is very VERY clean, the rooms are much bigger than I thought. Ours had 2 queen beds and a separate sitting area with a couch that pulled out. It also included a flat panel TV, microwave and mini fridge, and the sink area is outside the bathroom, making it a great choice for us since we were two ladies who needed occasional mirror time. :)
Checking in and out was a breeze, and when my final bill wasn't exactly what I was quoted, it was changed without incident. The breakfast wasn't anything too over the top, but we had selection enough that we weren't left hungry. I noticed the hot tub wasn't open, but we were too busy to even go into the pool so it wasn't a bother for me. Free wifi...lots of room to move around...a clean space and the beds were super comfy. We will without a doubt stay here again. We had room 126 on the main floor right at the end of the hallway and it was perfect.
Thank you for making my return home a great one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnMarie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was my pleasure to be of service during your stay and we hope to enhance your experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayton nc
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Although I have stayed at best western hotels before,this was my first time staying here at the one in Gurnee and overall it was a great experience. First of all the price I paid for my room was in my opinion a decent deal since the hotel seemed to be pretty much booked. The front desk employee was very friendly and informed me on local restaurants to try.I settled on the irish pub that was close by. The room was comfortable but the toilet did run that first night.Not a huge deal,but more annoying than anything.I did tell the front desk about it and it was promptly fixed. Over the hotel is a good one and very convenient to I-94

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffro389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was my pleasure to be of service during your stay and we hope to enhance your experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our third stay at the Best Western Gurnee Hotel and Suites. Staff were accomodating with all three trips. I recommend to book directly with hotel, vs. online. During each stay we were perfectly delighted with reception - Hetal (front desk manager) should recieve an award for her attention to detal and her cusotmer service. Two stays were with friends on Christmas Shopping Trip, and third stay was with childern to Six Flags- Great America. One one stay I booked on line- what a mistake. Hetal was able to help us the best she could, and our trip was saved by her efforts. The hotel is often booked full, so plan ahead.

Rooms are CLEAN. Beds are VERY comfortable. We used the pool with the kids, and they enjoyed it. I was able to have coffee 24/7 at the front desk area. Room staff are very polite and do a wonderful job making each of my stays enjoyable.

The hotel is very close to the mall. There is a free shuttle. Great America is right across the street, but you can save $20 in parking if you take the free shuttle. Several places to eat right around the hotel, within walking distance.

Wonderful breakfast available each day until 10am. A different menu, including hot foods (eggs, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausage) fruits, cereal, toast, bagels, juice, milk...the list goes on. We felt we were staying for free, after eating the breakfast, as we would have spent the price of the room alone for a meal for the 4 of us.

During most recent stay we were able to have adjoining rooms for our two rooms. It was nice and relaxing to be able to use our rooms for visiting. The rooms are large- with a couch, table, and chairs for visiting. The fridge was COLD when we arrived- unlike other hotels.

I feel like we can not go wrong when selecting this hotel. Our group of friends usually pick a new city to Christmas Shop in each year...but after staying at this hotel, we feel we will return year after year. It is great to know that we have found a hotel that meets our needs.

Again, Hetal is a true gem. It was not just with our group. I sat in the lobby for a short time waiting for friends, and saw her interactions with many guests- each leaving her with a smile. if things were not right- she made sure that she did everything possible to make it best posssible stay.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in room facing pakring lot/entry area. The busy street has a lot of traffic, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Waunakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeshal S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for taking time to wroite about your visit at our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay as stated in the review and we hope to correct and fulfill any concerns you may have had in the future.

Happy Holidays,

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#8 of 11 in Gurnee
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Address: 5430 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1735 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this friendly Gurnee, Illinois hotel located less than one mile from Six Flags® Great America and Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall. Ideally situated off Interstate 294 in Northern Illinois, the Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee is a convenient hotel offering the best in accommodations, customer service and location. This Gurnee hotel features 65 well-appointed guest rooms, each offering cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access for guests' convenience. This 100 percent non smoking hotel offers a variety of amenities including a complimentary full breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome for a small fee. The Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee is conveniently located less than one mile from Six Flags® Great America theme park and just a few miles from the Waukegan Field House and Sports Park. Hotel guests will find charter fishing in Waukegan Harbor or great golfing at Bittersweet Golf Course and ThunderHawk Golf Club, all within seven miles of the hotel. Corporate travelers staying at this Illinois hotel will enjoy convenient access to the Jelly Belly® Factory, BrightStar® Healthcare Company, Domino Amjet, Abbott Labs and Motorola. The Great Lakes Naval Base is also only ten miles away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Gurnee, Illinois. Make a reservation today and save! Indoor hot tub is closed indefinitely. We are sorry for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gurnee Hotel And Suites
Best Western Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Comfort Suites Gurnee
Gurnee Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing