We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Driving from Lake Geneva, decided to stop and shop. Checked in without reservations. Check-in was a fast and staff great. She even informed me of their promotion to get reward points. The room was nice, comfortable and clean. Pool area well maintained, plenty of towels. The free breakfast had hot (waffles, eggs, sausage, cereals) and cold (cereal, fruit, yogurts, etc.) items. Plenty of breads and sweet rolls, coffee, teas. It was a satisfying breakfast. Coffee and tea available all day in the lobby. Location is the best off the expressway. Shopping and dining with in walking distance. Main attractions only a short drive. I enjoyed my overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monaco_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

When checking in.... the desk clerk forgot to use her customer service skills. Then she FAILED to tell me that I would be charged "pre auth charges" $30.00 per room and that it takes 3-5 days to refund me! 3-5 days for something I WAS NOT INFORMED OF AND WAS SUPPOSE TO BE INFORMED OF AT CHECK IN. The breakfast...GROSS! The eggs had to be frozen due to how much water was sitting in the bottom of the pan. The sausage was pork....guess the ppl who don't eat pork are S.O.L...we went down to the pool to find NO pool towels but about 8 of them thrown in chairs and on the ground....USED! The bathroom wall had mold down the side of it...in the end would we stay there again.....NO!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammiep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear valued guest-I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced at our hotel. We are working hard to correct the issues that you have brought to light. We would like the opportunity to win you back-please contact me directly at the hotel. Sincerely, David Ratzke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have to start spending some time north of Chicago near a local branch and am looking for a place to camp out. This hotel is not bad but needs some TLC. Checked in late and was very tired. Turned TV on, didn't work. Picked up house phone, was not connected, period. No cord. I called the front desk and they were good and offered 5000 Marriott points which they delivered on. Doesn't need a million dollar renovation but needs some people paying attention to details.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briandougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear valued guest-we appreciate you feedback, and we are listening! We look forward to unveiling our newly renovated lobby and breakfast area (coming late 2013). Please come back and see us-you will not be disappointed!--David Ratzke, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel last minute and the staff was just not that great. They were rude since I was checking in late even going as far as to make a comment about the hour.

The rooms are decent for the price and if you are looking to be close to mall, this is as close as you are going to get.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nennypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest-thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback; it tells us what we are doing right, as well as what we need to improve upon. Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely, David Ratzke, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel due to the location close to Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, Pleasant Prairie Outlet Mall, as well as Six Flags. This hotel is located right across the street from Gurnee Mills.
Since we were shopping during the day, we were glad the hotel was able to give us an early check in around noon. However, when arriving to the hotel, we was slightly disappointed by the lack of feeling welcomed. There was a staff member from housekeeping who was cleaning the floors in the halls and lobby. This staff person did not greet us. After standing at the desk for over 2 minutes without anyone coming to assist us, the housekeeping member finally informed the front desk staff that someone was at the desk. Once there was someone there to assist us, check-in was smooth.
No one was at the desk when we departed either so we left our keys on the desk. Not sure where the front desk staff was during the day...
Breakfast during the morning was okay for complimentary breakfast. They do offer make your own waffles, which is great. However, they also have the cereal, muffins, yogurt, fruit, and other usual breakfast items.
If shopping or going to Six Flags in the area, this is a great hotel. Just don't have a high expectation for friendly, welcoming service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hvaskjer003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and see us next year; we can't wait to unveil our newly renovated lobby and breakfast area! (coming November 2013). We look forward to serving your future lodging needs-David Ratzke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We go here once a year at the end of January. The last 2 times we were seeing a decline in the decor and cleanliness. This year (2013) they have been upgrading the rooms, and are in the reno process of knocking out a wall to enlarge the breakfast area. Sadly, they took out the hot tub, which we missed a lot, due to the high cost of making it handicap accessible. (15,000), which is something a lot of smaller hotels are going to be dealing with in the near future because of law changes. So you might see this happening all around the country. Breakfast was fine, service fine, room clean and it was nicely quiet too. Good location for shopping, 6 Flags and lots of restaurants nearby. Much better that last year despite the construction.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at the end of the hallway by the stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest-thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback; it tells us what we are doing right, as well as what we need to improve upon. Thank you for the feedback regarding the hot tub. We know that this is an important amenity that guests look for. Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely, David Ratzke, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great price, convenient location. After driving 8+ hours w/ what seemed like 12 hrs of road construction we couldn't wait to check in. I have never met such a friendly person as Teoanna! Her smile & willingness to answer all our questions really made our day! The breakfast selection & cleanliness w/continual upkeep of the area was outstanding. In addition to the fresh waffles and other breakfast type food they had quite a few healthy choices including fresh fruit. The room was great as well, 2nd floor, it was so nice & quite. And the beds... I wish my bed at home was as nice & comfy. The pool & hot tub was also great (& clean). If I were to have any complaint it would be no refrigerator in the room, which I did know ahead of time, I just would like one in the room. Other plus features: free parking, great newer big screen tv, free wifi, friendliness of other staff, I could go on & on...

Room Tip: Pool and hot tub was great. Our second floor room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and see us next year; we cant wait to unveil our newly renovated lobby and breakfast area! (coming November 2013). We look forward to serving your future lodging needs-David Ratzke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee

Address: 6090 Gurnee Mills Cir E, Gurnee, IL 60031-5272
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range: $109 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Fairfield Inn, you can enjoy accommodations featuring crisp linens, microwave, mini-fridge, TV, and more. In comparison to other Gurnee hotels, Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee offers a comfortable stay complete with free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, and free breakfast. As a Marriott guest, feel free to use the exclusive Marriott Rewards Program. At the Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee, you’re our #1 priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Fairfield Inn Gurnee
Fairfield Gurnee
Gurnee Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing