We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
126
93
50
24
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
126
93
50
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews six flags gurnee mills front desk staff hot tub free shuttle outlet mall pleasant stay free breakfast bed was comfortable great lakes angel shopping chlorine interstate proximity navy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 314 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a hockey tournament.

Check in was quick and efficient . We were surprised that they did not place the entire team on the same floor to avoid annoying non hockey tournament guests.

We had a first floor room near the lobby. The room was non smoking but reaked of a room that had been smoked in for years.

The lamp shade - wall - ceiling - were stained yellow. The chair had duct tape on it. Let that sink in

Duct tape.

The bed was very firm. I prefer a firm bed so this wasnt a problem.

The room was large and spacious . The tv had a good selection of channels. Our room had a fridge and microwave- however many of the other families did not.

The bathoom was tiny and dirty. The floor was disgusting. The tile was cracked and so was the wall.

The walls are paper thin - you could hear everything going on. Good thing the fan has a always on option.

The buffet and breakfast was ok.

The pool area was nice and well maintained.

The fitness room was small. The two treadmills were both broken .

Overall I dont think that this holiday inn was worth the 150 usd a night.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank EM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Hello EM G,

Thanks for choosing us to host your hockey team! I'm glad to hear that check-in was a breeze. I appreciate your compliment about the pool. It's a really nice area to unwind. I am concerned that some parts of the room are worn, particularly the ceiling and bathroom tiles. I'm sorry these affected your visit. If there will be future renovations to be made, our hotel will keep your feedback in mind. We hope to get another chance to exceed all of your requirements.

Take care!

Anna R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

I stayed here for a business meeting. The room is not well laid out for working purposes as the bed is positioned too close to the desk (sorry, no photo) but the room seemed clean enough. The property had a dated feel in the rooms, particularly the bathroom. The best way to describe the front-desk staff would be distracted and not well-informed. They were unable to suggest a local eatery beyond the usual fast-food places.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nukeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018


Hi, nukeprof!

Thank you for choosing us for your business lodging needs.

I am glad to know that you find the room clean. I am sorry that you were not impressed with its cleanliness, as well as the service delivered by our reception staff. I advised the local management about your feedback. We will use this as we continue our efforts of enhancing all our services for a better experience.

As we strive to improve, we would love to continuously serve you in your future travel plans.

Many thanks,

Anne A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Clean, friendly pleasant stay! Beds and pillows were very comfortable Breakfast buffet was good (not included in the stay) pool and hot tub was nice and didnt close til 11! Lounge area/bar was nice but a little pricey.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was nice, clean and has an excellent location. However, our room was right off of the first floor exit doors and we heard slamming (VERY LOUD) our entire stay at all hours of the morning and night. Also, the bathtub drain was clogged so water was backing up, but they fixed it very quickly after we asked. We also noticed a bit of mold it looks like they are painting over. No fridge in the room or microwave, but they offered to use one in the lobby???

Other than that the hotel is very nice, pool and hot tub are great. Awesome location and staff was very nice. Overall a good stay and we’d come back if the above issues were corrected.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank BP6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Gur... C, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center IL and leaving your honest feedback.

We are happy to hear about your stay here with us and how you enjoyed our location. Regarding you room, we apologize for the noise coming from the doors. If you come back and stay with us, we would be able to give you a room on a higher floor to avoid this issue in the future.

We will be notifying the appropriate departments about you concerns and resolve this issue the best we can. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Ende
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Me and my friend traveled down here to look for a hotel to stay in before going to Six Flags the next day, and boy, am I glad we chose this one. Our room was just a standard hotel room, but we were fine with that. We went down to the pool, which also had a hot tub. All I have to say that can be improved here is the pool’s heating. When we first went in the pool and when we went back in from the hot tub, it was freezing, but we eventually got used to it. The room was very clean and we managed to hook up our Nintendo Switch in the room, connect it to WiFi, and play some games. I would definitely recommend staying here, as it also is located in or around Gurnee Mills, where all the stores are located.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Gur... C, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you consider us again when coming to the area.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Ende
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews