We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V-day Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Overall this was a nice hotel. My boyfriend and I originally booked a king size bed for one evening and after being there we couldn't resist spending another night there. Our bed was comfortable. Beautiful room overall. Some of the things I found to be negatives though were the following: pool was cold, I think there was a lot of chlorine in the pool/hot tub because we both had red marks on us after and our eyes were red, we didn't have Kleenex in our room when we first entered, we noticed there was a tissue under the bed, the fan in the room was pretty loud and in the standard king room we had booked there was no refrigerator or microwave. I noticed after being in the room had we spent more that we could have that in the room, but oh well. There was a good selection of TV stations available and the hotel was clean and looked new. We didn't use the bar though it looked awesome and like something we would have enjoyed. The staff was very friendly and informed us on everything upon check in. I would come back to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Excellent quality service! The staff were superb. Any issues my Mother and I had the staff was quick to help or solve. I'm a disabled veteran and I sometime have special needs and they were able to accommodate me and that really helped my Mother.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for recognizing our staff and thank you for your service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and myself and my 2 boys stayed here for my Daughter's Navy Graduation. I have to stay this Hotel and all the staff made this trip so amazing the room was great the staff was very helpful I can not say enough good things about it. I would recommend for anyone to stay here Lamar at the front desk was awesome so Yvonne ,Dwayne, and Brittany I think that was her name they were all the shuttle drivers they all made our trip since we didn't rent a car if they can get any incentive for this they should get as much as they can because all 4 of them are truly amazing people they all went above and beyond what they had to do thank you guys so much

Room Tip: Get with Lamar tell him what you need and he will know right where to put you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NavyMom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

"Awesome" and "Amazing" - great words to describe our wonderful staff. Thank you for taking time out to mention them. Thank you also to your daughter for her service to our country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Carpet was a mess in the room, warm water in the shower, food subpar, bartender needs to get head checked out. It's a Super 8 with olive green hotel sign. I spend over 300 nights in a hotel room in a year. This Holiday Inn is poor and not the Holiday Inn you would expect. Heads up!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We appreciate you providing feedback regarding your recent visit. On behalf of the hotel, please accept our apology if we failed to meet your expectations. We would appreciate receiving an email or a phone call so we may discuss your stay in further detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Heather (bartender), Dewayne, and LaMar (front desk) were all so friendly and accommodating! Rooms were clean. Glad to see the bath & body works products - nice touch!

Cons:
The sleeper couch should be replaced as one can feel every spring coil on the mattress. Very uncomfortable! Don't bother with the buffet breakfast. The pancakes, eggs, diced potatoes, sausage & bacon were awful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about being a rewards club member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philltm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your compliments on the staff. They will be very please that you recognized them. As to the sleeper sofa and the breakfast, we appreciate you taking time out to share this with us. We constantly strive to improve all aspects of our operation and will discuss with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Was told I was given best rate for room $84. While checking out lady in another room left her checkout bill by elavator....her rate 69$, 18% better?! Brought this to attention to young man at front desk, his reply, "next time you should call thru a 3rd party to get better deal". Said it kind of snidley. I asked him there's nothing you can do? Same reply I got from him. I told him your letting a customer walk out a little upset? I was looking for same rate, but would have been happy with a free candy bar. With many hotels in area, and six flags closed in winter occupency rates have to be down, and there are many other hotels in area. I know customers aren't always right, but in a service industry there is ALWAYS something you can do to keep a customer happy, especially while saying goodbye.

Mo-

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mogurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

On behalf of the hotel I due wish to apologize that you walked away unhappy. Similar to the airlines, guests at our hotel pay many different rates based on when they booked their reservations, if they paid in advance, if they are traveling with a group or company, etc. The way to get the best price is to monitor our website and to scroll through the various specials and discounts that might apply to your situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was at this hotel for a conference last month. The hotel did a very nice job arranging everything for the conference and to make sure it was moving smoothly. However, during the conference time, they really jacked up the rate of the hotel rooms about 100 dollars over what they normally are and it definitely wasn't worth staying here unless you absolutely had to. There is nothing amazing or special about this hotel and could easily save money by staying at any other hotels near by if the princes are lower.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your compliments on the conference that you attended. Your room rate did include all meals provided while you attended the conference. On behalf of the hotel I do wish to apologize if there was any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Address: 6161 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range: $92 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing