We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Staff but lousy breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff but lousy breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Heather (bartender), Dewayne, and LaMar (front desk) were all so friendly and accommodating! Rooms were clean. Glad to see the bath & body works products - nice touch!

Cons:
The sleeper couch should be replaced as one can feel every spring coil on the mattress. Very uncomfortable! Don't bother with the buffet breakfast. The pancakes, eggs, diced potatoes, sausage & bacon were awful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about being a rewards club member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philltm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your compliments on the staff. They will be very please that you recognized them. As to the sleeper sofa and the breakfast, we appreciate you taking time out to share this with us. We constantly strive to improve all aspects of our operation and will discuss with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    70
    31
    17
    16
See reviews for
91
28
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Was told I was given best rate for room $84. While checking out lady in another room left her checkout bill by elavator....her rate 69$, 18% better?! Brought this to attention to young man at front desk, his reply, "next time you should call thru a 3rd party to get better deal". Said it kind of snidley. I asked him there's nothing you can do? Same reply I got from him. I told him your letting a customer walk out a little upset? I was looking for same rate, but would have been happy with a free candy bar. With many hotels in area, and six flags closed in winter occupency rates have to be down, and there are many other hotels in area. I know customers aren't always right, but in a service industry there is ALWAYS something you can do to keep a customer happy, especially while saying goodbye.

Mo-

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mogurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
On behalf of the hotel I due wish to apologize that you walked away unhappy. Similar to the airlines, guests at our hotel pay many different rates based on when they booked their reservations, if they paid in advance, if they are traveling with a group or company, etc. The way to get the best price is to monitor our website and to scroll through the various specials and discounts that might apply to your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
739 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was at this hotel for a conference last month. The hotel did a very nice job arranging everything for the conference and to make sure it was moving smoothly. However, during the conference time, they really jacked up the rate of the hotel rooms about 100 dollars over what they normally are and it definitely wasn't worth staying here unless you absolutely had to. There is nothing amazing or special about this hotel and could easily save money by staying at any other hotels near by if the princes are lower.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your compliments on the conference that you attended. Your room rate did include all meals provided while you attended the conference. On behalf of the hotel I do wish to apologize if there was any confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to visit family and had an appointment in Chicago. Location couldn't have been better. Right next to the interstate and a large shopping mall, yet easy and convenient to get in and out. Staff was warm, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Room was clean, modern and quiet. I hope next time to sample the restaurant and maybe the comedy show if they have one scheduled.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FromdaUPeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to leave the wonderful comments. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent two nights here in September and had a great time, we would stay again for sure. We went to Six Flags on Saturday and used the shuttle service - it was very convenient and the drivers were very friendly. The front desk staff was friendly as well, and our hotel room was comfortable and clean. Wish we would've had a fridge to put our leftovers in, but it wasn't a must. Family had a great time in the huge pool...it was a little chilly for me, but the boys were in it for hours. The staff helped us with directions to Lake Michigan, which was a short drive away for a quick beach fix. We ate at the restaurant for dinner twice, and had pretty good food. Breakfast was a different story - two of us ate the buffet, and all I could stand to eat was the bacon. My husband ate off the menu...and the waitress asked him what kind of meat he'd like with it, and he said sausage. Doesn't that sound like it was included with his meal? Nope...she charged us for it, even though she's the one who suggested it and made it sound like it was included. Just a little detail that made us unhappy. Not THAT big of a deal. Otherwise our stay was wonderful, and we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are a great option for those coming to Six Flags. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We were on the 3rd floor, room had good space. The bathroom didnt feel clean. Unsure if there was cleaner or urine in the toilet. Blue razor on the counter with no cap&hair in it:/ bed was nothing special. No refridgerator. If you are just sleeping there it works. Probably would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Solbonita,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with the room conditions. We will review our internal procedures to ensure that such a situation does not occur again. We appreciate your feedback and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Gurnee.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has everything you need for a pleasant stay. The pool and hot tub were sparkling clean, and both were at the perfect temperatures. They have a very nice bar, and patio as well. The free breakfast buffet is very good, but make sure they give you your tickets at check-in! The rooms were clean and updated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleystarr2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for responding. That pool is wonderful and our Engineering team does a great job on keeping it "sparkling" as you mentioned. You were wise to choose a rate that included breakfast as that is an excellent value especially when traveling with a family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#4 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Address: 6161 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing