We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a conference, but there are better places to spend the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was at this hotel for a conference last month. The hotel did a very nice job arranging everything for the conference and to make sure it was moving smoothly. However, during the conference time, they really jacked up the rate of the hotel rooms about 100 dollars over what they normally are and it definitely wasn't worth staying here unless you absolutely had to. There is nothing amazing or special about this hotel and could easily save money by staying at any other hotels near by if the princes are lower.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your compliments on the conference that you attended. Your room rate did include all meals provided while you attended the conference. On behalf of the hotel I do wish to apologize if there was any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 292 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to visit family and had an appointment in Chicago. Location couldn't have been better. Right next to the interstate and a large shopping mall, yet easy and convenient to get in and out. Staff was warm, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Room was clean, modern and quiet. I hope next time to sample the restaurant and maybe the comedy show if they have one scheduled.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank FromdaUPeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to leave the wonderful comments. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent two nights here in September and had a great time, we would stay again for sure. We went to Six Flags on Saturday and used the shuttle service - it was very convenient and the drivers were very friendly. The front desk staff was friendly as well, and our hotel room was comfortable and clean. Wish we would've had a fridge to put our leftovers in, but it wasn't a must. Family had a great time in the huge pool...it was a little chilly for me, but the boys were in it for hours. The staff helped us with directions to Lake Michigan, which was a short drive away for a quick beach fix. We ate at the restaurant for dinner twice, and had pretty good food. Breakfast was a different story - two of us ate the buffet, and all I could stand to eat was the bacon. My husband ate off the menu...and the waitress asked him what kind of meat he'd like with it, and he said sausage. Doesn't that sound like it was included with his meal? Nope...she charged us for it, even though she's the one who suggested it and made it sound like it was included. Just a little detail that made us unhappy. Not THAT big of a deal. Otherwise our stay was wonderful, and we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We are a great option for those coming to Six Flags. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We were on the 3rd floor, room had good space. The bathroom didnt feel clean. Unsure if there was cleaner or urine in the toilet. Blue razor on the counter with no cap&hair in it:/ bed was nothing special. No refridgerator. If you are just sleeping there it works. Probably would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Solbonita,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with the room conditions. We will review our internal procedures to ensure that such a situation does not occur again. We appreciate your feedback and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Gurnee.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has everything you need for a pleasant stay. The pool and hot tub were sparkling clean, and both were at the perfect temperatures. They have a very nice bar, and patio as well. The free breakfast buffet is very good, but make sure they give you your tickets at check-in! The rooms were clean and updated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelleystarr2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for responding. That pool is wonderful and our Engineering team does a great job on keeping it "sparkling" as you mentioned. You were wise to choose a rate that included breakfast as that is an excellent value especially when traveling with a family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Holiday Inn Gurnee is conveniently located in Lake County, Illinois. The rooms are quiet and the beds very comfortable. The pool, jacuzzi, and exercise facilities are all superior. In fact, the jacuzzi had some of the strongest jets I've ever experienced. Only the breakfast was disappointing. I'd skip that--unless you want unlimited bacon, sausage, and eggs. Upon arrival, you do have to drag your luggage through two sets of doors to reach the elevator . Poor design.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul4ejjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are located directly between downtown Chicago and Milwaukee and offer a great stopover point. Excellent observation the double set of fire doors. We have listened to you and other guests and have contracted with our fire safety company to be able to have those propped open with magnets. Also, if you drive next time we can put you near the back elevators and you can park right outside the door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I read several reviews for hotels in the Gurnee area. There were all mediocre so I was very hesitant about booking at the Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center seeing that their review wasn't very good. I went with my hunch and stayed their and we had a great time. The front desk personnel were very pleasant, the rooms were clean and the pool area was clean. The pool temperature was a little cold but we were able to deal with it. Lots of activities to do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiKi67E69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for the great comments discussing our friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. The pool is one of the largest in the Lake County at 40,000 gallons. We maintain the pool water temperature at 84 degrees and take regular readings but I will share your comments with our Engineering team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
227 reviews
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gurnee, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Address: 6161 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range: $98 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing