We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were happy with our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“We were happy with our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently stayed at this location overnight for a Cancer Treatment Center of American event. The evening we stayed we attended an event at the on-site convention center and the meal was great. For this type of facility the meal was first class and very elegant. All the staff from the front desk to the folks who clean the rooms were very friendly and helpful.

We also used the fitness center while we were there and found it to be clean and well equipped for a light workout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    74
    35
    18
    16
See reviews for
94
30
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel and convention center were very nice. Rooms were clean, up to date and comfortable.
Everything from the Front desk to the convention meals, bar, hotel rooms, beds were great.
However we went to the hotel restaurant, Spice....we went on Saturday and were given a menu that says "Monday - Friday Only". This menu was very limited, basically chicken, a salad or a hamburger. When we asked for the Saturday menu, the waitress said she would bring it, then she came back later and said it wasn't available today...We ordered sandwiches and waited a half hour for our food to arrive. The restaurant was not busy, unless 15 people is busy for this place. We did not get checked on until most of us were almost done with our food. The food was ok, but everyone commented there was a weird aftertaste to their food. We waited another good amount of time for the waitress to return with our bills, which were all incorrect and had to be redone. Our entire group commented on the poor service and very small menu for a convention center restaurant. We wont be back.....

Room Tip: All of the rooms we viewed were good....
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rickolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Rooms are fine. Staff is great. Breakfast is very good but might not be free so try to get this included. Lunch/dinner restaurant is pricey. Right across the street from Gurnee Mills shopping mall and many other shops and eateries nearby. Six Flags about 1/2 mile away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed for three nights. Staff was friendly and courteous. Housekeeping quite accomodating. We had our two grandchildren over to use the pool and the pool area is nice sized with swim towels and seating readily available. Lobby, entry and restaurant area combination of music and TV volumes was a bit overpowering. Our room was called a king leisure room. Average sized but the bath was definitely a one person arrangement. Very quite and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I live in the Gurnee area, and did not stay at the hotel, but I did have dinner at the "Spice Restaurant" in the hotel. A hotel is not usually the place I would choose to eat dinner, but my experience at this one was delightful! They have some top-notch chefs preparing the meals at this restaurant and the food is delicious. We started with a cream of onion soup that was out of this world...followed by a plate of pork medallions with mushrooms and grilled vegetables. The pork was tender enough to cut with a fork and melted in my mouth. Everything on the plate was fabulous...and was enough for two.

Their lunch menu, which is limited, also features one side filled with authentic Indian dishes, which I have yet to try. I have no doubt that I will be returning to this little gem in the Gurnee Mills area, laced with so many chain and fast food restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This Holiday Inn is at a perfect location for a great price. The hotel is very updated with a nice patio and indoor pool. It is also super clean and housekeeping is done promptly when requested. The hotel staff were the nicest and most accommodating that I have ever met, which is saying something since I travel extensively. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very nice, clean, modern hotel. It is located just off I-94, accross the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and many places to eat (which are within easy walking distance). It is less than a 5 minute drive to Great America. Despite being near all this, the hotel is quiet and peaceful. I had a king room which was very clean and had modern accomodations. The TV could have been a little bigger, but was still ok. Breakfast was good with a nice assortment of hot and cold foods. Also had a nice bar/restaurant and lounge area. Although I did not use it, the pool looked good. I would saty here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docjgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Address: 6161 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing