We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed at the Hampton Inn the weekend of June 15-17. The room was clean and very comfortable. The room we selected had two double beds. The beds were very comfortable and we had plenty of big pillows and blankets. We adjusted the air conditioning when we arrived and slept comfortably the whole night. The rooms also have cable and HBO.

We stay in Gurnee a few times every year when we take trips to Great America and Gurnee Mills so we have stayed at various hotels in Gurnee. I prefer the Hampton Inn because the rooms are always very clean, the beds are very comfortable, the staff is always friendly and helpful and the hallways are usually pretty quiet so you can sleep without distraction. We have stayed a few times at the Comfort Suites and, because it is geared more towards family or larger groups (the rooms sleep 6), the hallways there can be more noisy.

The complimentary breakfasts at the Hampton are also usually good. This visit all we ate for breakfast were bagels with cream cheese and I made coffee in our room instead of bringing up cups of coffee. But, they did have eggs and hot cereal with the breakfast spread along with bagels, sweet rolls, cereal, etc. So there was a good variety.

One other convenience at this hotel is that you can check-out from your room. They slip the final bill under your door the morning you are checking out and you just confirm the check-out via the television and leave your keys in the room. No waiting at the front desk, you just walk out the door.

Helpful?
1 Thank margh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    163
    61
    27
    6
See reviews for
204
82
35
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for business last month and the staff was very nice, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Just what you'd expect from a Hapmton Inn. The only complaint is that there are NO places you can shop or eat near this hotel that aren't a chain. In fact the Monkey Town (I think that's the name) restaurant across the parking lot was the only place you could walk to at all. That place was alright the first night (week night) with a great beer list and good food. Skip it on weekends though

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Felt like we were staying in a strip mall
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cityrider76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiland, Wyoming
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

Stayed here, for 3 nights, during a trip from New Jersey to my home in Wyoming.

The room was comfortable and quiet. There was plenty of parking available. There are elevators which can accomodate luggage carts. There is an outdoor pool (warm weather guests may be interested.) There are also a few restaurants--WITHIN A 20 MINUTE WALK--Olive Garden, Outback Steak House and "IHOP."

There is also easy access to and from the Illinois Tollway (I-94.)

On the "downside:" A number of Hampton Inns have a coin laundry, an exercise room, in-room refrigerator and in-room microwave. This particular location has none of these. For an exercise room, this property does have an arrangement with a Gold's Gym, about a 15 minute walk away. I did need to do some laundry. The nearest coin laundry I could find is in Waukegan, about 3 1/2 miles away.

Access to the main street (Grand Ave), when exiting, is cumbersome at best, although this is probably not the fault of this property. At the exit for the parking lot there is a concrete divider preventing left turns. One is then required to drive away from Grand Ave; find a parking lot of a nearby business to turn-around in, then proceed to Grand Ave.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet and comfortable room
  • Disliked — Poor access, when driving, from the hotel parking lot to the main street (Grand Ave.)
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't plan on having access to a coin laundry.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Horn_Basin_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

I've stayed at the Hampton Inn Gurnee several times for business and have been very satisfied. The hotel is clean with an attentive staff. The breakfast buffet is well maintained and the 8am daily cookies are great.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank Wekiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

I was pleasantly surprised by the Hampton. My room was on the third floor and the floor smelled slightly musty, although it was humid and rainy that day. Over all, it is your standard Hampton although it does show a little of its age.

This was my first time in the area, and when I booked the hotel, I didn't realize how close it was to Six Flags (as in two streets down). However, the traffic wasn't too bad. There are plenty of restaurants close by, with a Golden Corral next door.

Check in was quick and easy, and what was most appealing as a business traveller was the free internet access. The King room was spacious and decently appointed. There is a floor heat/AC unit, but it was a newer GE model and relatively quiet. The room opened out to a VERY small balcony, but it was clean.

The bathroom was small and did not have a lot of counterspace.

The breakfast was decent, as were the evening cookies. The soda vending machine us a little pricey, but there's a gas station across the street.

If I were in the Gurnee area in the future, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Free internet access
  • Disliked — Musty smell
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Belasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

I had a pretty good stay, hassle-free, and all comforts were there. The place looks pretty new, it's right across the streat from Six Flags, and right next to all of the outlet malls, and it's also right in the middle of Milwaukee and Chicago. The place is pretty clean the staff is nice. The breakfast is good too, every day the main course changes.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank worldsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2006

The Hampton Hotel is an adequate budget hotel. It is very close to Great America and the Gurnee Millls Outlet Mall. The staff was very pleasant and the complimentary breakfast was nice. Our only complaint was we stayed on a non-smoking floor and shortly after we returned from dinner out with friends, our room began to smell like cigarette smoke which my husband and I find quite offensive. We were on the 3rd floor and the 2nd floor allows smoking. It seems they do not have adequate ventilation to keep the smoke smell out of the non-smoking areas at least where we were. Since it was pretty late in the evening, we opted not to request a different room and the staff in the morning offered the room free of charge as they offer 100% satisfaction. We didn't take them up on this, but appreciated the customer service.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbfamily4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Address: 5550 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing