We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was a very clean hotel. Furnished nicely. Comfortable beds. Room was very nice and staff was helpful. The complimentary to go breakfast was fantastic.The rooms were quiet, did not hear any hallway noise. I would definately recommend the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    135
    50
    23
    6
See reviews for
166
70
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We received a warm greeting upon check-in. The Agent was friendly & very efficient... everything was ready and check-in was completed in under a minute. The room was comfortable and very clean. Nice bed and bathroom linens. Location was super convenient to Six Flags... less than 5 minutes away! The complimentary breakfast could stand some improvement... mainly the quality of the hot items. Also, the breakfast area was beyond crowded and chaotic... not exactly how I like to start my day.
PROS: LOCATION, in-room microwave & mini-fridge, friendly staff.
CONS: Questionable quality of hot breakfast items, chaotic breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CincyFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Security is questionable - employees need to be clearly identifiable to all patrons. The rooms with the sliding doors need to be sealed to keep the moisture & humidity balanced in the room. Minor dampness smell in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlothian, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I really enjoyed the convenience of a micro, fridge and coffee pot. My 5 y/o granddaughter was with us and it really helped. The bkft were good and helped cut down on eating expenses !!! and my granddaughter loved going down in her jammies :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Csrol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent location adjacent to 6 flags and I-94.
Staff was efficient and helpful.
Clean and well equipped room.
Good restaurant and pub next door.
Breakfast well served and hot.
A quiet restful sleep.
Only wish they had the golf channel for the post Open championship.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it is across the street from Six Flags, down the street from Gurnee Mills, and relatively close to Great Lakes Recruit Training Command (takes about 15 min. to get to PIR and no traffic if you take the back route). It's not the best Hampton Inn I've stayed in but it's clean (not squeaky clean) and the customer service is good. It doesn't appear to have been recently renovated but the rooms are not worn. Be warned though, the beds are hard. Here's my summary:

Pros: Customer service, location, clean, fresh bed linens (they clean the duvets after every stay), quiet, decent value.

Cons: Beds are hard (yep...back aches in the morning), no fitness room (they give you a free pass to a local gym...I think it's Golden's), no in room microwave or refrigerator.

Overall, it's a good hotel and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This has been the best hotel I've ever stayed at, certainly the best Hampton Inn! The service was superb, the stay helpful and friendly, the breakfast outstanding and the pool wonderful. Conveniently located right off the highway and very near 6 flags and Gurnee Mills.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.9 mi away
Gurnee Comfort Inn
Gurnee Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#6 of 12 in Gurnee
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Address: 5550 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing