We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!!”

Ichiban Japanese Steak House
Ranked #96 of 143 Restaurants in Gurnee
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Had friends reunite here after 7years and the service and food was very good. Severs are very friendly. We all had a very good time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReKonEyEz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    6
    1
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“OK but not the best”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The food was good but the overall cleanliness was not on par with high quality Japanese steak houses. You could see the grease build up on the grill etc., something not seen in finer establishments. When in Gurnee, I travel further south where there is a higher caliber Japanese steakhouse.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank vinnyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YAIKS!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

So disappointed!!!!
Expensive but yet the food is so so and not enough for one person. If you order a combination, yes it is ok – yeah, you paying $30.00 for one person, should be enough – but not for entrees. Owner is so rude, they even charge for a small – very small – container of extra sauce. Ridiculous! I order out quite a bit and every time they charge me $1.00 for that small container. OMG!
I was look around sushi bar area and look at the pictures of sushi and OMG, I found dead roach. It was small but disgusting bug and it was so old just skin left at the bar. I wonder they ever cleaning the sushi bar counter???
Service is varies by server. I was there for the weekend and had a very friendly informative server.
Overall, I will not recommend this place to my family or friends. Sorry!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would NEVER eat here again!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Tasteless food, rude management and they don't accept their own coupons with the stated terms! Taco Bell serves better quality meat! This restaurant is terrible. They don't season food. They don't even serve steamed rice with their dinners. Very greedy. SAVE YOURSELF TIME, MONEY and INDIGESTION!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank VHmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE!!!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is definitely a rat hole! There were grease stains on the wall and the place smelled horribly. That could be why the lights were dim in the place to hide the unkept conditions. It is the worse Japanese restaurant experience that I have ever had. The food was horrible and the sauces were watered down and everything tasted bad. I did not even know that you could mess rice up until then. We saw that the restaurant had a 4 star rating from another site but will not be using that site as a reference any longer. My whole family was ill after the experience. STAY AWAY!!!! SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Steak House also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing