We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great lunch spot”

Tina's Italian Bake Shop
Ranked #1 of 142 Restaurants in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
222 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“a great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

It is hard to come here for lunch and not take home one of the dessert delicacies displayed behind the counter. Good Italian food, soups, sandwiches and salads. Have come with a party of 8 for lunch and were accomodated well - even though it is a small place. Friendly service with a homey feel - you can tell they have a lot of regulars - who keep coming back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovestoroam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best for lunch in Northern Illinois”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We adore Tina's. The food is terrific - everything is made from scratch and there's always a great selection of Italian entrees, salads and sandwiches. The service is good and the waitstaff is friendly and helpful, however, you may wait for a table at noon, particularly on Fridays. Tina is a wonder - it's hard to imagine how one person can produce such amazing food. Be sure to leave room for the homemade cookies or the marscapone brownies - they are worth the calories!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Tina's has consistently awesome, Italian- type food.
Sandwiches, salads and eggplant have all been excellent.
Cute, homey decor.
Tons of fresh, baked goods everyday, too.
Only bummer is they close early on Saturdays & are closed on Sundays : (

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooked Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Great value for your money. Delicious home cooked Italian food. We all had eggplant Parmesan which was think, delicious and so fresh. The house dressing was very good on a delicious spring mix. I had tiramisu which was very good. Cute little family Italian place - I can see easily why it is ranked #1!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mym2bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Delicious food and cozy environment! I don't know how I missed this place for 5 years, but now that I've been there I will definitely be back! I am a picky eater, so usually when I eat out there are only a couple things to choose from. But everything on the menu here looked great, so it was really difficult to choose (I went with the breaded eggplant sandwich).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjhill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tina's Italian Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Tina's Italian Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing