We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit”

Tacos El Norte Gurnee
Ranked #102 of 143 Restaurants in Gurnee
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our first trip to this restaurant. It was a Saturday night and while the restaurant was busy, we never felt neglected. The food was good and reasonably priced. The margaritas were decent but not overpriced, so no complaints. Plus they had an Elvis impersonator that night, which provided us with some laughs and music. Overall a decent place to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    17
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food and service.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Average Mexican food, service was just okay. Went on a night when "Elvis" was there - he was out of tune! :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing fun”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We live near by and like to go every once in a while. Relaxing fun atmosphere- good reasonably priced food. The service is usually good. The margaritas are fabulous!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemini5930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We Both Got Diarrhea”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Food tasted okay, but within an hour both of us got diarrhea (unfortunately while we went antiquing right after eating). Never again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank occams-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food...worst service I've ever experienced”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Tacos El Norte serves up delicious Mexican food. The service is horrible though! Every time my husband and I go there, we vow to never return, but it is close to home and so tasty that we always end up going back. If you order a drink from the bar, the waitress has to write up a ticket every time, which causes a delay. Be prepared to wait at least 15 minutes from when you order a drink to get it, whether it is a drink from the bar or simply a refill on water or soda. It seems that once they drop off your food, they completely forget about you. The servers are no where to be seen when you need something. The servers also do not take care of any payments, which means that they all go through one central register. If you know you are not going to order anything else, ask for your check ASAP. It will take about 10 minutes to get the bill, another 10 for the server to come over and take your payment, and then who knows how long to get it processed if you use a card. We have waited 25 minutes on several occasions to get the card back and the slips to sign for the payment on. Overall, the food is amazing, but it is a true disappointment at how terrible the service is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank firedancer8780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos El Norte Gurnee also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Tacos El Norte Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing