We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speed baby! Authentic; Good food!; and Friendly staff”

Tacos El Norte Gurnee
Ranked #102 of 143 Restaurants in Gurnee
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Speed baby! Authentic; Good food!; and Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant is one that my family and I have eaten at since we've lived up here in Gurnee, IL. We really enjoy the food and the authentic servers. If you ever need to practice your Spanish this is a great place to do it because the staff on a the whole all speak Spanish and are good at what they do. I thoroughly enjoy eating here because the portion sizes are nice sized and my kids like it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    17
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was just blahhh. Flavorless and over priced”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ordered camarones a la diabla, got six small flavorless shrimp with very little rice and beans, for $14 totally not worth it. The flan was good but not for $4.50 overall if the food would of been good I wouldn't mind paying, but the bud was not good next time I'm going to ranchito michuacano they are expensive but so worth it, I had to get up and pay at the bar because waitress disappeared towards the end and I wasn't even asked how was everything! Never recommending or coming back, tacos el Norte take better care of your customers,!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Never a bad choice for lunch or dinner. Excellent selections on the menu and the waitstaff is very friendly. Always my favorite quality of a good restaurant is they are willing to adapt the dish to one's taste and make substitutions. Great place to bring guests.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgetOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The food here is beyond comparison. Anybody complaining about this place needs to stay home in bed because they dont know what value is. Their food is NEVER cold, the drinks are as good as any and the service is above excellent. I have eaten, both in the restaurant and as a take out, many, many times and have never been disappointed. Try the Delabo (spelled that wrong) sauce, the hot stuff, it will burn the hairs on your chest.
Just a classy place that serves the best Mexican food within a hundred miles of Gurnee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
1 review
“Never again”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at Tacos El Norte on Saturday night and were extremely disappointed. Our food was served cold and we sent it back to have it remade. Once again it was served cold but our server never came back to the table to ask if everything was okay. Since there was music that night we decided to dance while waiting for our server to reappear. When she finally did we told her our food was cold and to please take it back and remove it from our bill.When it was time to pay ( and we were going to pay for what we did eat and drink) the owner came to a table swearing at us with words I cannot repeat and told us we had to pay for everything because if we hadn't gotten up to dance our food would not have been cold. We tried to explain that we danced because our food was cold but since he was continuing to swear he did not hear a word we said. Needless to say we will not be going back and if you have children that you don't expose to unacceptable language think twice before going.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJF896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos El Norte Gurnee also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Tacos El Norte Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing