We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
IM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a final stop over on a family vacation that included stays at the Marriott in Downtown Memphis, JW Marriott in New Orleans, and Sheraton in Downtown Nashville. The front desk clerks were the friendliest we encountered and the pool area was outstanding. The place is dated but the cleanliness and staff made up for it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    138
    72
    25
    15
See reviews for
197
60
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
280 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you don't care about breakfast, this would be a great place to stay. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff was pleasant, the price was reasonable, and the rooms were clean and of a nice size. There was no microwave or refrigerator in our room, but otherwise all amenities that one would expect were there. The only quirk in the room was that although there was a wall thermostat, it did not control the HVAC unit at all. The controls were the standard ones mounted on the unit. The unit worked fine, so I don't know if it was a replacement unit that didn't get reconnected to the thermostat or what. It was no problem, just a quirk. The hotel has a nice indoor pool, so that is a plus.
Everything was fine until we went to breakfast. The breakfast was poor in terms of the variety and quality of food. There was an employee who came and checked the area about every 10 minutes, but there just wasn't much there that we would want to eat, and we're not picky. The apples and oranges were over ripe, there were muffins, which I (diabetic) can not eat. There were 'make-your-own' waffles, which was probably the best thing available, but I can't eat those either. I did try the oatmeal, but it was awful, tasted like cardboard. There is an IHOP withing walking distance, so if you don't mind buying breakfast, there are options.
I would have rated this hotel "Very Good" (4) if they had a reasonable breakfast. If we are traveling through the area again, I would consider staying here again, and just plan to buy my breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our second time at this La Quinta - the first for my daughter's graduation from Navy boot camp and this last one for my nephew's graduation (we stayed elsewhere for my son's grad and regretted it). Room was clean, beds were very comfy and the front desk staff were excellent (special shout out to Anthony, who rocked). So many good breakfast restaurants in the area, but we did eat the free hotel breakfast on our last morning and it was just fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way through Chicago. It was easy to get to, inexpensive, and no hassle check in at the desk. The room was clean, bed was ok, breakfast was typical. We wouldn't stay for a long trip, since the bathroom setup was bad. Shower was old, and no mirror or garbage can in the bathroom?

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevnber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had an emergency stop on Xmas evening due to bad weather and were able to get a room here immediately (awesome!) Price was very good ($69 for a room with 2 beds), but we found the room to be shabby and not well-maintained at all. Sink had a hole near the drain, bathroom floor tiles chipped, etc.... minor issues that I could overlook... however, the biggest drawback was that the room and the hallway were not very clean. Carpets didnt look to have been vacuumed recently. Plus I checked for bedbugs as i now always do (NONE!) and found no cleaning appears to occur behind or under the bed (yuck).

One other issue - we were told we'd be put in a room "away from the noise" but the people right above us sounded like they were galloping through the room until 2am.

Will not stay at this particular La Quinta again. (Other LaQuinta hotels have been much nicer, especially the one in Madison, WI.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
745 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in this area for some reason you cannot go wrong with this placed. I stayed here last month when I was in town for a business conference. The hotel has is up to par and you can expect the high standards of service that the La Quinta chain is known for. The rooms were very modern, and clean. There was free breakfast at the hotel and the the hotel staff were super friendly. There was also ample parking in the parking lot and is close to the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Housekeeping needs to be more attentive. On our 2nd of 3 day stay not only did they not vacuum the room, didn't wipe down vanity, barely touched the bathroom and did not replace coffee, cups and sugar and creamer packets. Not to mention, never cleaned out the ashtrays from the time we got there to the time we left. Maybe she figured I would get bored and would be looking for something to do. Lol!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank KarinGitzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#9 of 12 in Gurnee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Address: 5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031-4910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
La Quinta Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Gurnee
Gurnee La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing