We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It's close to Six Flags, reasonably priced and convenient to I-94. Rooms are a nice size and comfortable for a family of four.

Just a couple of issues that keep me from giving this location a higher rating:
1) We found trash from a prior guest in the bathroom. We let the front desk know on our way out for the day. When we returned in the evening, it was still there.

2) When my wife went to ask for an extra towel she was first informed that hotel policy is to only put three towels in the room. We are a family of four and we just want a towel. We don't mind asking for it. We just don't want a snarky policy lecture.

In this vicinity there are quite a few choices. I might be more inclined to choose one of the others next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjsmith1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 451 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
1
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel!! nice price, great location, very clean, nice staff, checked out 4 or 5 other nearby hotels,none even compared to la quinta. Will stay at another la quinta if traveling. We were very happy. pool not very deep,but was very nice. other hotel pools were smaller and only 3' deep. Hotub was very nice! thank you for a great stay la quinta hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here two nights. The service was very friendly from check-in to check-out. They had toiletries available (ex: shaving cream) when I forgot mine. Breakfast featured waffle makers, muffins, fruit, a variety of cereals and juice. My family enjoyed the pool. The location is also good, nestled on a row of several restaurants and very near Six Flags. The room had a large fridge and was comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose one upstairs on the ends, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kd0imh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We actually canceled a booking with another hotel because of the so called "dog friendly" charges. No charges here, and we met a number of other dog owners. We asked for a quiet room on the ground floor, and this was precisely what we got. Everything worked, it was clean and we had a microwave and refrigerator as well as an awesomely powerful air conditioner. My wife and I normally have issues with bed and pillow comfort, but here we both slept like babies. There was some noise from heavy footsteps on the floor above, but that was a minor problem. Wi-Fi worked well, and the self serve breakfast was unexciting but more than adequate considering the room rate in comparison with nearby competition. Staff were always evident keeping the breakfast area stocked and clean. A big bonus was card access to the ground floor nearer the room than the reception area. Very handy when Fido needs his morning constitutional. Only small gripe was that the bathroom had no hygienic disposal bin, and I noticed another reviewer put a photo of an assembly in the bath that looked a little grotty, and ours looked just the same.

Room Tip: Low numbered rooms are nearest the entrance road and closest to Six Flags America. On July 4th, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. The best desk staff I've seen in a long time. I observed several times dealing with logistics of transportation and sticky family issues. They were respectful and were able to resolve each issue. Dog friendly you can always count on it. Clean and comfortable beds. Consistent wi-fi. Stayed for several days and enjoyed the hot breakfast.
Close to many dining options and attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The problem was I checked in at 11pm they had given my non-smoking suite away and offered me a smoking suite which I refused. So they put me in a regular room and did not give me a cheaper rate for the cheaper room. I have stayed in many La Quintas but not anymore.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocean035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank smo14
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Address: 5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031-4910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range: $55 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
La Quinta Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Gurnee
Gurnee La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing