We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay there always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Will stay there always”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My friend, her two granddaughters, and I stayed at La Quinta for two nights while going to Great America, the Jelly Belly Factory, and Gurnee Mills. We always stay at this hotel when in the area. The desk staff always greet us with a smile and are able to help with anything we need. It is nice to always walk into a clean, well maintained room. The beds are comfortable. The room was equipped with a coffee pot, but I hope that someday microwaves and fridges will be added. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, as it was very crowded. For those of you who sleep late and don't like waiting in line to eat, there is an IHOP on one side and a Cracker Barrell on the other. The main reason we go to this hotel is because it has an indoor pool for the children. Although the pool in not large, it is roomy enough for the people who choose to use it. The water is clean and of a good temperature. I would recommend this to anyone who is staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    149
    80
    27
    19
See reviews for
217
70
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I'm not sure how you could be disappointed with the breakfast here unless you expected cooked to order. For a continental breakfast, they had a lot of choices: muffins, bagels, toast, fresh waffles w/strawberry compote & whipped cream (and sprinkles if you like!), cereals, juices, coffee, yogurt, raisin toast, fruit, milk & coffee. There was an attendant there during the entire breakfast keeping things clean and re-stocked who was outstanding. The room itself was fine & quite spacious - bed was comfortable & clean. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and comfortable. Not hot and humid like most hotels. Towels are at the front desk, fyi. The place was filled with families (like us) yet we never had any issues with noise. Plus, they have free wi-fi!

Hotel is near Six Flags Great America and the Gurnee Mills mall. Additionally, the hotel is right across the parking lot from Cracker Barrel and very near Joe's Crab Shack, Olive Garden & Outback. This is a wonderful place to stay in Gurnee, especially if you are going to Six Flags. There are no hotels with a free shuttle to Six Flags but this one is one of the closest (Best Western is the closest there is I believe but it may be the same distance since it is up & over). You wouldn't want to walk with little kids but the hotel is within walking distance to the park through a residential neighborhood & would save you $20/day on parking.

Room Tip: There is no bad room - pool towels at front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourtravelingclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel was economy, the contential breakfast was horrible it was CARB central. Bagles, donoughts, waffles, instant oatmeal, & cold sugar coated cereal. The only nutrients were apples that were all very old and mushy. After the CARB feast there was not an on site gym or health club. There were lots of undesirable guest running in the halls and being very loud. Guest were smoking in a non smoking property. The swimming pool area was overly crowded because one of the guest decided to have a splash party. The party caused for lots of children running in the halls and other loud inappropriate behavior. The person at the front desk was very polite and nice that is the only reason that this property got an average rating. I would not recommend this property to anyone else unless you are on the road and need to rest your eyes in the name of safety.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheena89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Had a group of us all take a post-prom trip to Six Flags, and we all booked several rooms at the La Quinta Inn. My girlfriend and I booked a king bed room for ourselves. The room rate was only $50, so we couldn't pass it up! First impression as we drove up, Looks great. Clean, near restaurants, Right around the corner from Six Flags. Front desk staff was very friendly. We got a room on the first floor right down the hall from the pool. I was a bit nervous that it may be a noisy location, but didn't have any problems. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. It was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on.

I frequently visit the Gurnee area to go to Gurnee Mills Mall and Six Flags, but usually don't need a hotel since I only live about an hour or so away. But this will be the hotel I stay at the next time I need a hotel in Gurnee!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, il
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I think the LaQuinta is a great value. Every year my mom and I plan a shopping trip to Gurnee and we have stayed here the last several years. The rooms are very clean with free internet. The breakfast is very basic, but it's free. The location is great. It's right off the interstate with close restaurants next door. Gurnee Mills and Six Flags are very close.

Our only complaint was the hot tub was SO hot that we could not get in.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupnfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced, rated #3 out of Gurnee hotels and in close proximity to Great America and Gurnee Mills which was our goal. While the closeness to locations and price were spot on, the #3 in ratings is questionable. When we first arrived at the hotel around dinner time everything seemed in order...nearby restaurants, clean lobby, sufficient parking, etc.. Then we got our first dose of reality. We checked in and received our room keys on the 1st floor and headed off. Upon entering the room, we found that there was an exhaust fan (one used for drying flooded areas) in our bathroom and the room looked like someone was already staying there. Back to the front desk. Got another room. 2nd floor this time. So, we took all our bags up the stairs (the elevator was slow and there is only one for the entire hotel) only to be thrust into the sauna (didn't know it had one!) of the hotel. Someone had rigged a piece of dryer venting out of what looked to be a computer room and it was blowing hot air into the hallway. It's August and 95 degrees outside! I know.. let's make it 104 degrees inside! Finally, we got to our room at the end of "Hell's hallway" and the room seemed allright at first. It wasn't until the next day when we were near the nightstand that we encountered the wonderful essence of cat urine. We found out later that small pets are allowed in the hotel. Following that discovery, I also now noticed the top of the blanket for one of the beds had a spot on it which looked like dried up cat puke, (we have cats ourselves, thus we know the smells and sights left behind by them) which wasn't noticed earlier due to it almost matching the ugliness of the color of the aforementioned blanket. The "free" breakfast was a joke. Go to IHOP next door instead, unless you like to make your own waffles. If you do, be sure to spray the waffle iron with the cooking spray, the hotel provided first or else deal with a smoke filled dining area like we had to deal with. I'm not blaming the hotel for that one since it wasn't their fault, just some friendly advice. But, not enough tables or seats for the guests and constantly running out of food items is a shame. Didn't want to go near the "kiddie sized" pool after all this, so cannot comment on it. Found the garbages surrounding the outside of the hotel overflowing each morning too. My advice at this point is, if you want a cheap stay near some attractions in Gurnee and you like to be out from dawn to dusk (so you're hardly in the hotel) then, by all means, stay here. If you're like me however, and don't want to feel like you need to take a shower when leaving the hotel after just taking a shower in your room, seek other options. In this case, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheezhdinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed here a couple times before and seems about the same. Great rates, good place just spend the night or two. Rooms are on the smaller size and beds seem to be double size. The room was clean and quiet. New carpet and fresh looking walls. Bathroom could of been a little cleaner. Breakfast ok. They do need to update their 1990 TVs though. Pool is small .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michigantraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#8 of 11 in Gurnee
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Address: 5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031-4910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
La Quinta Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Gurnee
Gurnee La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing