We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but noisy”
Review of Stevens'

Stevens'
Reserve with OpenTable
Stevens' is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 143 Restaurants in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family owned and operated steakhouse with a warm, comfortable setting close to home, Stevens aims to please. From our wide selection of finely aged steaks and chops to the freshest seafood, extensive wine and martini lists and a staff ready to serve you, Stevens is the perfect place for you to relax and enjoy. Whether you seek a quiet evening for two or a night on the town with your friends and family we will be honored and ready to accommodate your every need. We are very proud of the food and drinks we serve at Stevens but it is our staff and the amazing service they provide that sets us apart from the competition. Each and every time you walk through our doors you will be greeted and treated with the utmost respect and attention. Our regular guests can attest to the fact that we go out of our way not only to know your name but a little something about you as well. The service staff at Stevens has over 100 years of experience in the business and their knowledge and expertise shines through daily and nightly. Whenever you have the chance, come on out to Stevens and experience first hand what has been deemed the " finest restaurant in Gurnee."
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but noisy”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law were in town and we wanted a nice dinner and a chance to catch up with our news. The service was more than exceptional accomodating our food allergies and we were not disappointed. Our only complaint was the live music in the bar area. We were as far back from the bar as possible, but it was still hard to hear each other. I would recommend they close off that area from the dining area. I felt like I was at a wedding or night club.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom06756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    59
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a surprise gem”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

While travelling in Waukegan on business, we chose the first and closest restaurant on the list the hotel gave us, and we were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is large, busy and is a "white tablecloth" kind of place that was also comfortable. They were accommodating to our party of five and had no problem giving us separate checks. Everyone enjoyed what they ate- loved the seafood, filets and salads. I had a trio of small medalions topped with crab meat and bernaise sauce, which I expected would be rich, but was not. Steaks cooked perfectly. A tad pricey but within our per diem amounts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swimmom1dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went for our sons graduation from the Navy and what he wanted to eat the first time out with us was a fat, juicy steak. Well we asked around and Stevens' Restaurant was the place. The decor is classic steak house and the service is excellent. We were seated promptly and attended to very well. I ordered the beef Wellington and the others ordered the filet mignon. The meat was perfectly cooked, tender and juicy. As far as steak houses go this was very good. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Steak Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stevens is a wonderful steak restaurant, located in a strip center, in Gurnee, Illinois. A bit on the pricey side, the food is very good. The bar menu is a little different than the diningroom menu, both being a good choice to go to when you want something a little different, out of the ordinary and to treat yourself out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjaw288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stevens is a good steak restaurant located in a strip mall. It is quite expensive but the food is good.
It is probably somewhere to go for a special occasion rather than regular dining.
Only criticism is that the atmosphere is a bit stiff!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stevens' also viewed

 
Libertyville, Lake County
 

Been to Stevens'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing