We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Find different place to stay. Lots of better places nearby.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Gurnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Gurnee
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Find different place to stay. Lots of better places nearby.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Felt unwelcome by management, pool was closed, didn't feel safe in parking lot, numerous bulbs not working in room, room in need of serious deep cleaning, over-priced. Will not consider this place again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
99
23
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A group of four of us were staying as a late night check-in. We needed two rooms. Upon paying, we were handed our room cards and told how to get there. We stepped into the elevator, which had a plywood floor, and the trim outside of the elevator was masking-taped up. The pool, which we weren't planning to use, was empty (indoors) and upon arriving to our rooms, the other 2 people used their card to get in their room, and it was already occupied. We proceeded back to the check-in desk where they assigned them another room. The clerk came with us to make sure that one was empty, he went to turn on the lights, and there was no power in that room at all. He then proceeded to give them yet a third room, by this time it is after 2 am and we are all dog tired. The third room was empty. I tried to get back in our room, and the door card no longer worked. He had to take my card (which had previously worked) and reprogram it instead. The rooms were very dated, and there was a recliner in ours that looked like it was from someone's home livingroom (very old and used.) The only plus I had was the shower was hot and had good water pressure, although our friends staying in the other room said the beds were rock hard and had to take cool showers. My reccomendation-there are plenty of other hotels in this area, plan ahead to avoid having to stay at this one!

Room Tip: I am not sure if there is a good room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelleystarr2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Awesome. Our new getaway place. Decent rates. Nice rooms. Have already recommended to friends. Good escape . please come to Wisconsin. We enjoyed our stay so much!!!!!!!!!¡!!!!!!¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!¡!!!""!!!!,!!!!!!!"""""""""""""

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aryannaparents1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglesby, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel and Suites on a Monday night and visited Six Flags Great America on both Monday and Tuesday. It ended up being cheaper for us to pay for the hotel room here and come back to eat in our room than it would have been to purchase food for our family of 5 while at the park. It's definitely not a new hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. The bathtub was huge, which I really appreciated for some relaxation after our long drive to Gurnee. Also, I wasn't sure how I was going to like the memory foam mattresses on the beds, but I slept the entire night, without waking up even once which is an experience that I never have at home in my own bed. The refrigerator didn't get as cold as I would have liked, and the turntable in the microwave didnt spin as it cooked, the room had a small old-school tv set rather than the flatscreens you usually see in hotel rooms (which wasn't really a big deal because we weren't really planning on watching television). The room was clean and larger than most standard hotel rooms, and there were 2 sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside of it, which helps when you have a big family all trying to get ready in the morning. We did check out the hotel pool one evening after Six Flags closed and although the pool room looks very inviting with paintings on the walls, the water was freezing cold, had a murky tint to the water, and it smelled like a dirty gym sock. I think we'll avoid the pool next time. Check in and out were both quick and the lady at the desk was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmariegrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Junction, Alaska
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place has character unlike most of the chain motels. The first floor hall is decorated with cartoon characters and lit in black light. Both of the rooms we rented had recliners and air hockey tables - but no pucks or paddles? The bed is a memory foam style so if you don't like that... But if you do, go for it. Horrible pillows and towels. No breakfast on the weekends but discount vouchers for gluttony central, Golden Corral, which is nearby. Also, a very fun pool area. Toilets clogged easily and we had to get our own plunger at the desk. However, clean and acceptable for the price level.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The purpose of my trip to Gurnee was to spend the day at Six Flags Great America and so I chose the Grand Hotel. This hotel offers discounted admission tickets, and only a couple blocks away from the park. The hotel is all non-smoking which I liked but if you are looking for extras this isn't the place for you. No wifi, no continental breakfast, pool was ok, dryer we paid to use for wet clothes was not very good, and very old TVs. Very polite and nice staff. Room was pretty clean. If you want a place to just stay this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary on Memorial Day weekend. After reading the reviews on other sites, I can say we were apprehensive about staying here because of some of the things that were said. However, everything we read was completely false. The staff were really nice and accommodating especially because there were some issues with our reservation. They were really friendly in helping us sort out the situation. Our room was very clean and neat. The bed was really comfortable. Plus, this hotel is really close to EVERYTHING in Gurnee, so that's a bonus. Only downside was our room was next to a few families who kept going in and out of each other's rooms early in the morning and slamming doors (being young adults, we like to sleep late!) The thing to keep in mind while staying here is ITS NOT A CHAIN. yes, there is some repair work that needs to be done outside and updating of decor inside and the pool, but you have to remember this is a family owned hotel, they dont have corporate dollars to do that. If you are looking for a clean hotel with a great location and really good price, this is the place to stay. If you want something more upscale maybe stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: They have fun theme rooms for kids. They also have adult theme rooms with a Jacuzzi. These rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Gurnee Comfort Inn
Gurnee Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gurnee

Property: Super 8 Gurnee
Address: 5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901 (Formerly Grand Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient, family friendly,newly renovated, clean rooms, memory foam mattress, only 1000 feet away from six flag Chicago ,no need to spend $25 for parking at six flag.Free wireless internet,Indoor pool,free hard wired internet,free grand breakfast,free parking,cabal t.V.,Hairdryer and iron and ironing board,nearly 14 dining option in walking distance,great location,gurnee mill mall is 1 mile,great lake naval station 6.7.Mile, oversize specious room,off 94 interstate on route 132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing