We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING”
Review of Super 8 Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Gurnee
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I am not sure where these good reviews are coming from.....this place is NASTY.

1) the pool is tiny and has a film of god knows what on the top of the water.
2) the pool is FREEZING
3) the rooms, or at least ours, was dirty. As in.....puke on the wall in the bathroom....a toilet that ran and leaked water......cobwebs. A hole in our bedspread.....stains of nasty stuff on the recliner, a sticky desk, old pamphlets with water marks. Just gross.
4) the other guests kept us up till 3 am. Not cool.

We ended up going to target and buying a king size sheet, comforter and pillows. We covered the entire mess of a bed with the sheet and slept on top of that. I tried to cancel the room and they said I would owe money to switch rooms.
What a joke. Stay somewhere nice, after this experience I will NEVER stay in a hotel that isn't a higher end chain. I don't care the cost, staying in a place as gross as this is not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonestAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    76
    46
    21
    19
See reviews for
130
27
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is a great location to stay at for a Vacation or just a fun weekend. They have the coolest suites and everybody there is just so friendly! Almost the whole downstairs has black light, and for the children rooms they have cartoon characters! Six flags is right across the street and plenty of places to eat in walking distance!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudmom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Me and my boyfriend decided to stay here the night before we went to 6 Flags. Making the reservation was a little difficult at first with them not having our initial reservation and having to rebook. Upon arrival at the hotel, check in was efficient and once we were in the room, we were surprised with the room. We had booked the Lion Themed room which had a jacuzzi for 2. The bed was soooo comfortable I didnt want to get out. The room was nice and clean, a good size (bathroom also) and all the little themed things were pretty cool too. It was just what we expected. We didnt even bother to eat out, instead deciding to stay in the room and relax there. It is a great place to start for a trip to 6flags. Children would absolutely love it here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We arived at 2:00am to check in we were told on the phone we would have Smoking room with 2 queen beds. Once we got there we were told there were NO smoking rooms in the hotel and we needed to put down a $40.00 deposit on the room that we had already paid for. We went straight to bed and got up at 9am to go to Six Flags that we were told was within walking distance (not unless you are a marathon runner). There was no breakfast at all just cold coffee with cups the size of a shot glass. The pool is tiny with the paint flaking off the bottom and the water was GREEN Yuck and 3 feet on one end and 4 feet on the other nore like a big green tub. The decor was right out of a comic book a bad one and the painting on the walls looked like a 10 year old painted them with finger paints. Now heres the kicker. My wife being half asleep and getting ready for our day at the Theme Park was doing her makeup and out of habit lit a cigerette realizing it was no smoking taking a single drag off of it put it out right away in a cup and finished getting ready. We left the do not disturb sign on the door because we had already cleaned up some and made the beds. The maid came in any way found the entire cigerrette in the cup and took it to the front desk. They tried to charge my credit card $300. but that card had only $150 on it so they took that off the card and disabled our keys. Now granted it is a non-smoking hotel and that is fine it was a simple mistake no damage done the room did not smell like smoke at all. But why were they in our room? why were our bags moved around and opened? since they were in there why was the towles and such not replaced and beds made properly? Its a scam and they had to do nothing to the room to justify the fees. The managment and people working there were rude and snapy the other guest were playing loud rap music and yelling in the halls Drinking beer in the parking lot. It was like a tailgate party in the parking lot. I will Never go back THIS HOTEL IS A SCAM AND THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brentpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We were able to check into this hotel very early in the morning after leaving a bad hotel and the rooms were wonderful. This hotel was exceptionally clean and the memory foam mattresses were a godsend! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rate was very reasonable and we were located right across from Great America. We were able to walk there and save the $15 for parking. I would definately stay at this hotel again whenever we go to Great America or the Gurnee area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdiestew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We chose to stay at this hotel because of its stated close proximity to Six Flags, as well as some positive reviews from previous guests. BIG MISTAKE!! From the moment we walked into the "lobby" it was apparent that this hotel is not everything it claims to be. The lobby decor was kitchy Americana (Fourth of July at the end of July), it was crowded and dark. But that turned out to be the least of my worries. Our room was on the first floor (116) and was EXTREMELY noisy! I could hear conversations the people in the room above us were having, could hear every time someone used the restroom, and the sound in our room when an adjacent room ran water was very loud, even waking us up at night. I could hear every footstep the people upstairs took. The drains in our sink and tub were very slow (something that scares my young daughter). The postage stamp sized pool was not very accommodating, ranging from 3 feet at the shallow end to 4 feet at the deep end, and no hot tub. At one point we were in the pool with other hotel guests, ten of us in all, and we could hardly move in the pool without bumping into someone. The sides and the bottom of the pool were breaking up into the water, as layers upon layers of old flaking paint were falling off every time someone brushed against it. The lights in the pool area were not even turned on, with guests having to rely on whatever natural light came through the windows. The recliner in our room was broken, it wouldn't recline and the footrest wouldn't go back in, creating a trip hazard in the middle of the night. The room door had no deadbolt or chain. The bathroom was very small, and the shower head sprayed every which way but down. The hotel no longer offers free continental breakfast (something they do advertise). They also are NOT located directly across from Six Flags as they advertise. One would have to walk approximately a mile to get to the admission gate at Six Flags. On a more positive note, the hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable, but bring your own pillow!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

A tornado hit town the night before we were planning on going to Six Flags and the power went out. At first we were understanding about the situation and didn't begin to panic until the store manager decided to leave the place completely unprotected while we were sleeping. Nearly every hotel down the street had power so we decided to get a cheap room down the street for even less than I was paying at the Grand Hotel. At 3am, we packed and left and returned the next morning to negotiate our price from a "theme room" to a standard room since we were not able to use any of the amenities of the "theme room" due to power outage. The manager called me back, was incredibly rude, and downright lied to me. She said she would discount the room to a standard room but she never did. I got stuck with a $130 bill for a room that I couldn't even use and was dirty from the start. Every other hotel down the street can vouche for the reputation that this place has made for itself over the years. The owner own half of Gurnee, this is their ugly step child hotel. Go to the Vista, its better service, better quality, and better price. What a waste and unnecessary problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amodChc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gurnee

Property: Super 8 Gurnee
Address: 5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901 (Formerly Grand Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient, family friendly,newly renovated, clean rooms, memory foam mattress, only 1000 feet away from six flag Chicago ,no need to spend $25 for parking at six flag.Free wireless internet,Indoor pool,free hard wired internet,free grand breakfast,free parking,cabal t.V.,Hairdryer and iron and ironing board,nearly 14 dining option in walking distance,great location,gurnee mill mall is 1 mile,great lake naval station 6.7.Mile, oversize specious room,off 94 interstate on route 132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing