We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recreation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Flags Great America

Six Flags Great America
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Gurnee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This amusement park, located halfway between Chicago and Milwaukee, has over 100 rides and attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recreation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Lots to do for all ages; good evening rates and discounts from the hotel. Shows were wonderful and ride lines were really not as long as we expected unless they were for the major "wild" roller coasters.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    620
    280
    142
    186
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“family trip to great america”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

we liked that there is a nice variety of roller coasters...some are very thrilling and some are a little lower key...it suited our family perfectly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice place to have fun but on old times 8 yrs ago six flags on my oppinion was better because was more shows to watch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank calerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My childhood down the drain.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ive gone to six flags great america ever year since i was 5. This year has been the worst. First the lines are ridiculous and everything is overpriced for a soda its $5 and a beer is $10. Not to mention the horrible quality of the food. I went to get a$6 slice of pizza and it was thrown on the counter not given to me. Not to mention my fiance and i are huge brewer fans so we had special shirts made with the brewer simple in a glove and due to a printer mishap it kind of looks like a middle finger or so we have been told i personally dont think so anyways we got in the first time no problem nd went to stand in line for a flash pass the guy that was controlling traffic through the lines made a huge stink about our shirts and wasnt nice about it either the people in line had to tell him to back off and he rolled his eyes and said that we wouldnt be able to come back. Well we went all day without anyone saying anything about the shirts until we went out to the car to get lunch. Walking back inthe 19 year old ticket taker told us we werent allowed in with the shirts...even security said it was ok so we said we would but them insidr out she said no your not allowed in...what total bs totally not going back ever!!

Helpful?
Thank kmjury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Finding the park is easy, and parking was a breeze. The new ride, the X-Flight was awesome. Worth the wait. It was a hot day, but that is Illinois for ya. They give free cups of water at each food stand. You can buy a water bottle and fill it up at water fountains. The rides are all fun. Cheap alternative to driving somewhere at $4.20 a gallon, and getting a hotel. Great all day adventure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank larrymartin107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Flags Great America also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Six Flags Great America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing