We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a perfect place for families to gather. We spend 2 nights each year as a big family Christmas gift. Our grandchildren are age 3-14 and there is something for everyone. We all meet for the breakfast buffet and plan our day. Besides the waterpark, there are many different kinds of fun and relaxation. There is a good sized game room, snack shops and gift shops. There is a spa for the adults and another one for the kids. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is very eager to make sure that you stay is a good one. Can't wait til next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments! We are honored that you choose our resort each year for your big family getaway. It seems like everyone is able to find an activity or attraction that they enjoy. Our breakfast buffet appears to be your family’s home base during your stay to plan the day's events. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the amenities within the resort and find our accommodations to be beautiful. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Looking forward to your next family getaway with us in paradise!

See you in the FUN-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    431
    151
    100
    80
See reviews for
1,208
41
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our first trip to KeyLime Cove at the recommendation of friends who had been there before. The facility was clean, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the amenities and services were exactly what we needed. We have children ages 2 and 3 so the set up of the waterpark for smaller children perfectly met their needs. The restaurants and gift shops were very reasonably priced. I would recommend adding more arcade games catered to small children. Only minor complaint was that there did not seem to be a sufficient amount of rafts available (there were specific guidelines on types of rafts/floats to be used by area) as there were not any readily available (we arrived early in the morning) throughout the day unless you were lucky enough to come across one someone left. Overall, it was great and we will definitely return! A great value for a weekend get away!!

Room Tip: If you have small children ask for rooms closest to the lobby / pool. The hall ways were quiet at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Brenda S,

Wow, what a FUN-tastic review! Thank you for sharing your feedback on our resort. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It seems like you found the resort to be very clean and our crewmembers to be extremely helpful. Our amenities and outlets also appear to have been a big hit. We appreciate that you found our restaurants and gift shops to be reasonably priced. As for our waterpark, your little ones seem to be the perfect age for our Lil’ Limers Play Pond. Thank you again for your recommendation of our resort. We look forward to having you and your family within our walls of paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We just returned from a long weekend visit to Key Lime and will definitely be back! The rooms are great in size, very clean, really like the sink area being separate from the bath/toilet. Food is what I expected, priced pretty well. I recommend the restaurant by the lobby, very good food. My favorite was they have Starbucks coffee for purchase and an incredible sweet treat stop that would have something for anyone! The ice cream shop is fab! Game area is incredible! Even offered photos with a huge snake and croc (I think) for $8. Now for the water park, the BEST! My 6 year old cannot swim so I am always extremely nervous when I am not next to him constantly. After a couple times down the slides and watching the lifeguards my fears were gone. I let him to them on his own! Best lifeguards I have seen. Every inch of water is always being monitored by a lifeguard. They have slides there for all ages. Little babes to adults! We live in Wisconsin and drive past Wisconsin Dells to visit Key Lime…. that is how great it is!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Alexandra K,

Wow, what a splash-tastic review! Thank you for your recommendation of our resort! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. It seems like you liked the layout and cleanliness of your overnight room. Our restaurants appear to have been a big crowd pleaser, as well as our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. Our lifeguards take the responsibility of protecting the safety of our guests very seriously. We are pleased to hear that you felt at ease allowing your son to go down the slides by himself. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to your next staycation in paradise!

See you in the FUN-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We just returned from an overnight trip to KLC. We have been to this facility multiple times over the past 3-4 years and it is holding up well. I was very excited to see that they have resurfaced the entire waterpark with rubberized, non-slip flooring. The tile which was previously in place was ridiculously slippery! The room (queen deluxe) contained 2 beds, a sofabed, small refrigerator, a personal safe, and the usual hotel amenities. (I'm always disappointed when hair conditioner isn't a separate product and is instead rolled into "conditioning shampoo".) My 7 year old son enjoyed every aspect of the park; he is tall enough to ride each of the slides and play in the basketball pool. The deepest water is found in the wave pool which is 5 feet deep but becomes deeper when the waves are activated. The water was warm and clean and the atmosphere was tropical...a nice remedy for Midwestern cabin fever. I have been extremely pleased with each visit in the performance of the lifeguards; they are plentiful, attentive, and well-trained. I can not comment on the food choices because we bring snacks and sandwiches to eat in the room. My son highly recommends the body slides :)

Room Tip: Any room is probably OK; you're going for the waterpark, not the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear KTJMitchell,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoy visiting our resort so much. It seems like you found our property to be very well maintained over the years. As for replacing our waterpark flooring, it was a big project but something we felt was necessary to further help prevent slips and falls. The safety of our guests is very important to all of us. We appreciate that you liked the layout of your room and the amenities included. Your son appears to be the perfect age to enjoy all of the attractions within the waterpark. Thank you for your recommendation of our resort, more specifically your son’s recommendation of our body slides. We look forward to having you and your family with us in paradise again soon!

See you in the FUN-shine!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We arrived early, and the hotel was able to accommodate putting us in a room thus allowing us to enter the water park early, and enjoying the water park. The staff at the front desk was helpful and attentive to me and my family. The room was ready and even with the fridge temperature outside the rooms and hallways were comfortable. The water park was fun and enjoyable. The slides were all open and the wait was short for all but the vortex. The crew is extremely cautious almost to a fault, but this is probably a good thing to keep all safe. After playing for several hours int he water park we were hungry. We went to the crazy Toucan restaurant. We approached the front host stand and were greeted with a friendly smile. We were seated right away. The table was clean. We ordered some food for the family which arrived hot, and was tasty. The staff was friendly, but a little slow in getting the food out to us along with refills on the drinks. After diner we went back to the room and into the water park. The amount of customers in the water park was considerably less so there was no waiting at all. The tubes were fun yet scary as they were pitch black, but what rush. Again the life guards and staff were outstanding on keeping everyone safe. The rooms were comfortable, but the beds were very soft. The heating unit would kick in, and can cause a bit of noise, but overall the room was not bad. We awoke and went to DW's for breakfast. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager Jake was very attentive and discussed items about the property we were unaware of. The restaurant had large booths and big tables for all guests. We left and went back to our room to get ready for the water park. The park open exactly on time at 9 am. The park was ready with exception of the body slides they had ice on the inside of them so they closed them to customers. We checked out, and this was a painless process. All in all this was a fantastic stay. There was only two issues.That need to be addressed.

1 The rooms need to be cleaned better. The back splash by the sink had old Cheerios on it. There was a cap for a water bottle lid under the bed. The couch had dirt under the cushions.

2 The drain in the shower was very slow and you were standing in soapy water.

Other than these two small items the rest of the stay was great.

Room Tip: See if you can get your room on the 1st floor since this is the same level as the as the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Kid_John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear The_Kid_John_B,

Thank you for sharing your FUN-tastic feedback on our resort! We are pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your family in your overnight room early so that you could begin utilizing the waterpark right away. It seems like you found our front desk staff to be very friendly and attentive. The temperature within the resort and waterpark seem to have been a big hit! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed splishin’ and splashin’ around in our waterpark. As for our lifeguards, they take the responsibility of protecting the safety of our guests very seriously. It seems like you found the food in our restaurants, The Crazy Toucan and D.W. Anderson’s, to be very good. Please don’t hesitate to contact the front desk if you ever feel that your overnight room needs additional cleaning. They will send someone from housekeeping up right away as we strive to remedy all guest concerns immediately. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We hope you and your family consider staying with us in paradise again soon!

Have a splash-tastic day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Me and my other half had a blast we plan to do again real soon if we come across some more great deals. maybe even bring a few friends the staff was friendly and down to earth. they kept everything bouncing and the drinks are awesome! most people think its a place for kids or there might be to many kids running around but if you go at the right moment you can experience all the adult activities. the lines where amazingly short so we rode the slides multiple times back to back. I have visited this place once a year for the past 3 years now and its a different experience each time all are good though. =)

Room Tip: if your a couple the king spa suite is the best choice, so you can have a private hot tub and if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabear0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear mamabear0411,

Thank you for sharing your splash-tastic comments! We'd like to believe that couples can have just as much fun as families staying at our resort and we are pleased to hear that you feel the same way. It seems like you thoroughly enjoyed our indoor waterpark, Lost Paradise. Our tropical drinks also appear to be a big hit. We appreciate that you find our employees to be very friendly. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Looking forward to having you with us in paradise again soon!

Have a fun-TUBE-ulous day!
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I took 20 kids to Key Lime Cove for a birthday party. They had the time of their lives! I felt they were all safe in the water park. The employees really helped make this fun as they were so helpful. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Pack snacks and drinks for the water park. It will save you a lot of money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Manager at KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear familyof14,

Wow, what a splash-tastic review! Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are honored that you chose our resort to celebrate your Lil’ Limers birthday! It seems like they had a blast splishin’ and splashin’ around in our waterpark. We are happy to hear that our crewmembers helped make the day extra special. Can’t wait to have you back with us in paradise!

See you in the FUN-shine
Your friends at KeyLime Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort

Property: KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort
Address: 1700 Nations Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031-9136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KeyLime Cove offers something for everyone at its all thrills, no chills indoor oasis. The Key West inspired resort is a perfect getaway that’s within an hour drive from Chicago or Milwaukee. Relax in a resort-style suite or guest room, or rejuvenate at Paradise Mist Spa. Featuring a 65,000 sq ft Indoor Waterpark other resort amenities include an arcade, dining and entertainment, shopping and so much more! For a family vacation that's a million miles from ordinary, reserve some "KeyLime Time!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your KeyLime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylime Cove Resort And Water Park Hotel Gurnee
Keylime Cove Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing