We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most delightful bed and breakfast experience ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chartreuse B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chartreuse B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Greenville B&B and Inns
Lancaster, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most delightful bed and breakfast experience ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was so impressed by the beauty of the surroundings, the perfection of the food and the charm of Cheryl, our hostess. We stayed for 5 days and no breakfast was the same, but each was absolutely delicious! Attention to detail describes the decor of each room and the food presentation. Definitely worth driving out of your way to stay in Greenville just to experience this bed and breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
la porte, indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This B & B is absolutely gorgeous, inside and out. My husband and I stayed one night in the Majestic Suite and it was outstanding. You get a lot of bang for your buck. It was very spacious, clean, well-maintained and stylish. The balcony overlooks tidy gardens. The 4 poster king size bed was fabulous and had a very comfortable mattress. There was bottled water and chocolates on a stand. Parking was on the street and convenient. There is a check-in desk.

Cheryl, the innkeeper, was charming and hospitable. We had to leave very early the next morning and didn't want to have a sit-down breakfast, so she provided us with breakfast sandwiches to go, juice, coffee, fruit, cookies for later, and more. You just can't beat it. So very nice of her.

Now, unfortunately, I really have to mention the annoying key situation. I had to ask for the room key. She did not give it to us upon check-in. She basically said a room key wasn't needed as everything would be fine, safe, etc. After some conversation she willingly agreed to give us the room key, because we simply wouldn't feel secure at night and wouldn't feel that our belongings were secure when we left for dinner. I like the homey feel of B & B's, but it isn't really home, and I want to lock my door...and not have to ask for the key. That was the only thing about the Chartreuse which left me wondering.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandandseawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I decided to give each other the Christmas gift of staying 4 days at the Chartreuse Bed & Breakfast and it was FABULOUS ! Very elegant and relaxing . Cheryl was absolutely wonderful and so kind with her southern charm, always a lady . The Majestic Suit is so romantic; Any one who stays here is family to Cheryl , just one visit and you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misdisdippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Chartreuse is tastefully decorated. I appreciated the entry with a check-in area, which has been very odd at some B&B's. Chartreuse sets itself apart by providing a room with two queen beds, which is so convenient for parents traveling with a child to the college. Oh yes and the college which is appropriately located just two blocks away. The Getaway Suite was on the 3rd floor and had sloped ceilings, so be forewarned tall folks-duck. We also liked the set-up of the room. The cookies, water and tea were very appreciated as well as the delicious breakfast in The Gathering Room. Now with the short list of could-haves: our room did not have a door which was not a problem because there weren't any other guests, but we would not have enjoyed it if other guests were staying. Our host, bless her heart, tried to cool our room, but it was freezing all night and we were not able to warm it up. There was a bit of vehicle noise, which was nothing the hosts could change. This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the college.

Room Tip: 10% discount for college visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_IL_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

The warmth emulating from this Bed and Breakfast is not only from the fireplaces but from the Inn Keeper. The Inn Keeper was friendly, helpful, and accommodated all of our needs. It is obvious she is doing what she loves. The decor and the atmosphere of this home is something that can only be conceived by experiencing it. We stayed in the Majestic Suite and it was well worth the upgrade. The room was breath taking and included: the best cup cakes we have ever had, a fire place, comfy chairs,a stunning king size bed, and a stunning bathroom attached with shower and garden tub. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast. It was by far the best place we have ever stayed and we did not want to leave. I would highly recommend the Chartreuse Bed and Breakfast when traveling to or through Greenville.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordanschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites Greenville
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Greenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Greenville
Super 8 Greenville
#1 of 4 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia
15.9 mi away
Ramada Vandalia
Ramada Vandalia
#3 of 5 in Vandalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartreuse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartreuse B & B

Property: Chartreuse B & B
Address: 422 E Main St, Greenville, IL 62246-1552
Location: United States > Illinois > Greenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing