We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$310
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$505
$486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
$188
$171
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
$140
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boutique Hotel 't Klooster(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
$109
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,724)
Filter reviews
2,724 results
Traveler rating
1,552
782
244
104
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,552
782
244
104
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgelatofish tacossushi barold quarryplay golfrented a carwater viewbeautiful propertyall inclusive packageall inclusive planservice chargetennis courtspool barstreet signsswimming areaexplore the islandminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
1,966 - 1,971 of 2,724 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2011

my wife and I enjoyed our stay, It was as they say in the hotel business when we visited "a soft opening" construction was still ongoing. The hotel is a long distance from the hotel, local amenities a ways a way and very little transportation to get you there. The island as much to offer and a very pleasnt tour. the sataff was great and the restaurants good. the scuba diving access on property was excellent. What we did not like was being put in handiciapped accessible rooms. We asked to be changed and were but not adjoining rooms. strange for a family and a property that was less than fully occupied. the issue that causes this review is the extremely poor accounting services. We visited in July and our hotel charges were not put through until 12/31/2010. this is poor management at its best. When asked we were tolf our charges were complete and then suddenly in january our credit card bill shows an extensive bill from july.
I think over the next several years the property will fully develop and it will be a truly enjoyable visit. But currently taking 10 - 15 minutes in travel to get off the property with nothing in between not a good idea. Overall management poor however, the service staff (e.g. conceirge etc are very good as they are coming from other caribbean properties ) there is little connection to linking guests to the island and its many offerings. As Americans we found the property very euro centric.
We did have a good time

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abv2010vizotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The resort is very far from other parts of Curacao but the setting is beautiful. Hyatt nickels and dimes you for everything. Rooms have a 14% resort fee, restaurants also tack on the resort fee, internet is $15/day per computer ( more than one computer is an extra $15 per day ), not sure what the resort fee covers since tennis, golf, boating, etc are extra fees. Service at the pool, Shor and beach were adequate. Would have been nice to have pool floats or "noodles" for the pool. Beach is unremarkable and snorkeling is subpar for Curacao. Our housekeeping was way below par - had to ask for tea, then cups the next day for tea and coffee, hair dryer, shower cap, more coffee. Housekeeping did not pick up used coffee cups and seemed to do nothing more than bring clean towels. First day they came by at 11:00 and we asked then to come back in a few minutes because we were just getting ready to go out. 15 minutes later when we left there was a note under the door saying we would not get housekeeping that day. Food at breakfast at Medi was barely average and service was poor and rude. Medi probably needs a new manager.
Considering the cost of this resort and that it has been open almost a year, the quality should be much higher. Love Curacao but not sure I can recommend the Hyatt. Would suggest staying somewhere closer to town, renting a car and exploring the island, beaches and diving or snorkeling. You can always go the Shor at the Hyatt for sunset and dinner and get the view and experience.
One hint, if you stay at the Hyatt there is a small Portuguese type restaurant just outside the gate. Turn right at the first street at the roundabout and the restaurant is the second restaurant on the left. Not fancy but close to the Hyatt and decent food. Easy to get to if you have a car or by taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr6547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The Hyatt Regency Curaçao is fabulous.

Here's 5 things you need to know:

1) The hotel is divided in to 2 wings. The "1" wing which is near the pool, beach, marina, dive shop, and water-sports place. The "2" wing which is near... I think the golf course. Make sure you stay in the "1" wing.

2) Both wings of the hotel are 3 floors, but the hotel is built in to a hill, so the floor numbering is weird. The 4th floor is the top. The 3rd floor which is on the ground floor in the back -- the lobby level. The 2nd floor which is on the ground floor facing the water. There is no 1st floor. (I'm sure it makes sense to someone.) Make sure you get a water facing room on the 3rd of 4th floor, especially if you like to sleep with the window open and feeling the breeze from the sea.

3) The beach is on a lagoon, not the ocean, and for some reason, there's a dock that runs the entire length of the beach. On the one hand, it's kind of useful if you have kids, it'll keep them from going too far in to the lagoon. On the other hand, it's really ugly and kind of kills the view.

4) It's a REALLY long drive to get to the hotel. About 45 minutes from the airport and 30 minutes from "downtown" Willemstad. It's really no big deal, because there's not much of a reason to leave the expansive hotel property.

5) There are 2 pools, an "activity pool" and a "lap pool". Get a chair with a cushion by the lap pool. The drunk people tend to lounge in the "activity pool" and get a bit loud in the PM, so if you want quiet in the afternoon, stick by the lap pool.

Here's 5 things you should do at the Hyatt Regency Curaçao:

1) Do go diving with Ocean Encounters. They're a great team. Ask to go "left" when you exit the lagoon... That seems to be the location of the best dive spots in the area. "Jelle's Jump" is a pretty impressive drift dive.

2) Do have the catch of the day at Shor. Ask Francis, the guy in the kitchen at the grill, how he recommends and just do what he says. Also, ask Alex, the bartender at Shor for that drink he invented for that lady.

3) Do stop by Bella Italia for a small gelato. They have fruit behind the counter, too, so get some fresh strawberry or banana cut up on top, too.

4) Do get a massage outdoors. The spa is pretty good and the massage area outside is fabulous!

5) Do watch the sunset from the great room while drinking a "welcome drink"...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EmilGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

What's the best about this hotel is the warmth and professionalism of the staff. Everyone is very attentive to your needs and they make an effort to get to know you. They would also show something of themselves, which made it more like staying with people you already know well. We felt very much at home.
We spend 4 days in this hotel. Spacious rooms with superb beds. All rooms are at the waterfront and have terraces or balconies. Very nice pool with poolbar, great cocktails and good lunch food. 2 more restaurants, a bar and a pizza place.
There is a big golf court but it's not at all a golf hotel. People of all sorts stayed here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AttyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniavdiaz, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback and your comments have encouraged us to continue looking for ways to exceed our guests’ expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Hyatt Regency Curacao Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

It was frustrating from the moment of our arrival. Bell service entered our rental car without us being present setting off the alarm. Insisted on moving our car before we had checked into the hotel. The guest service clerk ran credit card without telling us she was charging the full amount of our stay upon check in.

The tub shower combination was such a large step up that all the rooms have to be equipped with a special stool and safety bar. The only problem was the stool was missing in our room and it took them two days to find one. We wanted to order room service after traveling for more than 12 hours, but the in room dining menu was missing from the guest services book. We called the front desk and the guest service clerk said one would be delivered to our room right away, but 30 minutes later we were still waiting. We went to the front desk and were sent to the main level restaurant. No one had a menu so we had to sit in the restaurant and order some food. Jacqueline the ONLY bright spot of service and professionalism on our trip did a wonderful job of serving us that evening.

Our room remained untouched by housekeeping until after 4 pm when we had to call the front desk to arrange for service. The room was never consistently serviced. Nothing was restocked without request. Nicky the SWIM waiter charged us for multiple sodas on our lunch bill instead of honoring the hotel's free refill policy. We had to ask that it be taken off our bill. The breakfast in MEDI was poor. Rubber eggs, uncooked pancakes, and over cooked waffles were standard. Any time you wanted a check you had to ask when your food came or you could sit there for at least thirty minutes or longer before seeing your wait staff member. The only redeeming service venue was SHOR and it is the high end and pricey restaurant on the property.

We attempted to discuss the service issues with the hotel manager Jeff. Made several calls without being able to contact him so we left a voice mail. Did not get a return call from him until 48 hours later. Rebecca a supervisor was just as unhelpful. After a face to face discussion with her, she sent a bottle of wine with no wine opener and stale crackers with cheese to our room. Just made us more frustrated. We left the unopened bottle of wine in our room when we departed today.

These are just of the few poor service highlights of our stay. They were only at about 30% capacity so who knows what would happen if the property was actually humming with guests. Hyatt guests all over were complaining of the service. You heard it out by the pool, in town, on boat excursions, and even in the hotel lobby. I can't figure out if they cannot hear or why they don't want to listen. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone for any reason.

I love the Hyatt Scottsdale Arizona, but may quit patronizing all Hyatt properties after this experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank coloardosmallz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniavdiaz, General Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate that you have brought these issues to our attention as we believe that honest and thoughtful feedback allows us to enhance our level of service for the future. We will review all of your comments with the appropriate team members and will implement solutions to these issues immediately.

Thank you once again. We hope to be of service to you again in the future


Hyatt Regency Curacao Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews