We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$215
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$313
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$370
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$368
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$324
$270
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
$226
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
$186
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
$119
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,730)
Filter reviews
2,730 results
Traveler rating
1,556
784
244
104
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,556
784
244
104
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgelatofish tacossushi barold quarryplay golfrented a carwater viewbeautiful propertyall inclusive packageall inclusive planservice chargetennis courtspool barstreet signsswimming areaexplore the islandminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
2,019 - 2,024 of 2,730 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We are married professionals in our early 50’s, and travel to the Caribbean 3 times per year. We had the pleasure of spending 9 days/8 nights at the Hyatt Curacao from July 2-10, 2010 and look forward to returning next year because the staff and service at this property made for a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing vacation.
The Hyatt Curacao’s service begins at the airport where there is a designated check-in counter, obviating the need to do so upon arrival at the hotel. It is approximately a 30 minute drive to the Hyatt, which is located in the Santa Barbara Plantation on the east end of the island. The development is a gated community surrounded by a golf course, marina and homes. It is approximately 2 miles from the gate to the hotel entrance. We reserved the Hyatt’s shuttle, which is a convenient non-stop van service that is charged to your room. The cost is $30 US per person roundtrip.
The hotel’s interior design is a mix of contemporary and Caribbean with breathtaking views of the sea and grounds upon entering the Great Room lobby. Frankly, photographs do not do justice to the sweeping open air design, decor and views. The Great Room and surrounding terraces have more than ample seating for relaxing and enjoying light fare and cocktails. Some landscaping was incomplete, but overall it was a mix of desert and tropical flora, with spectacular Egyptian Palms, that will be gorgeous once completed and fully matured. The remaining interior work on the rooms in the wing of the hotel farthest from the lobby should be completed by the end of September when the grand opening is planned. Any construction was not an issue.
We reserved a Jr. Suite, premier water view directly facing the Caribbean, comprising a bedroom with king-size bed, full bath, desk, sitting chair, dual closets and dresser with ample storage, a mini fridge and balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Any prior comments regarding shower privacy is not an issue for mature adults without children. The adjacent living room separated by a door that could be locked, included a sofa, 2 club chairs, TV credenza with drawers, sink/counter/wet-bar, 2 small mini fridges, dual closets, full bath and separate balcony with 2 chairs and table. We appreciated that both balconies had outdoor fans and lighting with unobstructed ocean views. The rooms are beautifully appointed with rich woods, contemporary décor and ample space. Each room had a plasma television that broadcast the major satellite news/movie channels, which remarkably included the local New York stations. We were fortunate to be able to share the excitement of the World Cup with other guests and staff.
The hotel is large, but spread out with 3 floors, and never felt crowded. There are 2 beautiful salt water pools with comfortable club and lounge chairs. There are 8 day beds around the larger pool, each featuring California King mattresses that foster the ultimate in relaxation and privacy. Pool and beach food and beverage service was prompt and attentive. The beach is long and beautiful, with ample shade, facing the inlet to the calm Spanish Waters which abuts the Caribbean. The beach swimming area is separated by a pier to shield bathers from boats traveling the inlet and is perfect for lounging bathers, non-swimmers and toddlers. The beach entrance is smooth without rocks with a gradual slope which affords snorkeling and a long relaxing swim. The water was warm with good visibility. Snorkeling within this area was fair, with much better boat and shore diving with the on-site dive operator Ocean Encounters, located at the far end of the pier. Overall, the diving was excellent and the reefs were thankfully healthy.
Although the Hyatt is not within walking distance to off-site restaurants or hotels, should you merely wish to relax without giving a thought to planning dinner or transportation, particularly if traveling with family, there is no need to leave the property. However, there are several restaurants within a 15 minute drive, including El Gaucho and the Boathouse. We particularly enjoyed El Gaucho, which we would highly recommend and they provide a free round-trip shuttle service. Although we did not rent a car and merely wished to relax on this trip, we plan to do so for 1-2 days on our next visit. We did spend a day exploring all of Willemstad, both Punda and Otrabanda, which should not be omitted from a Curacao holiday. On our next trip we plan to explore the west side of Curacao.
The Hyatt has 3 on-site dining options, in addition to room service, which was always prompt and courteous. Prices were consistent with 4-5 star resorts in the continental US, North/Central America and the Caribbean. SWIM, the pool/beach-side bar/restaurant/grill is open for lunch/early dinner and generally closes at 7 pm, except for Thursdays, which is movie night on the beach and should not be missed for a relaxing end to a wonderful day. The fish tacos and fundido, among other numerous selections, were not to be missed and were absolutely delicious. The food is wonderful and reasonably priced. Medi and Shor are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner; both of which have sufficiently varied and delicious menu selections for repeated dining to satisfy the most discriminating palate. We dined at both Medi and Shor twice during our stay and enjoyed both for their differences in ambience, without concern for food/wine menu selection. Medi is Hyatt’s Mediterranean themed restaurant with delicious food and tapas that has a wonderful atmosphere. We would like to especially thank Medi’s manager Matteo, an absolute gentleman, and Kamul, our waiter extraordinaire. We enjoyed chatting with them before and after dinner, and sincerely appreciate that they made us feel not just as guests, but like family. Shor excels as an American/Seafood open-air restaurant that provides spectacular views of the ocean and golf course. It is a casual 5 minute walk from the lobby, which can also be accessed by chauffeured golf cart. The food and service were exceptional, and we marveled at the sunsets during dinner. Shor’s manager Elisabeth was a very gracious host. We also had the pleasure of meeting Humphrey while we enjoyed after dinner cordials. Simply put, the food, service and ambience at both restaurants clearly warrant applause.
Although light fare and cocktails are available in the Great Room until 9 p.m., both Medi and Shor are open for lounging after dinner for cocktails, music and dancing. At Medi, live entertainment is offered on Saturday and Wednesday; with Rumba on Saturday and the Dance of the Gypsies on Wednesday evenings, the latter featuring a classical guitarist and two fabulous Flamenco dancers. Shor has a two piece jazz ensemble on Friday evenings.
We would like to thank the staff at the Hyatt for such a wonderful and relaxing vacation. Of particular note, we would like to thank SWIM’s manager, Joseph, who is the most gracious host. We absolutely enjoyed spending time with him daily. The staff at SWIM - Angelo, Isaiah, Moon, Andre, Michael and Remos also must be commended. They are not only genuinely wonderful and warm people, but they made us feel immediately welcome and at home. We felt like we were visiting old friends at SWIM and looked forward to stopping by daily. We would also like to thank Mel, the front office manager, for his warmth and hospitality. No matter how busy, he always made time to stop and say hello and to make sure we were enjoying our stay and inquired if we needed anything. We also wish to thank Maurice, the Food & Beverage manager, who clearly has done a wonderful job with his staff, for stopping by daily to say hello and to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. And lastly, to Diego the General Manager, who quietly and flawlessly manages the utmost professional, courteous and fantastic staff that are eager to please at a stunning property that exudes understated elegance, thank you for a wonderful vacation.
We had a thoroughly relaxing vacation and will definitely return to the Hyatt Curacao. Every member of the staff made us feel at home and we were reluctant to leave. Although the hotel is the newest gleaming gem in Curacao, what really makes the Hyatt Curacao shine is its amazing people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John_Pep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Great resort in a fantastic location. By now you will have read many reviews about this property. The only thing that matters is that you should go. The beach is fantastic, do not believe the comments about it being located on a cove, it is a fantastic beach with clear, clean warm water. Check the fish out - right at the resort! The service is slow, but that is OK given the casual nature of the location. If management is reading, three improvements would help. 1. faster service at the poolside, you could easily triple your drink sales, 2. put a very basic on the wall architectual clock over the entrance to the hotel from the pool so guests can tell the time give or take an hour, 3. clean the pool tiles on the large pool at the northwest end of the pool, by the depth marker. These are not ment to be criticism of the property or people, just ways to improve a four star property to become a five star resort. Sure would like to go back, how about 3 free nights for the great suggestions! Visit this Hyatt, you will have the time of your life!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelplaylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just got back from Curacao! My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt at the beginning of August, and yes it is far from everything else! We loved Curacao, and we had an amazing time.

The Hyatt was gorgeous, and the employees were very friendly and eager to be helpful. The staff members are exceptional and they go out of their way to be helpful. The lobby was open-air and stunning. It took about 30 minutes to get from the airport to the Hyatt, but we were told that during the week there is more traffic, so the trip could take longer than that.

The beach at the Hyatt is Barbara Beach. It has nice white sand, with very few pebbles, rocks, and bits of coral. It is excellent for swimming. There were plenty of beach chairs in the shade while we were there, although when the hotel is at a higher occupancy rate that may become an issue.

We did not swim in the pools, but they were saltwater, clean, and on the smallish side. Also, there weren't too many chairs and lounges, so when the hotel gets hopping, that will be a problem.

The Hyatt does not have a gift shop yet, but there is a very small, mini-shop, (where you can buy gelato, sandwiches, and pizzas--none of which taste very good), that has a single aisle with a small selection of suntan lotions, candy bars, sodas/water, and chips.

Also, there were a few t-shirts for sale, but that was it as far as souvenirs and sundries. If you will need any personal items, bring them from home, or you will have to find a drugstore on the island. To give you an example of the prices at this mini-store, we bought a cheese pizza, a pack of Dutch cookies, and four regular-sized water bottles for $42. FYI the pizza was weird. It was if it had been a frozen pizza baked on a giant saltine cracker. No real taste to the pizza or gelato. A small gelato was about $4 each. Bags of chips cost around $6 each.

The hotel has three restaurants:
Shor was only open for dinner and was expensive, but good. Shor offered steaks,chicken, seafood, and appetizers that were all quite good. My husband and I do not drink, and our bill was $150 for sodas, waters, two appetizers, two entrees, and two desserts. The servers were very friendly, but frazzled, and the resort was not even half full.

Swim was the pool bar/grill. Swim was open from 11 until 7 each day, and it offered burgers, chicken tenders, quesadillas, fries, chips with guacamole, etc. The food was good, and basic costs were around $10 for each menu item, For example, I ordered a burger for $10, fries for $8, and a no-alcohol pina colada for $8. This should give some idea of the prices. The servers were extremely friendly!

Medi was open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It was the only place to get breakfast, so we had to eat there, but if we had another option, we would have taken it. The prices were high, and the food was not good. Breakfast each day cost $50 for two to get hot food, or $35 for two for the continental breakfast. The hot buffet only had scrambled eggs, sausage, roasted tomatoes, and breakfast potatoes. It was very small, and they need to add to their buffet and create a better spacing design. Everything is crowded together, and when the resort is even half full, they will run into problems if they do not address these issues.
We never ate at Medi for lunch; instead we ate at the pool bar or ordered while on the beach, and the servers brought food and drinks right to our beach chairs. (Now that is pampering!)
We did eat dinner twice at Medi, and neither time was good. Service needs to improve at Medi, and the menu needs a complete overhaul. Perhaps it is because we are able to get delicious Italian food in New York whenever we want it, that we thought the food in Medi was not as good as it should have been. Maybe they should try a menu of local cuisine, to give guests a taste of the local dishes.

At all restaurant sodas were about $3.50 each and the same goes for juices. Coffee was about $5 for each cup.
I was told they were adding another restaurant soon, but what kind and how expensive, I do not know.

They would do well to offer an all-inclusive package, since it is expensive to eat there, and expensive to leave by taxi to eat some place else.

Overall, we thought the Hyatt was gorgeous, and we found the people who work there to be incredibly friendly and helpful. The beach and pools were lovely, and our room, on the 4th floor, which is the top floor, had a beautiful view of the Spanish Waters and beach. We often sat on our balcony and enjoyed the view. It was a very long walk from our room to the lobby and any restaurants, but the seclusion suited us just fine. Also, we just had to go down a couple of flights of stairs to get to the beach, which was great!

No nightlife at the Hyatt, but people did tend to gather at the bar outside of Medi and the bar at Shor. We were pretty tired after swimming and snorkeling each day, so we did not care about the lack of nightlife.

The actual grand opening is scheduled for September, and they have some kinks to work out before then. Nevertheless, we wanted pampering, seclusion, and relaxation, and the Hyatt offers those in abundance!

The cab rides to get to Punda/Otrabanda and Seaquarium were $35 each way for 1-4 people, since the Hyatt has a contract with them. If we didn't use negotiated their cabs, the rides would have been about $45 each way, I was told. The rides were about 30 minutes, as the Hyatt is far away from any tourist attractions.

We enjoyed our trip to Curacao, and we enjoyed staying at the Hyatt, which was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justjen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

If you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery the new Hyatt Curacao is your place. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms well equipped and spacious, and the staff could not be better.
This is a top notch resort so do not expect to find low prices in the shops and restaurants, however we did not feel they were overpriced either. A typical entree at the 2 on site restaurants ran from $20-$40, cocktails were around $8. At the pool side cafe you could get a burger or delicious fish tacos for $10-$12. Pretty much on par with any similar restaurant here in the states. A 15% service charge is added so plan on that as well. We really enjoyed the open air Shore restaurant high on a hill overlooking the ocean and golf course. We sat at the bar and were entertained by great local jazz music. The bartenders were friendly and attentive and the food was outstanding. Try the ceviche for some local flavor.
The hotel sits ocean front on the southeastern part of the island. The ocean side of the property is rocky and the surf choppy so there is no beach access there. The beach actually faces an inlet where boats cruise by as they come and go from the area known as Spanish Waters. The beach is nice and sandy with some rocks but not enough to cause any problems. The water is very clear and calm with abundant marine life great for snorkeling and swimming.
On site there is dive shop- Ocean Encounters, where were able to schedule a guided shore dive. We entered at the hotel beach swam across the channel and enjoyed the reef which extended around the mouth of the inlet . The reef is a beautiful and vibrant wall extending to about 100 feet deep. We stayed at around 60 feet and saw ells, angel fish, grouper, barracuda etc. Boat dives are also available however on the day we were there the Boat Captain was not available. The staff at Ocean Encounters - Shawn and Adam could not have been nicer and did all they could to make our dive safe and enjoyable.
As other reviewers have said the resort is remote. At this time there is no shuttle service to town but we were told they will be adding that service soon. We rented a car for a day at the Hertz rental agency on site. You can see the entire island in a day. We drove up to Shete Boca park on the north west coast and enjoyed the arid desert like scenery there. It took about 90 minutes to get there then we drove over to see beautiful Knipp beach and the surrounding area. There is not much to see on the island so a 1 day car rental was plenty. The drive in to Willimstad took about 30 minutes on Sat. with little traffic. This area can be seen in an afternoon. One note of caution, do not leave valuables in your car as tourists are often the target of thieves in the area.
Curacao is a great dive and snorkeling destination but other than the few casinos downtown does not offer much more. Overall we would highly recommend the Hyatt resort, it is a great place to relax, be pampered by the staff and unwind.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kschmidt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribbeanDOS, Director of Sales at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2010

Bon tardi! (Good afternoon)

We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback about our restaurants and our friendly staff and your comments encourage us to continue looking for ways to exceed our guests’ expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Everything at the Hyatt Regency Curacao was truly incredible. The warm, gracious staff offered outstanding service both at the hotel, golf course and spa. The golf course was fun to play & had some holes located seaside with awesome views. You can't go wrong at the hotel with dining options, whether you're inside or poolside. Plenty of choices, great quality & presentation. The spa had a lengthy menu of services offered for men & women, even couples' massages. If you prefer a beachside massage, that is also an option. Although I don't play tennis I did visit their tennis facility, everything you want is there and the clay courts got high fives from our business associates. To make the trip even more memorable we did a sunset cruise. It was spectacular! This hotel with all its amenities rocks! Something for everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsSog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribbeanDOS, Director of Sales at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2010

We appreciate the great post to TripAdvisor and want to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience about our staff, service, and facilities with the world. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews