We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,754)
Filter reviews
2,754 results
Traveler rating
1,572
786
247
106
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,572
786
247
106
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgelatofish tacosold quarryplay golfwater viewrented a carbeautiful propertysushiall inclusive packageall inclusive planservice chargetennis courtspool barstreet signsswimming areaexplore the islandminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
1,889 - 1,894 of 2,754 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I spent an enchanting week at the Grand Hyatt Regency in Curacao. From the moment we arrived we felt like family, but were treated like royalty by a friendly courteous wait-staff that is second to none. We generally have one really nice resort stay a year, and this trip was a trip we will remember for years to come. The beach and pools are a a relaxing and enjoyable diversion, and the staff at "Swim" ensures that you receive a level of personal attention that will keep you coming back for more day after day. The Grand Finale is most certainly the "Shor" restaurant, which is an open-aire venue with old world charm and an infusion of upscale amenities that do not distract you from the serene and majestic early evening sunsets and a dinner beneath the stars. The food is very good quality and the preparation is just as you would expect, exceptional. Once again, the service at Shor is beyond comparison. Every experience at the Hyatt Regency Curacao begins with quality from the wait-staff to a quiet manicured secluded location that will invite you back for future relaxing getaways. Well done!

Room Tip: Stay on the Marina end of the resort for more privacy
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsammc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

I’m so happy that your experience at our property was a memorable one. I am delighted to hear that you found the service to be excellent. Our staff wants to ensure that our guests are treated like family. I am thrilled you found the service and food at Shor to be top notch. We take great pride in our service and our staff. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We greatly appreciate your thoughtful comments!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I'll make this short and concise: Our stay at the Hyatt was fantastic. Every employee -- from the front desk to the pool towel boy -- was extremely friendly and my wife and I did not have any problems with anything. Every restaurant offers terrific food as well as service. Bottom line is the Hyatt made our stay at Curacao that much more enjoyable.

Advice:

Rent a car. The resort is secluded in its very own section of the island, which is not a bad thing at all. You don't need to stay in the heart of the city, and you get more of a seclusive feel once you return back to the Hyatt after enjoying your daily adventures.

Visit West Punt. If you snorkel or dive or just want to enjoy the finer beaches the island has to offer, drive your car over there and explore. It's probably a good hour to arrive on that side, but it's worth it. Also, directions are simple. (Ask the concierge for directions to the airport, and on the way you'll see many visible signs that'll direct you to West Punt.) Don't miss out on those blue waters and the abundant marine life that await you.

Make reservations for activities as early as possible. We were fortunate to book a snorkeling trip to Director's Bay, but missed out on trips to the Tugboat and Klein Curacao. Just plan the activities you'd want to partake in before your trip, and once you arrive to the hotel and get settled in, head to the concierge and ask them to help you reserve activities that will make your vacation full of great fun.

Bring sun block. It's hot out there so make sure you're protected from the strong sun. No joke.

That's all I've got. Have fun and be safe!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your lovely review! It's so nice to hear that our staff were able to make your stay more enjoyable. We're glad that you were able to take full advantage of the wonders Curacao has to offer! Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I visited this hotel for our honeymoon in August 2011. From being greeted at the airport with cold towels and a bottle of water, to the welcome drink on arrival, and prompt check-in, the first moments at this hotel were spectacular.
The rooms are very generously sized, with modern facilities. The hotel service is excellent (thanks to the American managers - you'll know what i mean if you stay at a dutch-run hotel), the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
It is true the resort is quite a distance from the main town of Willemstad. However this adds to the appeal in that it makes the resort very peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed the most relaxing stay of our lives. There is plenty to do at the resort - and the concierge can arrange any activity you may be interested in doing. The hotel does provide a shuttle to Willemstad (day and evening shuttle on alternating days) at a reasonable price.

One tip would be to rent a car (for at least part of your stay) so you can explore the island. Taxi's are quite expensive and if you rely on them you will be spending a lot of money getting from A to B. My advice is not to use the Hertz agent at the hotel, but instead book online as its much cheaper. I visited the Hertz agent, got a price, then went back to my room and checked online and got the same car for about 30% less (booking the same day!).

One disappointment was the sea view. Its not exactly a sea view as i would have expected. We booked and stayed in a superior sea view room, which does give the best view in the complex, but it is not facing the open ocean. Instead it faces the inlet to the spanish bay, so you're view is more like looking at a large canal than open sea.

Breakfast was great, huge selection and reasonably priced. In fact all the food and drink at the hotels' bars and restaurants were reasonably priced i thought.

In summary, a great hotel for those looking for luxury and relaxation, and was a perfect honeymoon stay for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms (excl suites) are identically sized, the only difference is the view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhin0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Rhin0k:

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa & Marina. We appreciate the fact that you chose Hyatt to celebrate your honeymoon. It's always great to hear how much guests love exploring the island, & it sounds as though, by renting a car, you were able to journey out. We hope to welcome you back for relaxing anniversary celebrations! Your referral is our biggest compliment.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience.
The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems.

Cons:We booked a waterview room with Orbitz and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get waterview for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability. At checkout the upgraded was more then expected and when we spoked to him again about this problem he said that we should have known about the services fees and there are service fees everywhere, WHICH is NOT TRUE because I have been to Mexico 3 times and never had to pay service fees. It was very upsetting to know that the Hyatt had a manager that was uncaring and unhelpful. FYI: Just expect to pay service fees for food and drinks. The beach is gorgeous!!!! The staff are welcoming, and the view is breathtaking. Hope this helps. HAve fun!

Room Tip: Get a bay room view.. when you walk down your right on the beach
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SexyMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This resort is very nice with well appointed although not very large rooms. Housekeeping wasn't terrific as we stayed 8 nights and had to ask for our bed sheets to be changed numerous times (and eventually we got them changed once). However, in general, the hotel staff is very friendly and accomadating. The pool area was very nice; however, the beach area wasn't exactly what we were hoping for. The resort is located on the gorgeous blue sea, but the resort's beach area is pretty small and on the side of the Spanish Waters/Bay. The water is ropped off so that swimmers/bathers are sharing the space with boats going by. (Very limited swimming area.) You are also facing hills across from you (which aren't too far away) rather than the open ocean. In many of the photos on the website, its hard to really see this. The water is nice enough for relaxing in, but if you are really going to Curacao for the ocean and beach, this just might not be the resort you are looking for. The food at SHOR was very good and I highly recommend you go there for dinner at least one night. Very romantic to sit outside looking out at the stars. The spa was lovely and I highly recommend the massage. Finally, it is true what other reviewers have said - the resort is a bit far from other things on the island including Willemstead. Renting a car is defnitely a good idea if you want to check out other parts of the island or restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews