We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Lovely Thai Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Grayslake
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visiting this place a couple of times having business lunch with co-workers. Food was really great and prices were very reasonable. We enjoyed it and will visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hawthornwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fair food & service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Did not have a lovely dinner experience at Lovely Thai. We had a party of 5 and there was only one other party of 4 in the restaurant. Our server was not very attentive, food came out at different times for all of us and service in general was just fair. The server did not seem to care whether or not we enjoyed our dinner and she forgot my tea order. And this was with just 9 customers in the entire restaurant! For a party of 5 or more, 18% tip is automatically added to your bill. (Maybe this accounts for the lackluster service.) The food was just OK. One in our party felt ill during the dinner. Will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnews4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Thai Find in Grayslake - Unique Take on Thai Cuisine”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My family and I were looking for something different than the cookie cutter Eastern take out joints in the local area, and stumbled across Lovely Thai on the way home from work. Not expecting much, we were very pleasantly surprised by this place's authentic take on Thai cuisine.

ATMOSPHERE: Truthfully, kitchy. Full of the fake dragons, rice paper artwork, and even the fish tank you'd expect, all here. Set in a strip mall, the space is small, and the tacky decorations kind of overwhelmed us, adding to the low expectations we had.

FOOD: Thoughtful, and unique. The menu is different than most anything you can find in the area, and makes me think this place should be set up closer to Chicago than rural Grayslake. There are different pairings, you can choose a main course with Thai noodles, white rice, or a curry dish. We had three, as follows:

(1) Ginger entree - Fair, far less exciting than the other dishes. It was simple, with expected flavors. A slight bit disappointing, in that it seemed to have more mushrooms than anything.

(2) Green Curry - Delightful. An unexpected blend of basil and lime in the curry made this dish fresh and amazing. The first taste is sweet, and your taste buds trick your mind into thinking it's TOO sweet, and then the chili hits as you swallow, and it's like fireworks in your mouth.

(3) Rama Curry - Also very good. A bit expected with the peanut flavor, but the dish was beautifully presented and tasted truly "Thai" (not the Americanized version most places serve).

SERVICE: Meh. We were there for lunch, and the hostess, who was also our server, could have cared less if we were there or not. She was efficient, but not friendly. She came to the table with her pen and pad out, said very little, just motioned to us like "what do you want". She wrote down what we asked for, served it, and cleaned up when we were done, brought us the check. I would have loved more water, or drink refills, but couldn't seem to find her when we were looking. Service has a long way to go, but if you're looking for great food versus atmosphere, you might be able to overlook this.

VALUE: Decent! The lunch special was $7.95, and it included an appetizer, a soup, and one of many entrees on the "main menu" to choose from. Lunch portions are smaller, but absolutely filling for what you get. Dinners, if you go, are around $9.95 a plate and have about 1/3 more than the lunch portion. Definatey value priced for the quality of food, and we will absolutely go back (even if it's only for take out).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank j2white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great food, however service is pretty slow especially on the weekends. Almost better to carry out. The Spring Rolls are very fresh and health, not fried. Chicken saty is the most tender and Pad Thai is great. Very authentic. The also have a weekday day special for $7.95 that includes appetizer, soup and entree for each person.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gage038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“GREAT Thai Food in the Suburbs of Chicago IL”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Just GREAT Thai Food, went there 4 times in the past 3 month. Looking through the menu you find many items and "surprise" they do taste different. Order any Curry dish and you get a great tasting dish, go with noodles or rice and the dishes taste different and really great. Price is right most under $10, very friendly service (maybe sometimes over extended) from Thailand! Also did bring own bottle and there was no charge for the set-up. HIGHLY Recommend it for an informal Dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeinhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovely Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lovely Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing