We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular pasta dishes”
Review of That Pasta Place - CLOSED

That Pasta Place
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular pasta dishes”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This restaurant is good but you don't get enough food for your money. We took the kids and they are supposed to eat free well they gave my kids a 4inch pizza for free my kids are 10and11 so I had to buy them an entree and that was a small serving too. Dinner ended up costing $100 and y family was still hungry

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent food, very slow service ”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We just moved to the area and were looking for a new go-to takeout pasta place, so we were excited to try this (that!) place.

We ordered takeout. We arrived 20 minutes after placing our order, and it became clear they had lost or forgot to place our order. They apologized and asked us to wait a little bit. At least 30 minutes went by and we finally asked if our food was ready yet. It felt like the maybe forgot about us again. In the meantime they kept apologizing for slow service to other patrons checking out - not a good sign. Finally our food came out and we went home. The side salads and entree portions seemed small compared to what we were used to. The food was good, but nothing we are dying to race back there for. In this case, our memory of the super slow service may trump the decent food. We may go back to give it one more chance if we're craving pasta, but we aren't racing there.

Helpful?
Thank Kelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“That's Italian!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The best calamari I've ever had. Nice portions, great bread. Cozy little restaurant, doesn't open till after 4:00 but it's early enough for supper!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do Not Let the Decor Fool You”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We met friends here for dinner. The decor is roughly 1980's with white metal chairs, etc. The food - outstanding.
I was a huge fan of the creamy garlic salad dressing. Good manners are the only thing that saved me from licking the plate. It's that good.
The meat lasagna was a generous portion and was absolutely delicious. Spinach lasagna received the same rave from one of our dining companions.
Tiramisu was okay. Not the best, but palatable.
Prices are very fair, given the sizes of the meals and the quality.
Would definitely recommend for a casual night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank porschegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food but slow sevice.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Tasty food slightly above average. But service is slow so dinner drags on and on. This place has the slowest kitchen in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Pasta Place also viewed

Grayslake, Lake County
 
Grayslake, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing