We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emil's Tavern on Center

Emil's Tavern on Center
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Grayslake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went with my husband, son and daughter in-law and one of my grandsons to celebrate my birthday, what an awesome place! Great service and delicious food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    24
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK atmosphere, not the best food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We will go there is our friends want to go out, but definitely not our first choice if we are on our own. It's a typical sports bar with impersonal service and meathead customers and not great, not bad bar food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjhill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Very Very Popular Sports Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I get to Emil's at least once a year on my Chicago area trip. This place is packed on the weekends, usually when I get to it. I do not really like sports bars because of the noise and Emil's is nothing if not noisy. I find the service very good, but I am with a crowd of people who are regulars at the place and who know and also are known by everyone who works there. I can only speak for their pizza, but it is good, never had a bad one here. Love the large tables that they have, a true family table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bikeontheroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayslake
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Week Night Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A little noisy, but it is a sports bar. Their Broasted Chicken is very good! Staff is very attentive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank magpiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“It All Depends”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My experiences vary greatly each time I stop in but my review is based on the norm. The food tends to be good, especially the pizza, but the wraps are horrible. The bartenders and hostesses are rude, but most of the waitresses are very nice. It is a fine sports bar to watch the game & get a drink with friends, but it is very loud. I probably would have given an average score but there is a lot of rude staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrayslakeGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emil's Tavern on Center also viewed

Grayslake, Lake County
 
Grayslake, Lake County
 

Been to Emil's Tavern on Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing