We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Grayslake, with one exception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Grayslake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites Grayslake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grayslake
Certificate of Excellence
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
245 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great stay in Grayslake, with one exception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Suites in Grayslake on a business trip, 2 nights. I found the room and entire property to be absolutely great. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were always courteous and helpful (with one exception detailed below).

This property is close to a company facility is quite convenient. The hotel is a little off the road and can be difficult to access due to the median in the road. They would benefit from a larger sign but it isn't too hard to find.

The one exception to a perfect stay was that my room was not cleaned during my stay. It wasn't a huge deal but I expected the room to be tidied up and the bed to be made. When I mentioned this to the front desk clerk as I was checking out she just said "Oh" and handed me my receipt. I would have appreciated the room be cleaned but more importantly some apology from the staff.

I will likely return and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortgrayslake, General Manager at Comfort Suites Grayslake, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. I am really sorry your room was not cleaned and that the front desk was not apologetic whatsoever. We pride ourselves on excellent service in all areas of the hotel, and we failed twice with your experience. Please contact me at comfortgrayslake_gm@hp-hotels.com so we can discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
20
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our son is stationed at great lakes naval base for A school. We went to see him and desided to stay overnight. We finally found this place after looking for a bit. It's about 20 minutes from the base. Which isn't bad at all. Checking in was a breeze. We booked a king with a sofa sleeper. Room was very clean and neat. We did get a smell of cleaner everytime we walked back into room. No big deal. Plenty of blankets and pillows. Also had set of sheets and pillow in closet for sofa bed. Our daughter was exited to see there was an arcade. So we went down and it really wasn't a arcade. Driving game, golden tee and gaultlet and a ms. pac-man that was frozen. It was a bummer, but no the end of the world. They also have complementary breakfast. Which had usual items, dry ceral, coffee, juice and muffins. Also had a make your own waffle station. Overall, place was great... Would stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortgrayslake, General Manager at Comfort Suites Grayslake, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi mrbill76

Thank you for posting your feedback on the hotel! I am very happy your stay went well. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and cleanliness, which might explain the smell of cleaner in the room. I will discuss this with our housekeeping team.

We are working with a local company on improving the arcade. We hope to have a couple of the machines upgraded in the near future (Ms. Pac Man will be a multi-game machine featuring many classics like Galaga and Dig-Dug).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visiting family in Wildwood and this was closest hotel. As previously stated it is spot-on for cleanliness, comfort and awesome customer service! Our luggage was lost by airline and we received a prompt call when it arrive to the hotel. Thank you Meryl... She is a wonderful front desk person!!
Breakfast is a simple yet complete continental breakfast. (key word is continental. It is not meant to be a full blown breakfast: Wildberry is a 5 minute drive if that is what you like.) Clean, plenty of seating and I saw them constantly replenishing food.
We stayed nice hotel while in the city. Yes it was decorated much nicer, but we laughed as we slept better at this hotel. In both cases, the hotel was just a place to sleep. For its value and comfort, this hotel won.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKW-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortgrayslake, General Manager at Comfort Suites Grayslake, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi AKW-J

Thank you for posting your positive feedback of the hotel! We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here. Our staff here strives for the highest quality of service and value, so being more comfortable than a ritzy downtown hotel gives us a great source of pride.

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Director of Sales Barbara Mudrick did an outstanding job of making our family feel welcomed after a very long day at Six Flags! Also went out of her way to find us directions to a very delicious deep dish Chicago Pizza Restaurant! Keep up the good work Barbara!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortgrayslake, General Manager at Comfort Suites Grayslake, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Lorie N

Thank you for posting the great feedback on Barbara. She is certainly an asset to the hotel bringing her welcoming customer service skills and knowledge of local flair to the team. I will be sure to recognize her for this at our next employee meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean, well maintained, spacious rooms, and employees were pleasant & helpful. Enjoyed the pool & hot tub. The king bed was comfortable. Even the bathroom was more spacious than most motels, with plenty of counter space. It was a quiet room---not disturbed by noise from nearby rooms. We will definitely stay there again when we return to this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djfromil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortgrayslake, General Manager at Comfort Suites Grayslake, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi djfromil

Thank you for posting your positive feedback! Our beds are the most comfortable I have seen in a hotel room and our rooms are spacious enough to unwind and relax. A lot of the design in the hotel and the brand originated from guests like yourself, and we are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and in a nice quiet location. It was a little of the beaten path, but not hard to find. Breakfast was nice and well stocked. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOf4inIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortgrayslake, General Manager at Comfort Suites Grayslake, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi FamilyOf4inIllinois

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of the hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we take pride in our service and cleanliness.

We are working on making our location more accessible after hearing so many reviews from travelers such as yourself. Hopefully, by the next time you come to visit, that issue will be resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for three days during the week of the 4th of July and it was a very pleasant stay. Very friendly staff, clean facilities and a clean pool area. I will definitely stay here the next time that I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grayslake
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
6.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Grayslake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Grayslake

Property: Comfort Suites Grayslake
Address: 1775 E Belvidere Rd, Grayslake, IL 60030-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Grayslake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grayslake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Grayslake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Grayslake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Grayslake Hotel Grayslake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing