We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The flood didn't keep us away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The flood didn't keep us away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rivers are all in flood this week and the awesome River Road to Pere Marquette from Alton was closed, but the alternate directions (the "back way") to the park and lodge worked well. They were open and welcomed us on entry. Although we were way too early...well, we didn't know how long the detour was going to be and were eager to get there....they said a cabin room was ready for us if we wanted. We did! The A/C was off when we entered and there was a little bit of musty smell which almost instantly disappeared. (It is summer during flood season, after all!) By the time we unpacked, the room was quite comfortable. We walked back to the lodge to check out the massive fireplace in the great room and remember the efforts of the CCC "boys" who built this place, including the impressive furniture in the great room, in the 30's. These men deserve our gratitude, not only for the magnificent parks and lodges etc. that they built all over the US, but for serving us again in WW2, where their CCC training gave them a head start on basic training.
We sat on the porch and watched the flood level Illinois River for a while. The temperature was cool and humidity was surprisingly low enough to be very comfortable , although a citronella candle might have warded off a few pesky gnats that came visiting with the flood. When the wine bar opened at 3PM, we moved in there with our cousins who were joining us for dinner and enjoyed a bottle of Norton.
Dinner was relaxed and quite good, with our waiter Joe's friendly and efficient attention. The entrees were delicious (the fried chicken declared even better than at our cousin's favorite restaurant), the salads cold and crisp, but the starter mushrooms, stuffed with crab and asiago cheese, were especially marvelous!
The next morning I hit the exercise room, which is in the pool area. I was 30 minutes too early for the pool's opening time, but the front desk man made a quick call to the maintenance guy who came up and unlocked it for me. They were very friendly about it and I thanked them both for letting me in early. They could have stood by the posted times or made me feel that I was putting them out to open things up early, but they did neither and I appreciate that.
Breakfast was good...well, it's hard to hurt breakfast....and the young women on duty there were both friendly and efficient. All in all, we have only compliments for the entire staff, from the front desk, to the housekeeper, the wine bar manager, the maintenance man and the restaurant staff. Everyone was pleasant and helpful and made us feel welcome. The lodge itself is well maintained for a state park lodge (those who find fault should not expect the Ritz Carlton) and the park around it is beautiful, even with the Illinois coming closer than they (or we) would prefer. We will be back!

Room Tip: Cabins, although modernized, still retain some of their original rustic ambience and are spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saruman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    124
    28
    23
    10
See reviews for
108
156
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've been coming here every year since I was a kid, and now we've got a new generation of kids in the family. Kids love staying in the lodge, the giant chess board in the lobby is a big hit, and there's a hot tub by the pool (indoor) so the adults can relax while the kids splash around. Great bike/walking path along the river (bring bug spray!) The nearby town of Grafton is charming, lots of antiques.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egbeneze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We loved it. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and the staff friendly. They even had card and board games that you could borrow. We had the pool and hot tub to ourselves both nights. We also enjoyed the winery although there isn't a huge selection of wines. They had beer for the hubby. We really loved the hiking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We are birders, so we planned our stay for when the migration was high. We were not disappointed! The lodge is set overlooking the Illinois River, and just by sitting on the terrace we were able to see birds galore--including a Mississippi Kite! We hiked the trails through the woods on the bluffs and were rewarded with great views and several unusual birds. Even if you are not a birder, the serenity of the setting is a wonderful experience by itself. We enjoyed staying in a cabin--it had the authentic feel of the CCC era but with modern amenities. The meals in the dining room were excellent, reasonably priced, and the staff very friendly. My only complaint is that we had to get to the lodge through the back roads since the river road was closed because of flooding (which was not their fault) but the signage on the back route was poor and confusing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a hidden treasure. The lodge was built by the CCC in the 1930s and is gorgeous. We had dinner and breakfast there. The choices are amazing and the food was very good, as well as reasonably priced. The rooms are spacious. Internet connection through WiFi was spotty but in such a beautiful setting, one should be appreciating nature and not worried about connections! Definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TonyGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent a weekend at this inn as part of our plan to visit all the CCC inns we can. The place is lovely, well-kept, and more than comfortable (we had a room in the new wing. I loved the pool, the views, and the trails. We were there during the 2013 floods, but honestly, it didn't impact much of our stay. The staff, I have to tell you is awesome (most of them) and eager to help. The great room is a wonderful place to relax. Now, on the down side- the restaurant is pretty, and comfortable, and clean, but the food is way below par. We attended a pricey murder mystery dinner which served frozen chicken kiev, and what tasted like boxed mashed potatoes. The portions were skimpy and the food was not a treat. The apple pie was tough and the filling very thin. The next night, my husband didnt even eat his dinner, which was very unappetizing tough roast beef with canned gravy, but called pot roast.

The restaurant manager was surly at best and not eager to be of service. Would you believe the waitress pent five minutes trying to tell us, without saying it right out, that the cat fish is not edible and if you want to enjoy your meal, the fried chicken is about the only thing to order. Big disappointment. When we return, and we will, we will eat in Grafton or Alton for sure. A shame, really. Other lodges in Illinois have really good food.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin or the new addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in the older part of the lodge. we had a huge room with a king size bed. We did a couple of the packages they had to offer. well worth it with the vouchers you get to use in the restaurant. Andrew at the front desk was so helpful. we would love to go back and stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
5.9 mi away
Ruebel Hotel
Ruebel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grafton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
22.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel & Conference Center
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/Alton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
25.0 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection

Property: Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection
Address: 13653 Lodge Blvd, Grafton, IL 62037-2321 (Formerly Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United States > Illinois > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for visiting. Pere Marquette was built in the 1930's by the Civil Conservation Corps. The lodge is nestled withing the confines of the 8000 acre Pere Marquette State Park.The lodge has fifty guest rooms within the main building, some with park views and some with views of the Illinois river. The cabins sit 100 feet from the main building and contain 22 cabin rooms. All of the rooms have been updated with new beds, furniture and 32" tvs.The lodge also has a full service dining room open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a wine tasting room.Hiking, biking, nature, kayaking, tennis, volleyball, horseback riding, boating, Raging Rivers Waterpark, shopping, 45 minutes to downtown St. Louis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pere Marquette Hotel Grafton
Pere Marquette Lodge And Conference Center Grafton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing