We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable and interesting visit”
Review of Blickling Estate

Blickling Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Blickling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: You'll never forget your first sight of Blickling. Sitting in a magnificent garden and park is a breath-taking mansion, flanked by ancient yew hedges. Past owners have used the estate as a refuge while performing on the world's political stage. Philip Kerr, the last private owner, helped shaped the National Trust's history, using his influence to find a way of saving great country houses for future generations to enjoy. Until his death in 1940 he used the house for entertaining his prominent guests; and photographs, sounds and objects help to tell his story. Outside, the formal garden is the result of three centuries of inspired planting, and the gently undulating historic parkland is great for exploring.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This National Trust property is set in extensive grounds, with nice walks, a very impressive garden with its "double border" and topiary. We went round the house but it was so interesting and we spent so long that we then only had time for a walk in the garden but not for the walks through the woods or round the lake.
The house is large with much of the original furniture and a huge library of books which was very interesting to see. The decoration, and particularly the plasterwork, was beautiful, with informative leaflets in each room and very helpful and knowledgable staff or volunteers.
There is a large car park which is pay and display if you are not a member of the National Trust, or free if you are a member and can display the car park sticker.
There is a cafe adjacent to the main entrance, a pub just after you go in, and another with the shop close to the main house. This latter one serves sandwiches, soup and hot food etc. staff were friendly and efficient and the food good. The counter is on the left as you walk in and there were two rooms - plenty of space when we were there.
A thoroughly enjoyable visit and well worth it.

1  Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your visit here so much. Thank you for your helpful comments on the facilities and activities available. We hope you have time for a walk through the woods next time you come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national trust"
in 178 reviews
"second hand bookshop"
in 73 reviews
"anne boleyn"
in 42 reviews
"nt property"
in 51 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 54 reviews
"car park"
in 77 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 36 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 83 reviews
"stately home"
in 35 reviews
"nt members"
in 21 reviews
"courtyard cafe"
in 16 reviews
"room guides"
in 20 reviews
"the main house"
in 16 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 15 reviews
"interesting history"
in 16 reviews
"walled garden"
in 43 reviews
"muddy boots"
in 18 reviews
Filter

939 - 943 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Magnificently preserved Jacobean- period house. The rooms are beautifully restored along with original features and furniture.
Every room has a guide stationed in it and they are very knowledgeable and informative.
A small RAF museum is a lovely addition and you must make sure you visit the secondhand book shop- heaven!
We visited on a dull March day but there are extensive landscaped estates which must be gorgeous on a sunny day.
This is a great day out. Well done The National Trust!

1  Thank beefy1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, and your welcome comments on our guides. The bookshop is indeed a dangerous place for bibliophiles! And the gardens are coming into their own now, with the bluebells in their full glory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A fascinating attraction with enough to keep a visitor entertained for a whole day. The NT's knowledgeable volunteers add to the experience and the RAF Museum is a hidden gem.

1  Thank GeofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We always say one day is not enough! It’s true that not everyone discovers the RAF museum – a real piece of local history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Easy to find, good parking and if your not a member of the National Trust, you really should join. The hall is very well preserved, lots of very enthusiastic volunteers who really want to tell you everything about each room that you visit.Fascinating history, very well presented, information sheets in every area.
The day we visited it was rather cold, which reduced our walking outside, not that after visiting the house, the second hand bookshop, the large souvenir shop and plant centre, we really had time. A little saddened that the interesting R A F museum is obviously run on a bit of a shoe string. Heaters running, but no ceilings, so no insulation, did not encourage a lengthy visit. The art on display, in an adjacent area and for sale was very different. Well decorated and heated - did not seem right to me ! Still, we had a very tasty bowl of soup with a lump of bread each in the restaurant, expensive, but enjoyable. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for spreading the word about the National Trust! We’re glad you enjoyed your look around the house and the various shops. The RAF museum, like many of the outlets here, is run largely on a volunteer basis, and heating is a problem in old houses, of course – but part of the reason it is left much as it was is to try to preserve the atmosphere of the place as it used to be, without modern comforts. The people who were billeted here did not have an easy life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were recommended to visit Blickling by our hotel staff. You have to pay parking there of £2.50 for the day, but if you are a member of the National Trust, parking is free. We joined the National Trust that day as we now have time to visit many of their lovely properties. The house is beautiful with many lovely items and there is a friendly person in each of the rooms for explanations as well as a written description. As it was a little early in the season, the flowers were not in bloom, but there was an abundance of daffodils. It would definitely be worth another visit.

1  Thank cyrilthesquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your welcome feedback. It’s great to hear that you have joined the National Trust now, so we look forward to seeing you again and enjoying the gardens through the season. There are hellebores now, but soon there will be bluebells and rhododendrons, and then the summer borders and roses. (For people who are not members, you can incidentally reclaim the parking fee on anything you spend in the shop or restaurant.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blickling Estate also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Blickling Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing