We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'must' in North Norfolk”
Review of Blickling Estate

Blickling Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Blickling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: You'll never forget your first sight of Blickling. Sitting in a magnificent garden and park is a breath-taking mansion, flanked by ancient yew hedges. Past owners have used the estate as a refuge while performing on the world's political stage. Philip Kerr, the last private owner, helped shaped the National Trust's history, using his influence to find a way of saving great country houses for future generations to enjoy. Until his death in 1940 he used the house for entertaining his prominent guests; and photographs, sounds and objects help to tell his story. Outside, the formal garden is the result of three centuries of inspired planting, and the gently undulating historic parkland is great for exploring.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This has to be the 'gem' of the NT properties in this area possibly in the whole of Norfolk. Suggest visitors take the tour of the house and of the garden, when, if you are lucky, you will meet Molly for the latter. Both trips very informative and help to direct one to the places of individual interest. Food in the restaurant also very good and service from start to finish very helpful. You could easily spend a couple of days here and if the weather is good and you like cycling hire a bike to see the estate. Well worth it. Didn't visit on a Wednesday but apparently the volunteers and staff dress up in period clothing!

Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Molly is certainly a 'gem' and our house and garden tours are proving extremely popular. We've updated our menu and our cafe facilities this year, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed eating here. The 'Diggers', our costumed interpretors, bring history to life every Wednesday (and some weekends) for most of the year. Hope you can make time to come back and see them in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,063 - 1,067 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited Blickling many, many times. Always enjoyable. Staff always, polite, friendly and knowledgeable. Always something of interest in gardens.

Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have visited Blickling Hall several times before, and this time we visited with our two young children. The Hall provides and fascinating 'upstairs downstairs' tour around a grand country house, although it's not ideally suited to very young children who could get bored easily.

The gardens are extensive and well worth exploring to discover the temple, sitooterie and orangery.

As with pretty much all National Trust properties there's a well stocked shop, a cafe and a restaurant that serves good quality meals and snacks.

Blickling also has an adventure playground for youngsters and seemed to be well equipped for those with buggies or wheelchairs.

Thank macosmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a complimentary review. We're glad that Blickling is one of your special places. You might be interested to hear that we have lots of activities coming soon to keep younger children interested - do come back and try them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Six of us visited Blickling Hall whilst staying at a hotel in the area in March 2013. We were asked if we wanted to have a guide to show us round the house (at no extra cost) and were really pleased we agreed. Dorothy, our guide, was so knowledgeable and told us lots of anecdotes about the hall and it's inhabitants. After the tour we all went into the cafe and enjoyed a warming bowl of very tasty soup - amongst other things - prices were very reasonable. If you spend 5 pounds in the cafe you can get a refund on your car park fee so make sure you have your ticket with you! We were only sorry we couldn't spend more time looking round the grounds, but it was bitterly cold when we visited. All in all though a thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Thank Rayandeily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a fabulous review. We've passed your feedback onto the wonderful Dorothy and the rest of the Blickling team and they're thrilled to have helped to make your visit so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Blickling again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Fascinating house, the house of Ann Boleyn was previously on this site.Lovely long walks around and beautiful grounds and the stunning lake.

Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blickling E, Public Relations Manager at Blickling Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Blickling and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blickling Estate also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Blickling Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing