We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relaxing Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willowbrook Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golconda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willowbrook Cabins
Eureka IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We decided to spend a few days at Shawnee Forrest area. Chose Willowbrook cabins for the convenience of location to area attractions. Was impressed with the previous reviews of Willowbrook,and we were not disappointed! Stayed in the Outdoorsman Cabin... was very clean and well kept. Enjoyed the fire pit and spent several evenings around the fire. Spent our days hiking and horseback riding. Thank You Doug and Carrie, we enjoyed our visit:)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife discovered WIllowbrook Cabins while planning our trip to Cave-in-Rock and Garden of the Gods. It was close enough to both. The cabins are located right off of Eddyville Road. We stayed at the "Hiker" cabin. It had 2 bedrooms, one bathroom, a living room, a kitchen with washer and dryer, and front and back porches. It was pretty hot and humid when we stayed there so the AC ran quite a bit. It was not very quiet but it kept the cabin nice and cool. There was a wooded area directly behind the cabin. There is also a fire pit just outside the cabin. We stayed 2 nights and will likely stay again. Pack some food and be sure to have plenty of gas in your vehicle when you arrive. Beautiful area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the "Hiker" cabin. It was nice and clean with all the amenities of home. We enjoyed the private back deck overlooking the woods. Our cabin had our own fire pit where we enjoyed evening campfires. The only problem we had was that the beds were too soft for us and we had trouble sleeping. Otherwise, everything was wonderful. The cabins are centrally located to many good hiking areas. The Shawnee National Forest is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzephyrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, ILlinois, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Willowbrook Cabins for our 15th Wedding Anniversary in an effort to unplug from the rest of the world. What a great experience all the way around. The owners of this property made every effort to help us with anything we needed and they've created a wonderful retreat. We loved how centrally located it was. We highly recommend staying at this property. You won't be sorry (unless you're looking for big-city options).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, Willowbrook is the CLEANEST I have found. Friendly hosts with great knowledge of the area. Great location for Shawnee National Forest. I would recommend these cabins to anyone who asked

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH3435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have visited the Shawnee National forest numerous times and Willowbrook Cabins is my only choice for lodging. I bring clients there for scenic photography tours and I want them to have top notch lodging. Willowbrook is very centralized to many of the attractions in the Shawnee, and with nice amenities like full functional kitchens, a washer and dryer, microwave, coffee pot, we cannot go wrong. Add the fact that your hosts are awesome inn keepers and your never look for another place the next time you visit Southern IL. or the Shawnee Forest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golconda
19.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harrisburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
24.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
24.7 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Motel 6 Metropolis
Motel 6 Metropolis
#5 of 6 in Metropolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
22.7 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Riverview Mansion Hotel
Riverview Mansion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golconda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Cabins

Property: Willowbrook Cabins
Address: 610 Eddyville Blacktop Rd, Golconda, IL 62938-4117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Golconda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Golconda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large private cabins for the hiker, hunter and adventurer located in the heart of the Shawnee National Forest and Southern Illinois area. We are close to Garden of the Gods, Lusk Creek Wilderness, One Horse Gap, Rim Rock ,Golconda Marina and the Ohio River. The perfect lodging for a weekend getaway or an extended family retreat! Located close to many of the major attractions of the Shawnee National Forest and Southern Illinois area. We offer Satellite TV, FREE WIFI, Outdoor Grills, Fire Pit, Liens and even Cookware are all provided. If your a hiker, biker, horseman or hunter, Willowbrook Cabins is the perfect spot stay when visiting Southern Illinois. Open year around! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing